We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in the southwest”
Review of The Chiverton Arms

The Chiverton Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chiverton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Blackwater B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best service in the southwest”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I live in Cornwall and have found it hard to find a good local friendly pub with great food but when carol and Barry took over this pub they transformed it into an amazing pub that hit the spot every time with a great environment for the entire family from grandparents to grandchildren amazing place if you are coming to Cornwall make the effort to come for a visit

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salamone_ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We enjoyed a traditional Sunday lunch here. A choice of pork, turkey or silverside of beef. Roast potatoes, roast parsnips, carrots, brocolli and an enormous Yorkshire pudding. It was not too much trouble for them to make some gluten free gravy for my coeliac husband, served in an individual gravy boat. All this was washed down with Cornish Rattlers cider on draught. A lovely Sunday lunch. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doddyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We are local to this pub and visit a couple of times a month. Sometimes with our young children and sometimes alone. We always order food as the standard is excellent. The welcome is always warm and inviting and the children are always made to feel welcome there is a great play garden for them too. Carol and the team are always very hardworking but make time to have a chat and ask how we are. In a world where many pubs are being taken over by large brewery's and losing their identity this place is truly refreshing. I would highly recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I love this pub, the decor has a Parisian feel but without the Parisian prices ;-) !!! Had a table booked for Mothering Sunday. 3 Courses for a good value fixed price. Food was delicious, really tasty flavours! Service was great, it was busy but staff coping perfectly, friendly and constantly cleaning. Atmosphere was perfect, there was a man playing the piano and a girl playing the sax. What a fabulous idea!!!
We have eaten up here in the evenings too and the quality of the food has never failed us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illegally_blonde529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2011

A wonderful welcome with excellent service and brilliant food for our teams Christmas party!
Thank you Carol for your lovely set up, generous donation of sausage and chips for the youngsters and a great welcome! You made their Christmas get together memorable! Mandy

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

visited on 12th October .we were greeted as soon as we came in shown to a table.It is really nice inside and the restaurant has a great atmosphere.The waiter was very friendly and helpful.
We ordered the steak which was truly succulent and very filling.This came with peas/mushrooms/onion rings and home made chips.There was no room for a dessert!.
This place is def worth a visit and we will certainly be returning.Will be looking forward to trying their sunday carvery which i am sure will be as good as the steak

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevjip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I entered the Chiverton Arms on a Wednesday evening in October; the bar area and the restaurant had a few customers, but not busy. We sought guidance from the landlady as to whether we should go directly to the restaurant to order, or to order drinks first. She said "Do whatever you want", took the drinks order, andwered a phone call (phone in one hand, two glasses being filled with the other), and eventually paused her conversation long enough to pass us over to another member of staff.
Service in the restaurant was excellent, as was the food. We enjoyed the meal, commended the young man who served us, and when we were ready to pay I was asked to pay at the bar as I was using a card. I returned to the bar, where two customers had newspapers spread open over the main bar area, with the landlady in conversation with a gentleman at the far end (poring over a large piece of paper) so I waited patiently at the corner of the bar (counting 16 unwashed glasses needing attention in front of me) until someone pointed out to the landlady that I was waiting.
With no apology for the delay she asked what I wanted, took the card and the bill, found that the card reader was not working, so passed it to the young man who had served us with an instruction that he should sort it out.
He did so pleasantly and calmly. What a shame that his high standards are not practised by all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chiverton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chiverton Arms

Property: The Chiverton Arms
Address: Chiverton Cross, Blackwater TR4 8HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Blackwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwater
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chiverton Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Chiverton Arms Hotel Blackwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing