We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!!!!!”
Review of The Old Parsonage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Parsonage
Ranked #5 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Beautiful, quiet location with a fabulous room, great breakfast and lovely hosts. Margaret and Morag were a delight - helpful and they paid attention to detail. The room and private bathroom were large and spotless. Breakfast in the dining area consisted of fresh bread, local produce and everything was delicious. What a treat to stay in this lovely house on a quiet little lane within a five minute walk to the sea.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but I think every room in the house would be perfect. The location o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCXXIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
161
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A beautiful old house in a quiet country lane at the top of Boscastle (near the church) that has been well decorated and appointed by Margaret and Morag. The beds were extremely comfortable, towels and toiletries of the highest order and the ambience absolutely perfect. Breakfasts were superb; home made fruit salads and breads, and local produce that was cooked to perfection (bacon and eggs to die for!). Margaret and Morag are perfect hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. An excellent place to relax and chill out, use as a base for walks (there is a boot area in the porch and drying facilities if required) or just getting out and about in the north Cornwall area. Cannot fault anything, and would recommend The Old Parsonage to anyone. Will be going back myself!

Room Tip: Rooms are different but all are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and only wish it could have been for longer. The room was fabulous, very comfy & spacious; the location was brilliant, quiet, near the coastal path and an outstanding 15th Century pub, and we were treated to the best breakfast menu we've ever encountered. Marg and Morag were perfect hosts and we just hope we can get back to stay sometime soon.

Room Tip: Just feel lucky if you get one!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in early June and loved everything about it. Our room was superbly appointed and comfortable. The breakfast room and lounge were bright and lovely. Our stay was made even more enjoyable by the lovely and attentive Morag and Margaret. The breakfast choices were numerous, delicious and prepared to perfection. We particularly loved the homemade bread and marmalade. The location provided a chance for us to have beautiful walks along the coast path which we enjoyed on several occasions. Fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Lo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Old Parsonage, and it exceeded our expectations. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Margaret, plus tea and homemade cake.
Margaret and Morag were excellent hosts, providing information and advice pertaining to the Boscastle area.
Groundfloor room was spacious and pleasant, with a luxurious en suite shower room.
Excellent breakfast menu, accompanied by homemade bread and preserves.
The Old Parsonage is ideally situated for visiting Boscastle and the surrounding area.
Will definitely return...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solymar47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and could not fault anything.

Moira and Margaret were both helpful, informative and friendly. The rooms were beautiful and large with great attention to detail. Our room in particluar had a stunning bathroom with a free-standing, roll-top bath!
There was a huge choice of breakfast items and fresh baked bread every day.

The only downside was the walk back up from the village....... two rather steep hills!....however, it helped burn off the copious amount of cream teas we consumed!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a lovely bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eppyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We travelled in Cornwall for 6 days and stayed in 3 B & B's and the Old Parsonage was by far the best. Wonderful setting with the gardens well attended by Margaret. Huge rooms and very tastefully decorated.

We were contacted before our trip and asked by Moira and Margaret if we would mind being upgraded...well we were fine by that...the bed was twice the size of our own at home. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake in the Conservatory and made to feel really welcome.

Location is wonderful, cliff top walks and a pub with great food 10 mins away. The breakfasts laid on were excellent. Thank you so much and I heartily recommend this B & B

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
468 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Parsonage

Property: The Old Parsonage
Address: Forrabury, Boscastle PL35 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Parsonage 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house at the top of Boscastle village, just a 5 minute walk across flower-strewn ancient farming 'stitches' to the south west coast path and close to Boscastle harbour. 5 spacious rooms with luxury en-suite, one on the ground floor. Rooms furnished in an eclectic style that blends the antique and contemporary to give an uncluttered and harmonious feel. Parking on site and a good range of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Parsonage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Parsonage Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing