We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome”
Review of The Old Parsonage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Parsonage
Ranked #5 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights as a birthday celebration. The owners were amazing. Great room, great views, lovely decor, great hospitality (both a lovely welcome and attention to detail throughout our stay) fresh, locally sourced food, lovely, plenty of good healthy menu choices for breakfast and a great effort to ensure you had the breakfast you wanted. Clean spacious room, lovely products to use and even their DVD collection was to our taste! So wonderful we want to stay every month...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and had a truly relaxing comfortable stay. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake, The breakfasts were beautifully cooked with locally sourced products and plenty of choice. The toiletries in the bathroom were excellent and smelt lovely.

Everything a good B and B should be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The good - The room was spacious, clean, tasteful, had a lovely view over the rolling fields. The bed was big and comfortable, and the breakfast was divine with food of the highest quality. We had the full English one morning and couldn't possibly eat it all! The local products in the bathroom were a very thoughtful touch.
The bad - Difficult to find any faults, it was so well organised with such attention to detail. I must warn though that the local pubs are a (short) steep walk away, but if you don't want steep walks - don't go to Cornwall! The local pubs are, of course, well worth the walk!
The lovely - The owners make you feel so at home! You are welcome to use the spacious dining room and conservatory at any time and they have a good library of games, books, guides and movies to borrow. They were attentive and friendly and a mine of good advice.
This is just what all guest houses should be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joeroy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Old Parsonage B&B is in a perfect location just off the South West coastal path above the village of Boscastle. Morag and Margaret are great hosts - welcoming and helpful but not over intrusive. The room we stayed in on the ground floor was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast included a choice of home baked bread, local produce and a first rate "Full English" and other options too - all of which were delicious. Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the ground floor opposite the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindermereBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Beautiful, quiet location with a fabulous room, great breakfast and lovely hosts. Margaret and Morag were a delight - helpful and they paid attention to detail. The room and private bathroom were large and spotless. Breakfast in the dining area consisted of fresh bread, local produce and everything was delicious. What a treat to stay in this lovely house on a quiet little lane within a five minute walk to the sea.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but I think every room in the house would be perfect. The location o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCXXIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A beautiful old house in a quiet country lane at the top of Boscastle (near the church) that has been well decorated and appointed by Margaret and Morag. The beds were extremely comfortable, towels and toiletries of the highest order and the ambience absolutely perfect. Breakfasts were superb; home made fruit salads and breads, and local produce that was cooked to perfection (bacon and eggs to die for!). Margaret and Morag are perfect hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. An excellent place to relax and chill out, use as a base for walks (there is a boot area in the porch and drying facilities if required) or just getting out and about in the north Cornwall area. Cannot fault anything, and would recommend The Old Parsonage to anyone. Will be going back myself!

Room Tip: Rooms are different but all are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigmalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and only wish it could have been for longer. The room was fabulous, very comfy & spacious; the location was brilliant, quiet, near the coastal path and an outstanding 15th Century pub, and we were treated to the best breakfast menu we've ever encountered. Marg and Morag were perfect hosts and we just hope we can get back to stay sometime soon.

Room Tip: Just feel lucky if you get one!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boscastle hotels
4.6 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
586 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Parsonage

Address: Forrabury, Boscastle PL35 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: $168 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Parsonage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house at the top of Boscastle village, just a 5 minute walk across flower-strewn ancient farming 'stitches' to the south west coast path and close to Boscastle harbour. 5 spacious rooms with luxury en-suite, one on the ground floor. Rooms furnished in an eclectic style that blends the antique and contemporary to give an uncluttered and harmonious feel. Parking on site and a good range of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Old Parsonage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Parsonage Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing