We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French restaurant with great food & service”
Review of Le Salon Prive

Le Salon Prive
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Salon Prive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 206 Restaurants in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Set in a converted Victorian butchers shop, Le Salon Prive brings classic French cuisine to the leafy London suburb of St Margarets, Twickenham. A homely dining room swirled with relaxed Parisian style features intricate stained glass windows, wicker brasserie furnishings and rustic brickwork, while the seasonally changing menu offers French staples alongside elegant fine dining dishes.
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic French restaurant with great food & service”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lovely feel of France with traditional decor and attentive service.
The food is consistently delicious & the ambiance is very relaxed and welcoming. Wine list is quality too!
Its probably the best French restaurant for miles around!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liverbird25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    120
    32
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Much improved since the Spring; terrific wine list; well balanced menu.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Greeted by a gentleman in a suit, who looked like a bank manager! Shown to table by window; not much of an atmosphere but the food was OK last time.
We were pretty conservative; went with the Scottish home cured Salmon (whose home??) and the Crab with curried mayonnaise and celeriac remoulade.You can't muck up a plate of smoked salmon unless you really try; this was fine, but a little skimpy.The crab was lovely and the celeriac accompaniment a delight...next time boldness be my friend! Going to try the Black pudding terrine and Shetland scallops, both of which I love but prunes with scallops??!! More next time! Meanwhile....
The sea bass with spinach with a saffron flavoured cream sauce was very pleasant but the fish lacked a little.punch; slightly over cooked for my taste. Again, like the starers will try something a little more adventurous next time, With atraditional French menu I did wonder why no jugged hare, rabbit or other game dish in a rich wine sauce,,,,,ideal winter fare.
When it comes to wines, they have a comprehensive list but pricing is a little skewed. Compare the Mas Consience, Le Cas at 37.50, a fabulous red (Carignon grape) with the Cremant de Luminoux, a delicious sparkling Chardonnay/Pinot Noit at 32.50. My tip; look at their selection of Regional wines. The Domaine de Roudene (Fitou)at 27.50 is reasonable value.
My complaint about wines generally is that as Sommeliers are generally no longer employed, wines are not bought in advance, stored, aged and turned over a period of years; the investment is not there and wines should have a more realistic mark-up. Winge over !!
The service was fine; a little slow (obviously amateur part-timers) but friendly enough. Not sure about automatic 12.5 %, 10% is about right.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bombaywelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited Brula on a Monday lunchtime - service was very slow even though only a few tables were occupied. Staff were friendly, but everything took for ever. We had Ballotine de volaille - described as a three bird roast of duck, chicken and turkey with parsnips, red cabbage and bread sauce. What arrived was a small portion of meat with an undistinguished sauce, a few shreds of red cabbage and one parsnip - which was undercooked and inedible. For desert we chose a rum and raisin sponge with nougat ice cream which turned out to be rather dry, and a sticky toffee pudding with caramel sauce and ice cream which was over sweet. This, plus the free tap water and few slices of bread would have cost £45 without the special offer- and left us still feeling hungry. There are plenty of other restaurants with fewer pretensions nearby.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy O, Public Relations Manager at Le Salon Prive, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hello Simon,

Having read your recent review of Brula on Tripadvisor I was very sorry to hear about your experience here and that you will not be returning.

We take all comments very seriously and customer feedback is integral to our customer experience and the business itself. We value all opinions and hope to welcome you back to the restaurant in the future.

All feedback is passed onto the kitchen and reviewed.

Please feel free to contact me on 020 8892 0602 to discuss further.

Kind regards,

Lucy O'Herlihy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and food”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

lovely food and wine in a great setting near the station (so easy to get to by train). I also love the fact you can take a bottle of your favourite wine and they do corkage.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Teddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, Middx
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing mains - good service”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went for a bithday lunch and had the set menu at £25 pp excluding coffee and service. The starters were excellent, but portion control was evident in the small smoked salmon serving and the single slice of brioche accompanying the chicken parfait. Mains were a nonedescript three bird roast, with tasteless red cabbage and a large slice of parsnip, which provided the dominant flavour. Puddings were first rate, the biologique Cote du Rhone red was superb and the filter coffee was OK. Service was very good and charming.The standard of food seems to have slipped from our last visit a year, or so, ago.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Popesgrotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Salon Prive also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to Le Salon Prive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing