We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Anywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelers Rest Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Intercourse
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
302 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“The Best Anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the best run motel anywhere. Owned by the Smucker Family - great people- and managed by Justin Smucker - the hardest working guy in the world - you will enjoy every minute of your stay at Travelers Rest. Donna, Leann, Rose, Sharon and Beverly at the front desk, Linda at breakfast and the best housekeeping crew on the planet will knock themselves out to make your stay perfect. I have stayed here for years and there is none better anywhere. Perfectly located in Intercourse, PA - it is heaven. Rates are great!
Thanks Justin & Co - you are 1 in a million.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, General Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for coming back to our motel again and again! I truly appreciate your kind words about myself and our staff; thank you for sharing your experience. It is our hope and goal that you can experience this level of service each time you stay with us. We will look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    57
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
127
160
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our 40th wedding anniversary the weekend of 9/6-9/8, 2013. We were really impressed at how clean our room was and the grounds of this motel are just beautiful, with the neatly trimmed grass, hedges and flowers. We especially loved the large gazebo, which is a great place to sit back, enjoy a nice cup of coffee and watch the Amish buggies go by. Do yourself a favor, when in Gordonville/Intercourse, make it a point to spend a night here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, General Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re so glad you celebrated your anniversary with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our last stop on a long road trip, and it was definitely a traveler's rest! We were able to spend an extra night for half price, so we did, of course! Our room was immaculate and attractive. We were able to park right outside our door, no stairs, which was great. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful - especially Linda! :) Breakfast was great. We enjoy Lancaster County very much, and this will be our new favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churchmice_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, General Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We’re delighted to be your favorite place to stay, and we’re looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our second stay at this motel. We like it because it is so centrally located to all of our favorite Amish places. Clean and comfortable, great breakfast and staff are very nice, informative and down to earth pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, General Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Judy, we're thrilled to have you back again and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a charming little motel, very clean and nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, making you feel welcome. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast wonderful. We enjoyed sitting out in the gazebo at dusk, watching the Amish buggies go by.....quite pleasant.

Very convenient location, near all the shops in Intercourse right down the street. Lovely place to stay :) By all means, take the complimentary bus tour. It's a great way to see some of the Amish countryside and meet a couple of the families in their shops. The guide was great, sharing lots of information.....well worth the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, General Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We’re so happy to hear about your lovely stay, and we’re glad you took advantage of the complimentary Amish Farmland Tour. The tour continues to be a highlight for so many of our guests. We hope you’ll come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and well taken care of. The staff is super friendly. Went here for our anniversary and the office sent a box of chocolate and a very nice card for us upon arrival to our room, The breakfast is out of this world for a continental breakfast. It's a perfect place to sit and relax and not worry about anything. Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, General Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Mike, we’re so glad you celebrated your anniversary at Travelers Rest, and we hope you’ll be back for many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtle Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I recently visited Lancaster without a reservation and seen on this site that this was a very clean motel. I was hesitant but decided to check it out. It far exceeded my expectations. The staff was extraordinary. The room was so clean and fresh and i felt so comfortable staying there. I became ill while in Lancaster and had to shorten my visit. The receptionist was very sympathetic and asked how i felt upon checking out. The continental breakfast was very nice and still had items available even though i did not get there until 9:40. They did not rush my husband and i. I now know where i will stay on my next visit. The price of $101 was also excellent.

Room Tip: Facing street with beautiful grounds to sit and relax and watch the amish buggys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, General Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Patty, we were happy to help, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intercourse
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#2 of 3 in Bird in Hand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Rest Motel

Property: Travelers Rest Motel
Address: 3701 Old Philadelphia Pike, Intercourse, PA 17534-7011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Intercourse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelers Rest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 40 room motel is located at the edge of the picturesque village of Intercouse just minutes from farmers markets, antique shops, museums, outlet shopping and theaters. Kitchen Kettle Village and the charming shops and eateries of Intercouse are all located within walking distance.Each morning start your day with a delicous complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast featuring a variety of pastries, muffins, bagels, fruits, yogurt, hot gravy over biscuits, waffles, cold cereals, juices and hot drinks.During your stay experience the back roads and people of Lancaster County in our climate-controlled tour bus as we wind through the scenic farmlands, making several stops along the way. Our knowledgeable tour guides will tell you the history of the Amish and Mennonites as well as their traditions of schools, churches, marriages, funerals, dress and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelers Rest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Rest Hotel Intercourse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing