We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kling House

Kling House
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Intercourse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kling House Restaurant is the home of Kitchen Kettle Village in Intercourse, PA. The house nurtured three generations of Klings and Burnleys before the Lancaster County farmhouse became a restaurant. The front porch, living room, dining room and office remain in tact but now we greet hungry guests for breakfast or lunch. Although coconut cream pie has become our signature dessert, the breakfast or lunch menus are full of Lancaster County recipes which feature Kitchen Kettle Village products. Cinnamon raisin French toast or baked oatmeal for breakfast. Cranberry chicken salad served open faced with Kitchen Kettle Cranberry Orange Marmalade for lunch. And the very best shoofly pie in all the land. We sometimes eat shoofly pie for breakfast! At Christmastime we offer special dinners with Mrs. Claus and Yummie the five Friday nights between Thanksgiving and December 19th. These magical nights fill up quickly, click here for all the details. When the weather cooperates, enjoy outdoor dining on the Terrace. You can watch the buggies go by and just relax in the sunshine.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had lunch at this restaurant on June 10, 2014. The food was good and the prices reasonable. I would recommended to anyone visiting Intercourse, Pennsylvania.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    110
    32
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've been going out to Lancaster County for years with family. I started going and extra two times during the course of the year with a group of girls during and we've always made the Kling House one of our lunch stops. The food is good, we've never been disappointed, and like the fact that there isn't the basic Penn Dutch menu, but more of a variety. The restaurant is so pretty and the staff is always pleasant. It's so nice to sit down and relax after walking and shopping for hours. It's especially when you have the view, whether it's of Kitchen Kettle or of 772 and the buggies going by. It's always such a pleasant experience and we always go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Upon arrival, we were given yummy crackers with pepper jelly and cream cheese. My son loves chicken tenders and theirs sounded good. They were so good! Some of the best chicken tenders I've ever had. We also shared an order of sweet potato fries with marshmallow sauce. That was incredible. The server and hostess were very friendly. We went back a second time a few days later before we left town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
256 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great view from our table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We ate lunch at Kling House and were seated by the window along Route 772, Newport Road. We saw about a dozen buggies go by, and it was very interesting to see the local Amish people in their element going about their daily lives. The lunch special was a pannini, and it was very delicious. Our server, Danae, was so very sweet!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great little breakfast place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

When you stay at the Inn breakfast is free. You choose from three selections - either eggs with toast and home fries, or french toast or oatmeal - coffee with refills are free. And of course you get their homemade jams for your toast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kling House also viewed

 
Intercourse, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 

Been to Kling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing