We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twickenham Guest House
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appalling!!!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Booked this guest house as somewhere to stay whilst down in Twickenham seeing Lady GaGa.
Perfect location for the stadium as I can't walk long distances and car park space available. This is the only good thing that can be said.
On arrival when our booking was found we were told that our room wasn't ready but they had another double room that was!!
The room was small but to get to the room you had to walk through the dinning room and what can only describe as a laundry room. Once in the room which was basic and clean (bonus I think) we sorted our things out and then back out to the stadium. When we returned we went straight back to our room walking past a man sat slumped at at table who was smoking, this is a Strickly no smoking hotel!!!! We did not get any sleep as one of our neighbours was very very loud, a few people did try to stop the noise but without success. When we booked this hotel we were told that a full English breakfast was included. It actually consisted of toast and a cup of tea a gentleman fast asleep on a sofa covered by a white sheet as people were at at their tables and then the owner walks in wearing his pyjamas and baseball cap. Oh and if you wanted you could have a Tesco's trifle for your breakfast. Fresh fruit was pulled from the cupboard, my husband was moved several times so the owner could get to the fridge freezer that was located in the dining room.then to find out what other people had paid was the icing on the cake, we couldnt leave quick enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    22
    24
    43
See reviews for
17
27
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked this guest house at the last minute, Not easy to reach on match days due to the local roads around Twickenham being closed bbut is in a perfect location for the ground.
Our room was small and the bathroom smaller but wasn'r really a issue due to only being there 1 night.The welcome recieved from "uncle" was lovely, he got us both a drink on arrival and made us feel so welcome.The breakfast was tea coffee juice and toast with a variety of cereals if required, this was told to us when booking so wasn't a issue and was very nice.
Our stop over was very nice and value for money, if you are looking for somewhere to sleep after watching a game thn this is the place., but you get what's on the can!

Room Tip: Didnt see other rooms but no1 was small but comfortasble
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabberBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After getting tickets for the Premiership double header at Twickenham, we decided to rent a room for the night so we booked a twin room at the Twickenham Guest House. This turned out to be a monumental mistake.
When we arrived we were kept waiting for what seemed like ages while the Gentleman behind the counter tried to find our booking form.
When we finally received our key (to room 10), we found to our dismay that the room was yet to be cleaned. The shower room was old and dingy, one of the beds had been slept in and was unmade. The tea and coffee facilities had all been used and there was a large stain on the wall where someone had tipped a drink many moons ago.
We complained about the state of the room and were told it would be taken care of whilst we were at the rugby so we left them to it. We returned 6 HOURS later and the room still wasn't cleaned and the bed was still unmade without fresh sheets. When we complained again, fresh towels and tea making facilities were brought to the room but no new sheets. The bed had just been made with the existing sheets. We know this because we were outside the room waiting and no new sheets were brought to the room. We complained again and were fobbed off (not very kindly) and told that they were already fresh sheets and that the bed just hadn't been made which was a bare faced lie. Luckily, next door had four beds and two very nice ladies let us take the sheets from an unused bed in their room. The room and shower/toilet facilities however, were as dirty as ever. Please do not stay here. It is an absolute dump!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philspur61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is now known as the Twickenham Guest House. We stayed in room No.1 at the front on the hotel next to the front door. It was very scruffy - paintwork old, skirting boards not clean (one part of the skirting was even missing, see photo), dead flies on the window sill, the 'wardrobe' was a plyboard door to a small alcove (see photo), the light switch had been moved because of this and I could only just reach it. The shower room was tiny and felt old and dirty. The sheets were clean but the quilt cover was coming apart on one corner. The other problem is the noise - it is right next to the A316 and the traffic noise is non-stop. Also, in room no.1 every time the night door bell is rung you hear it and the chatter of the guests coming in. Can't comment on the breakfast as we really didn't want to eat here and we would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

when we arrived our booking wasn't there, guy in reception could speak to good english but this is not the worst yet - when finaly give us room it was just one big dirty mess. so we deceided not to stay and after explaining to the guy at reception ( another challenge) that we are not staying and we are not paying for poor service they are offering. but it look like he did not understand and they are still charge us for the room and i cannot get my money back.. So please people if You would like to make your stay in london worst nightmare this is the best place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked a family room for four. To get there, we had to go through a house full of clutter, stuff lying around and quite unkept. The room had 4 single beds and a small kitchen which at first looked quite cool. We didn't use any of the kitchen as we were there only for a night but crockery was scarce, old and chipped. Very quickly, we were put off by the dirtiness of the room. It hadn't clearly been cleaned, hoovered in a long time. Huge cobwebs on the ceiling, stains on the wall, tatty bed clothes with holes and dirty shower. The room really smelt musty! TV was on the side and awkward to watch. Staff were ok and so was breakfast. Fortunately for them, we had paid upfront! Will never stay there again and do not recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yantheman186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is now known as the Twickenham Guest House. First I must say that the staff/owners are super nice, but the room we stayed in was in need of an overhaul. We stayed in the “studio”, and the room and bathroom had a musty smell. The beds in the room were the best part. They were very comfortable and seemed to be new, with nice bedding. Other than the beds, the furniture was a bit sad. The bathroom was very tiny, and the toilet handle was loose. There was a TV, fridge (which was handy), a washer (but no dryer – not sure where you would hang your clothes to dry), a microwave, kettle and kitchen sink. They provided a few well used dishes, and instant coffee/tea. There was no phone in the room, which was annoying as we needed to make several local calls, and our cell phones did not work in England. This room is separate from the main house, so it had its own entrance. The only light in the room came from a skylight . It is well sealed off because of the traffic on the outside wall, which can be very loud and busy at times, but quiets down at night. The room was cleaned with fresh towels daily, but was in need of a deep cleaning in corners. They provided a full English breakfast daily, which was good, and also had croissants, muffins, fresh fruit and cereal as well most days. We stayed here for a week, but only used it as a place to sleep at night. I thought it sort of resembled staying in a cottage. By North American standards, the price we paid for the room was way too high for what we got, but perhaps English standards and prices are different. They were doing renovations while we were there, so maybe the place will improve.

Twickenham Guest House is just down the road from the rugby stadium, and 5 minutes from the train station (which we took every day). It’s about a 35 minute trip to London Waterloo Station, depending on the time of day, and if you catch the “fast train”. You can catch a bus right around the corner, and top up or buy your Oyster cards from the convenience store also around the corner. It’s about a 15 minute walk to Twickenham main street where there are several shops.

In summary, the staff, breakfast and beds were good. For the price, the overall room, bathroom and cleanliness was not up to standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kodak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Twickenham
Travelodge Twickenham
#5 of 6 in Twickenham
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#3 of 6 in Twickenham
388 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
659 reviews
1.7 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twickenham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twickenham Guest House

Property: Twickenham Guest House
Address: 10 Russell Road, Twickenham TW2 7QT, England (Formerly Bremic Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Twickenham Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Twickenham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bremic Hotel Twickenham
Twickenham Guest House United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing