We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A history of smugglling”
Review of Smugglers Museum

Smugglers Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bolventor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A history of smugglling”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very interesting and full of items obtained from real smugglers. The room that the film is shown in is supposed to be haunted and full of strange goings on, ummmm...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kongogasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    59
    34
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is steeped in history & has many accounts of hauntings. It has a Daphne Du Maurier museum.

Helpful?
Thank Flo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a con”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

after reading the website for Jamaica Inn we thought it would be worth going out of our way and taking the hour long drive. Being a lover of the Daphne Du Maurier books we hoped it would be full of atmosphere and interesting smuggling stories. We wanted to spend a few hours there and perhaps have a meal. Well, we were in and out in about ten minutes. What a dump!! The shop was scruffy and full of tat. The pub looked like a complete dive and how it got a good hygiene rating I do not know. I would not even sit down in it to have a drink, it was so unappealing. If the museum part had anything to offer we did not find out because it felt so grim we did not want to hang about. Whoever owns this and is giving themselves such a good promotion should be ashamed. What a waste of time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank catsmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very well set out and not too cluttered”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A good all round museum with not too many artefacts to make it boring! There are articles about Dame Daphne Du Maurier and her husband and family and other items relating to smuggling. Worth the money and the visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Confusion”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This museum was a mix of Daphne Du Maurier and Smuggling. Most content was good and informative although some exhibits didn't seem to fit and had no explanation as to why they were in the cabinet. One was an autobiography of Val Doonican and another of someone we had never heard of. Were these books ghosted by Du Maurier if so put a note in the cabinet to say so.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sodemallOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Museum also viewed

 
Bolventor, Cornwall
 

Been to Smugglers Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing