We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pizza!”
Review of Ruben's Bakehouse

Ruben's Bakehouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Bakeries in Twickenham
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Alongside our Bakery we now have our Refettorio ( Italian for Refectory a dining room). Latin: Refectorium which means a place one goes to be restored! It offers a relaxed environment with a shared seating arrangement which encourages conversation and a sense of community. The idea of which comes from Italian food and wine festivals. Our interior is rustic/industrial. Our menu is best described as simple: 5 pizzas and 1 speciality, approved by Slow Food London Association, long fermentation sourdough bases and delicious quality fresh ingredients all made with organic flours.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Proper pizza!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A great easy going bakery/restaurant. The pizzas are great value and are amongst the best and most authentic I've eaten in London. Like all good pizza, the base is the key and Rubens really know what they're doing. Only a few London pizzerias can produce a pizza like the best in Italy, and Rubens is one of them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubensBakehouse, Owner at Ruben's Bakehouse, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are really glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. Yes, we take our ingredients and our sourdough pizza base very seriously and are so glad that you like it as much as us. The ice cream is one of the only things that isn't produced by us but we are very confident in it. It is produced locally at south street cafe, Isleworth. Try the brown bread flavour if you haven't already! Happy birthday and thank you. Lucy and igor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    26
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza for teenager's birthday meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was my son's 15th birthday today and, having eaten here with us once before, I'm delighted that he chose Ruben's for his birthday dinner, rather than one of the ubiquitous pizza chains nearby. To me the difference really is in the taste of the fantastic pizza dough - it is not overseasoned like the pizza in many other restaurants, but has a deep complex flavour that presumably comes from the long proving of the sourdough. We booked a table and were seated at the back of the restaurant with a good outlook across all the people enjoying their meals. The four of us all had calzones, with some roasted vegetables (not sure how successful the green beans were but loved everything else!) then a plum and almond tart and some of the most delicious ice-cream we have ever tasted. The service from both staff members was perfect too: friendly and attentive when needed. What a lovely evening - thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank musictagj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most delicious pizza outside of Italy”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Congratulations Ruben's Bakehouse, your sourdough pizze (is that Italian plural for more than one pizza?) exceeded our expectations and are as good as the best we've eaten in Italy and better than many!

We have enjoyed your sourdough breads from Surbiton and Kew Farmers Markets and were keen to try your refectory.

The informal atmosphere was perfect for us and we've been enthusing about you to friends and strangers!

Congratulations and good luck to you all

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubensBakehouse, Owner at Ruben's Bakehouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
You clearly know us well. Thank you for your support. Thanks for the lovely review and we hope to see you again soon. From Igor and Lucy and the rest of the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Pizza's in all of the Land!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great Pizzas, Wonderful welcoming atmosphere. The staff are great! Only have 4 pizza's on the menu with a guest pizza that changes frequently. I can not fault the pizza. They use their own special recipe to make the dough and it is gorgeous. They don't accept bookings, first come first serve but worth the wait during busy periods. Also its BYOB so don't forget! So pleased to have such great pizzas on our doorstep.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chef_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubensBakehouse, Owner at Ruben's Bakehouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. From all the crew at Ruben's! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the UK....”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

So pleased to find this wonderful enterprise almost on our doorstep. The pizza are the best I've ever eaten in the UK and beat most of those in Italy. The room is basic; you'll eat at tables with strangers, enjoy wine out of tumblers and have great service from Igor and his staff. Unbelievable value.... BYO for wine. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spadge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubensBakehouse, Owner at Ruben's Bakehouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking your time. So glad you liked your experience at Ruben's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruben's Bakehouse also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to Ruben's Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing