We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE AT YOUR PERIL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Green Man Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Wembley
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“STAY HERE AT YOUR PERIL!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We booked this hotel in January in time for the Take That gig at Wembley (not the most celubrious of areas of London). We booked 2 family rooms (3 to a room) but when we arrived the owner told us the previous manager had held a grudge and messed up the bookings. We were given two twin rooms and the owner had to put 2 of us in a nearby B&B (almost as bad as the Green Man). As other reviews have said, peeling wallpaper, threadbare carpet, old furniture, musty smells, old curtains, NO HOT WATER. Granted, the sheets were clean but that was all. One room was above the bar and 2 of our party were still awake at 2 a.m. due to the noise.

We had to make the most of it as there were no other hotel rooms to be had and ended up laughing about it.

The outside was untidy with litter all around and overflowing bins, which was a shame as it could be a lovely beer garden.

On the positive side, the bar was nice enough and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The owner was apologetic and gave us 50% off the bill.

Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else. Like a tent.......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    49
    53
    24
    52
See reviews for
42
57
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We still tell people about our stay here - usually prefixed with 'well the worst hotel room we have ever stayed in was...'

Actually when we got there they couldn't find out booking - now normally that would have driven me crazy but not this time, I was almost quite relived until they said they had found it.
I should have known as we climbed the dirty stairs with the wall paper hanging off - the bedroom was two singles, not too bad but the image that we both still remember is the very dirty hand prints on the wall just above the bed.... We stayed as we were going to a concert at Wembley and it was convenient. Pub is actually ok - have eaten at the pub a few times and its fine - I would just never stay there again. Ok the Hilton and the like are so much more expensive but....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pusscatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wembley hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

id drank here before gigs ywears ago and thought id stay here on the night of a gig... jeezz... pub ok if you like crap rough pubs, room ok but basically crap although was clean. Bed diabolical. slats of pine below mattress etc. Fell to pieces in the night and all i was doing was sleeping on it!

Room Tip: pay more and get a chain. There's no fun here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Avanchers-Valmorel, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels & don't have high expectations, but this hotel was very uncared for. A pure after-thought of a pub business. Rooms were very shabby & quite shocking. Wall paper ripped from the walls, no working lighting in the main part of the room, broken & poor quality furniture, a tv that switched itself off & broken furniture & other junk stored in the fire exit too! Best can be said - there was hot water & it was clean of sorts. Was very happy to pay £4 a night more & stay at the Ibis & will do again! This hotel is only really suitable for football hooligans.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddy73200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights for the Play-off Final and although the hotel was allocatd to the opposing fans, we had a great time. The hotel is what it is and you get what you pay for, yes it is in need of a lick of paint, but the rooms have clean beds, towels and en-suite facilities but for an accommodating welcome and great staff, you couldn't ask for more. After the final on Monday night, the East side of Wembley appears to shut down with bars closing by 9pm we went back to the hotel bar and even thought it had closed to the public, the staff pulled up a sofa for us to join them - we even had a takeaway with them - great company and we will definately be back when we next need to stay in London. Fantastic location for Wembley and plenty of car parking available, which is a huge asset during a wembley event.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Rob_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I have just come back from a 3 night stay at The Green Man with my mum and younger sister; after reading the reviews on here is was really worried about staying here, however was happily surprised.

On arrival we were checked in by a member of the bar staff, we booked a family room as there were 3 of us, however when we went to our room, it was only a twin. Back down at reception we were told that they had double booked the family room, so asked if it was ok to have a twin and double room at no extra cost, which we didn't mind as my mum gets up at the crack of dawn and me and my sister like a lie in!

Yes, the corridors/stairs/reception area could all do with a HUGE revamp and refurbishment, but that is all cosmetic, and the areas were all clean, just tatty. The rooms were also not in a great - stained carpets, cracks on walls, flaking paint, but for £20 per night per person, we werent expecting anything amazing.

The beds were lovely and comfortable, with clean bedding daily (actually one of the most comfortable beds ive had in a hotel), clean towels and complementary shower gel and tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom could have done with a refit, but hot shower and a flushing toilet was good. TV with built in freeview was easy to use, and even your own fridge in your room.

With regards to the noises commented about in below posts, I can't say we noticed anything extreme. When you book a room above a pub you have to expect a little noise, however both fri and sat nights we heard very little. we slept with the window open our whole stay, and the most noise we had was when people were coming back to their cars after the performances at the arena. No noise woke us during the night at all, and in the morning it was nice to hear the birds and no cars while only being a few miles from the centre of london.

Location wise, couldn't be more ideal for wembley arena/stadium, only a 5-10min walk, a tesco express on the way for little snacks and midnight food, and 10-15min walk to tube line (jubilee and metropolitan line at wembley park, and bakerloo at wembley central). high street of wembley near central station has lots of food outlets to eat in.

overall, a very surprising stay considerin the reviews we read on here. for £180 for 3 nights for 3 people we were expecting much anywhere, but we got a clean and comfy room, within walking distance to everything we needed. would definiately stay here again if we ever needed to go to wembley arena/stadium again :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tori18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

This was quite possibly the worst hotel and experiece of my life - and believe me I have stayed in many hotels over the years.
The reception area was dirty, tatty and un-manned for our whole stay. The stairs / landing / hallway areas were all in very desperate need of repairing / redecorating / cleaning. Our 'Family' room was absolutely horendous. Broken, dirty furniture, a TV that we couldn't turn off, the single bed had springs popping up. The bathroom was filthy - a cracked bath panel and no hot water. The windows wouldn't shut properly and allowed all the noise from the pub to sound even louder. We didn't use the complimentary tea / coffee as the crockery was dirty and chipped. The room was freezing cold and the one electric heater seemed to be 'hanging' from the wall very dangerously. There was nobody to complain to - a man was happy to take my money on arrival but clearly knew to to go into hiding after that as he was nowhere to be seen. I have written a letter of complaint to the hotel since but surprise surprise have had no repsonse!

Please pay that little bit extra to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank re01292014l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wembley hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis London Wembley
Ibis London Wembley
#6 of 12 in Wembley
2,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton London Wembley
Hilton London Wembley
#3 of 12 in Wembley
2,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel London Wembley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Wembley Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Wembley International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Wembley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Man Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Man Hotel

Property: The Green Man Hotel
Address: Dagmar Avenue, Wembley HA9 8DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Wembley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Wembley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Man Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The green man is a privately owned 10 bedroom hotel set in its own grounds. It is ideal for visitors to Wembley as it is only 2 min walk from Wembley stadium and arena. It also has a traditional English pub and restaurant and 1 acre garden fantastic for summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Green Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing