We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, shrinking portions”
Review of Le Salon Prive

Le Salon Prive
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Salon Prive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 206 Restaurants in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Set in a converted Victorian butchers shop, Le Salon Prive brings classic French cuisine to the leafy London suburb of St Margarets, Twickenham. A homely dining room swirled with relaxed Parisian style features intricate stained glass windows, wicker brasserie furnishings and rustic brickwork, while the seasonally changing menu offers French staples alongside elegant fine dining dishes.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, shrinking portions”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming here for the last couple of years and have enjoyed the lovely ambiance and terrific food. However, over the last twelve months the portions have been getting smaller and smaller. Most embarrassing for us was when we took guests and we were all presented with main courses the size of starters. It was like being back in the days of nouvelle cuisine. It was disappointing to pay that much and get up from the table hungry. Ordering extras such as a serve of vegetables or potatoes racks up the price alarmingly and vegetarians be warned, the potatoes are cooked in goose fat unless you specify otherwise. It's still a beautiful setting and very good food but we don't want to pay handsomely for a main course consisting of a single tart about four inches across.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    120
    32
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing but still good”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We're real Brula fanboys and go several times a year, so were looking forward to this trip to "celebrate" one of our kids returning to university after the holidays.

It's probably the busiest I've ever seen it: all the tables were full I think, and they just didn't have enough waiting staff. Thus the staff were quite elusive for extra orders such as more drinks, bread etc, although as unfailingly polite and pleasant as ever when their attention could be caught.

My gravaldax wasn't a good choice, quite tasty but a little too cold and very small. Pork belly main was what it always is (that's a good thing!), but the desserts were a disappointment: I was served just a small, doleful slice of blue cheese, and my wife's creme brullee was runny, and poorly brulleed, I've had better in pubs. Not up to standard at all.

Lovely ambience, pleasant evening, I'll definitely return, but for my next "special event" may shop around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valiant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I liked the atmosphere very much. Loved fine tableware.. Service was really good too. Soup good but maybe under seasoned. Liked the Squash tart and the pudding was divine. Good choices. Belly pork which my companion ate disappointing. Not nearly tender enough.
Major plus... open on new years day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a lovely time at Brula. Lovely staff, very attentive without being pushy. Great food too. I chose the restaurant because of the picture, and it didn't disappoint. Super ambiance. Only problem would have been the stairs to the Loo because our guest is very elderly, but fortunately she didn't need to go! Otherwise all good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We looked at several restaurants to hold an anniversary to be able to invite friends to join us for lunch. The events team at Brula were great and offered us the main section of the ground floor, which was ideal. They worked with us on the menu to give a choice to our guests but stay within our budget. On the day the room was beautifully presented with fresh flowers on the table and the food was excellent and our friends commented on the friendly service.
Also for larger events we saw they have a link with Strawberry Hill house to use their rooms.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viajerovista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Salon Prive also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 

Been to Le Salon Prive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing