We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1899 Olde Mill Restaurant is new with great home cooked food.”

The Olde Mill Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Intercourse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Description: Olde Mill Restaurant is committed to celebrating the history, heritage and hospitality that have been a part of the town of Intercourse in Lancaster, PA for more than 200 years. Their combination of delicious homemade food, incredibly friendly staff and fair prices have continued to bring locals and visiting guests through their doors for over 30 years. Named after a literal old mill that once served the community at the turn of the century, the Olde Mill Restaurant boasts a grand stone exterior and interior treasures like period lighting, a copper counter, gorgeous post and beam ceiling supports and narrow slotted windows that replicate the style used for ventilation in traditional barns.
Restaurant details
Description: Olde Mill Restaurant is committed to celebrating the history, heritage and hospitality that have been a part of the town of Intercourse in Lancaster, PA for more than 200 years. Their combination of delicious homemade food, incredibly friendly staff and fair prices have continued to bring locals and visiting guests through their doors for over 30 years. Named after a literal old mill that once served the community at the turn of the century, the Olde Mill Restaurant boasts a grand stone exterior and interior treasures like period lighting, a copper counter, gorgeous post and beam ceiling supports and narrow slotted windows that replicate the style used for ventilation in traditional barns.
lancaster
Level Contributor
195 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“1899 Olde Mill Restaurant is new with great home cooked food.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Used to be the Intercourse Village Best Western Restaurant. with a major makeover going back to the old mill days that once stood here. Plenty of seating , open area to come in and enjoy once again a home cooked good meal. Nothing fancy just good eats. May be the best breakfast for the price in Lancaster. Nice menue, good coffee and home made coffe cake that you can not get anywhere. Don't let me build you up. If you are a diner person, you will enjoy the Mill. The staff ( some wonderful amish ladies ) do everything possible to make your dinning a pleasure. Serving breakfast , lunch and diner. Dry no alcohol but may serve a nice glass of rootbeer during the day. Stop in if you are in the area. Great specials all week.
Open 6 days a week. Closed Sundays on God's day to give thanks to the Lord. Plenty of parking and smiles. Nice family resturant next to the Intercourse Best Western Hotel. May see some local amish and if you have children ask for a window seat to see some horse and buggies in town. Make sure you leave a big tip for the help.
http://www.amishcountryinns.com/restaurant/

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank lancaster4luvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Director of Excellence at The Olde Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are glad you had the opportunity to visit with us and enjoy a meal at the Olde Mill Restaurant. You are right when you say that our coffee cake can't be found anywhere else. It's a secret recipe! You are also correct in your observations that our staff is dedicated to making each guest's dining experience a positive one. We are committed to being the very best we can possibly be in every area. With our beautifully renovated and expanded dining room, homemade food and exceptional staff, we would certainly not fit the description of a diner, but rather a family restaurant that strives for excellence in every area. Thanks again for visiting with us and we trust we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Dawn Waltman - Director of Excellence
Olde Mill Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    106
    60
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gordonville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“dining”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

we dont live to far from the motel so we dont stay there after i read alot of the reviews not sure if i would.i visited the new restaurant is very nice.the problem we had was the service was very slow we waited from 730 am till 810 am for 3 simple platers.the prices where really high theres buffets in the new holland area that are a lot less.iam retired an cant pay $20 for 2 people can go to new holland an get it for lot less.

    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank charles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Director of Excellence at The Olde Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry you did not have a more positive experience at the Olde Mill Restaurant because that is our ultimate goal for every guest. We do apologize for your long wait while you ordered breakfast. On the day you came into the restaurant we had only been open for 3 days and we tried to communicate to guests that we were still working through glitches. This is why we offered complimentary hot drinks the first couple days. We find our prices to be very competitive especially with the specials where guests enjoy breakfast for about $5.00. Our new facilities, delicious food, friendly staff and fair prices are the reasons so many locals and out of town guests continue to patronize our restaurant. We are sorry that you do not feel the same. In the future, if you are ever disappointed with your experience, please make mention of it to the hostess and we will do everything we can to turn your frown upside down!
Warm Regards,
Dawn Waltman - Director of Excellence
Olde Mill Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Staff”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have visted this resturant several times while staying at the best western next door. The staff are friendly, helpful and happy that you are there. You can either have a free breakfast whic includes a choice of 2 items which from eggs, toast, muffins, the wonderful coffee cake , ceral etc and 2 drinks or if you choose from the menu you get 40% off for breakfast!!!! I have not made it for dinner or lunch but do plan on it during my next trip

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, DE
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Down-Home Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food and service, in our opinion, are always good here. Locals eat here, too, so that is usually a sign of good value. We usually visit the area yearly and always go here one or more times. On the most recent trip, we went three times......for a breakfast, a lunch, and a dinner. All three meals were very good! The restaurant (and the adjoining motel...in which we have never stayed) are both scheduled to enlarge soon. I hope that doesn't change the atmosphere or the service in the restaurant, both of which we have always found to be very warm and welcoming. Note that it is not open on Sundays due to religious beliefs of those working there (as is the case with many authentic Mennonite and Amish restaurants in the area).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatMillsboro_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A trip is not complete without a visit for breakfast and dinner. The eggs are the freshest you will ever eat! The fried chicken is delicious! While it's a small place, it's worth the wait. It is a local's place to eat also. You will see many Amish or Mennonite men and families come for a meal. The employees are all friendly and helpful. Most breakfast meals come with their homemade warm crumb cake. The piece is big enough to make a meal out of! Definitely number 1 in our book!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Mill Restaurant also viewed

Intercourse, Lancaster County
 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Olde Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing