We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Intercourse B&B and Inns
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Perfect”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were traveling north and stopped in at Carriage Corner B & B. This place was very comfortable, the morning breakfast was a delight. Gordon our host could not have been better. We will be back to enjoy a restful night sleep again.

Room Tip: The Lemon room has it's very own private bath. The room is large with a sleeper sofa included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abigail143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
77
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Carriage Corner B&B is located on a quiet corner just before all the shops on the main drag. The split-level home is quaint and immaculate. The decor is very tasteful country without being kitschy. Gordon, the owner, is very warm and inviting and knowledgeable of the area. We were presented with a map where he outlined some activities based on our tastes and he highlighted which options were open on a Sunday.

We stayed in the Cranberry room, which is the only room upstairs, along with the common area and dining room. There are four additional rooms downstairs. Our room had a private bathroom which was very roomy. Gordon kindly asked us to fold back the quilt before sitting on or placing luggage on the bed and for good reason: The quilt was a hand-stitched Amish quilt which was beautifully done and quite expensive. In the room were lots of nice little touches like a black makeup towel in the restroom, extra pillows in the closet and a folder with a brief history of the area along with local restaurants, shops and activities. Downstairs are the four additional rooms, which I believe only one of them does not have an en-suite a bath. There is also an outside deck in the rear with tables and chairs, and a gazebo out front. Both are decorated with clear Christmas lights for a romantic feeling.

Different B&B's have differing styles of breakfast. Some places lay out a buffet, others serve you like a restaurant but at the Carriage Corner Gordon prefers to serve a family-style breakfast. While there may not be any choices, there was some variety. Fruit and bread is served before the main breakfast. We stayed for two days and on day one we had an egg frittata with turkey ham and on day two we had pancakes and sausage. Both days the breakfast was really, really delicious. Gordon does ask his guests about food allergies upon check-in. I am glad I read the other review who mentioned the saying of grace as it would have caught us a bit off guard had we not known otherwise. Grace is said on Sundays and though we are non-religious, we respect other people's right to religion so we just sat quietly until it was done. Quite frankly, if you are uncomfortable with overt displays of Christianity then you shouldn't be vacationing in Amish country. Breakfast is served promptly at 8:30 am which may be early for some but since everything shuts down so early in the area, we found ourselves going to bed earlier than normal anyway.

All in all, Gordon is a wonderful host and considering the location, decor, food and value I will not hesitate to stay at the Carriage Corner again.

Room Tip: The Cranberry room (#5) is the only room upstairs. The other 4 rooms are downstairs in the split lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knittyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallstead, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This B&B is easy to find, close to everything, immaculate and tastefully decorated. The host was helpful with directions and travel tips, and was accommodating to my jumbled schedule of middle of the night arrivals and departures. I stayed in the Pineapple Room with private bathroom across the hall. The home was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syv_Peppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 days here and we are already planning our next trip back. The Inn is beautiful! Gordon is a wonderful host and had great recommendations for actives and sight seeing in the area. Location is perfect also!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penshockey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome by Gordon when we arrived at this guest house. He showed us a map of the local area and made recommendations of where to visit/eat during our short stay. Our cosy room had a private bathroom across the corridor, both very clean and had nice Amish touches. There were plenty of Amish books in room to read and find out more about the local area. A good selection of tea and coffee was available in the kitchen as well as a lounge area to sit and read or meet other guests. Gordon served a very tasty breakfast at 8.30am which gave us a chance to chat to the other guests. The guest house is in a fantastic location, close to the main sights and we enjoyed a nice walks in the nearby park to walk off the 'all you can eat' dinner (also recommended by Gordon). Parking available free of charge. Gordon was the perfect host and we would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Absolutely wonderful B and B. Gordon was very accomodating and all of his breakfasts were wonderful. Room was very spacious and extremely clean and well kept. Location was absolutely perfect and convenient to all attractions. One of the best B and B's i have stayed at and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I saw were beautiful and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blsdjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Due to a death in my family I had to cancel my reservation 5 days before my scheduled stay. The Innkeeper's policy is that you are liable for any room that cannot be rebooked within 16 days of the reservation date. The Innkeeper quickly relisted the room on his website and was able to book the room for 2 of the 3 days I had reserved it. I was however charged a reduced rate for the unfilled night. Just a word of caution.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank gaeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intercourse
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
250 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
469 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Travelers Rest Motel
Travelers Rest Motel
#1 of 3 in Intercourse
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3705 E. Newport Rd., Intercourse, PA 17534
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Intercourse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage Corner is a Bed and Breakfast located just outside the village of Intercourse in Lancaster County, PA. We bring a unique blend of hospitality, laughter and kindness to your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing