We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute Place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crossroads Cottage

Enjoy soaking up the stunning local scenery from our new decking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy soaking up the stunning local scenery from our new decking area
Chat...Eat...or just Drink around our beautiful renovated dining table. Main bedroom....calming....relaxing...& tranquil...decorated with soft whites & country rose designs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Enjoy soaking up the stunning local scenery from our new decking area
Chat...Eat...or just Drink around our beautiful renovated dining table.
Main bedroom....calming....relaxing...& tranquil...decorated with soft whites & country rose designs
Second bedroom...cool creams & whites make this room the ultimate chillout room, with bathrobes too!
The kitchen as everything you would expect to make your holiday perfect
Relax in a nice hot bath after a day walking in the Beacons
The lounge has two comfy sofas to unwind on
Another view from the main bedroom
The entrance with off road parking & garage another car or for handy storage for bikes, canoes etc
Dining room view toward kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gilwern, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dan S
Westport, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute Place”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Nice little place for my wife and I, with quality bedding. Lots of cute feminine touches around the house, good value for the money. They put few scones bread, tea and eggs in the fridge for us, fresh flowers on the table, such a pleasant surprise! Only downside was the radiator pings a bit, and its on small road into town. So if you are a very light sleeper, (like my wife) be aware. Really appreciated the owner's effort, they also answered the phone on one ring whenever we needed something. It was all very sweet. Recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful base for Brecon Beacons touring...”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Cozy and very well decorated, Crossroads Cottage was a great stay for us (50-something couple traveling with a 70-something mom). It's immaculately clean and a comfortable place to stay. Well located as a base for our three-day visit to Brecon Beacons, close to Crickhowell, Abergavenney, and Blaenarvon. Although garage is tiny, it is nice to have the off-street parking and very workable once you get used to it. Spiral stair issue noted by others is not a problem as long as no mobility issues, but good to be forewarned. It should have been disclosed that the other side of the house (attached) is being demo'ed (presumably for renovation), exterior wall of house on that side totally missing. However it caused us no inconvenience and noise would only be an issue if you were staying there all day. As we were out traveling around and they didn't start work until around 9, it wasn't a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, very cute, good beds.
Liked least: Not being told about construction on other (attached) side of house. And not knowing that, while wi-fi was provided, it did not include the internet access (or instructions were not provided for doing so).
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsCaminha...
São Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clear and like a doll house”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Despite the communication errors in the beginning of our stay, after we were installed, was everything great.
The house is pretty clear, clean, pleasant to stay and sometimes we come back early to enjoy the late sunset at the deck. The towers are clean, the house smells good and even being at side of the road, is very quiet.
There are everything that you need to your stay and near the cottage, in the Gilwern Village, you can find a little grocery even a fish and chips bar.
We do not rent a car there, but is quite near to Abergavenny and for there, is possible to take other buses to a lot of cities around.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarno P
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Very cozy little cottage”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Nice location for the South of Wales, and very nice "feel" to the place. Practical garage for the car, very nice garden. Also, if you run, close to the canals (=nice and flat).

Some niggles, though. Kitchen seems a bit understocked (could use more/bigger pans, there was no soup ladle, electric hub seemed slow to get hot), and there seems to be not enough storage space. My wife and I used second bed room as "walk in closet".

Also, there was hardly any mobile reception in and around the cottage. Not just data, but often any reception. This can be both a blessing and a great annoyance. Could have been mentioned. (Did not try the BTwifi that was available in the cottage.)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzis
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage but be careful if you have mobility issues”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nicely decorated cottage but do be aware of a couple of things:
1. Bathroom is downstairs (bedrooms are upstairs)
2. Staircase is very steep and narrow - one of us slipped down the stairs and another hit their head. Definitely avoid if have any sort of mobility issues.
3. No decent pub within walking distance, Gilwern is a slightly underwhelming village. Crickhowell about 5 miles away is lovely however.
4. Back bedroom has boiler in room so noisy when it comes on and off

Cottage did feel a little cramped with 4 of us but the bedrooms and lounge are very well presented and a welcoming gift of welsh cakes and milk / butter in the fridge was lovely

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktyler24
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at Crossroads Cottage for a weekend and were delighted with our choice. Location wise, the cottage is near facilities in Gilwern and a 5 minute drive away from the bigger, quaint town of Abergavenny.
The cottage itself is lovely and we could not have asked for more. From the beautifully decorated bedrooms, surprise extras in the fridge as well as fresh bread and welsh cakes, and great facilities such as washing machine, hairdryer, DVDs and jigsaw puzzles, all our needs were met.
Crossroads Cottage is a cosy and comfortable place to stay when visiting the beautiful Welsh countryside nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K
Moretonhampstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely white cottage and a very courteous and helpful owner!”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

It was my first time using Holiday Lettings for renting a cottage, and I couldn't be more pleased. My husband and I decided to spend our anniversary in Wales, enjoying this beautiful country. We were really happy with the cottage itself, it was lovely - very clean, allowed lots of natural light in, was painted white and decorated in a shabby chic manner. The owner of the cottage really went out of her way to provide us with not only the bare necessities, but also added little personal touches that went above and beyond: like fresh flowers, milk and orange juice in the fridge, and delicious Welsh cakes. It all made our arrival and stay really pleasant. The owner also promptly responded to all my inquiries and quickly came to rescue when a minor household issue needed her attention. Overall a very positive experience! Highly recommend and would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved that bathroom with all the natural light.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing