We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Transformed completely in every way”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #2 of 205 Restaurants in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Transformed completely in every way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This pub has been completely renovated and is now extremely comfortable and well appointed. We thought we'd drop in for a quick lunch, more or less en passant, and so we did. Very nice cooking with fresh ingredients, decent portions, and very frendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenceMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    156
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place, food & staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Second time I've been & will keep coming back for more! Came for a meal with my partner recently, such a lovely ambience with the fires on during a horrible rainy day. Food was delicious on both occasions, far exceeding my expectations and served by welcoming and attentive staff. Highly recommend for friends, families, couples alike.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZCA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“This place has hit its stride!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I think I posted the first review of this place on trip advisor soon after it opened. i ended the review by saying they could do better. Well it seems they have. Went with friends for Sunday lunch. It was my first time back and the place, when we arrived at 3 pm. was absolutely heaving. The lunch was last minute and we hadn't booked. We were told there were no tables in the dining room until 4 at the earliest, but we could eat in the bar area, if, that is, we could snag a table and didn't mind ordering from the bar. We spied several tables that looked close to leaving so decided to stay. Very glad we did. As I said in an earlier review, the folks here really did an excellent job with renovating what was already an impressive building. The ceilings soar in both the bar area and main dining room and there are lovely views of the garden from both. Even though it was very busy and the staff rushed off their feet they were much more on it than on my last visit and there was a floor manager who seemed to be everywhere, smiling in the face of the onslaught and checking to see if all was well. To top it all off the food was brilliant. Everyone at the table declared their lunch to be delicious! We won't wait so long to return this time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My first visit here on a Friday evening and it was definitely buzzing. Recommend asking for a table at the back if you want a conversation. Selection and quality of food good and prices excellent, staff very friendly. Visited here with friends from the area and would definitely come back again. Platter to share was for 2 but definitely served more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furnacegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great menu, delicious food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Five of us spent a very enjoyable Saturday evening here in October. A great menu - lots of lovely dishes to choose from and the food was delicious. I can highly recommend the starter of Tom Yum Thai prawns and squid with lime and coriander and the 'special' fillet of plaice with lobster sauce, asparagus and crushed new potatoes. Even though it was very busy, the service was excellent: friendly and prompt. If I had to make a criticism, it would be the level of the background music. The atmosphere had a buzz of its own - it didn't need to try and drown it out with loud background music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsRobinson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing