We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected more”
Review of A Cena

A Cena
Ranked #16 of 206 Restaurants in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $64
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Richmond Station or St Margarets Station
Description: A Cena restaurant is located just over the Richmond Bridge in East Twickenham. A fantastic local italian restaurant set in a warm, friendly, elegant but relaxed atmosphere with a menu that constantly changes to suit the changing seasons and ensuring only the freshest and best ingredients go into our dishes. The wine list is superb ranging from small, modest Italian Vineyards to some of the great names and vintages. A Cena means "at dinner" and is pronounced "Ah Chenna"
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“expected more”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

not a great selection my wife found it hard to pick anything she liked very pricey ! top london prices but twickenham/richmond food. not impressed

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisannick1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    58
    27
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“As Good As Any West End Restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have been quite a few times over the years and this wonderful local Italian restaurant never fails to deliver good food and service. I have seen previous reviews stating the service to be rude; we have never had this problem. We went last Saturday at lunchtime and there were three of us. The time taken for the food to come from the kitchen was rather a wait and because of this we had run out of wine before the main course arrived and had to order another bottle which at £40 each makes lunch rather expensive! We would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant as the food and very good wine list never fail to please.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The best italian I've had outside Italy”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Absolutely delicious, fantastic. More pricey than your average Jamies Italian etc type chain, but much much better. Unpretentious but upmarket, good quality food, great service, good presentation. Amazed i've never been here before. Doesn't look that great from the outside, but a classy low key little restaurant. food was genuinely amazing.good wine list. the lamb main course I had was heavenly. great for dates, special occasions or just a nice meal out. . will 100% return and reccomend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 00000001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Local”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My title is misleading as A Cena should not be classed as a local - I would recommend making a longer journey to experience their wonderful understated restaurant where they let the food shine. Its hard to get bookings so you will be lucky to walk in off the street esp on weekends and in the evening. In summary would highly recommend as great food, atmosphere and service

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
204 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Top notch local italian”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in Richmond
Very good meal interesting wine list
Attentive service although dishes a little slow coming from the kitchen on a busy Wednesday

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cena also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to A Cena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing