We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday roast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince Blucher

The Prince Blucher
Ranked #23 of 204 Restaurants in Twickenham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a great all round place to relax, eat, drink and play! That pretty much sums it up, however there is so much more The Prince Blucher can offer. Our bar area has 3 large screens for all sporting events. We encourage our friends to book tables to get the best viewing experience, and with this we offer table service during the games. On big occasions we add 3 more 40+ inch screens to the venue to create a truly unique experience in Twickenham. Our three dining areas offer versatile spaces for cosy tables of small groups, to larger parties for both families and corporate bookings. The design and decor mix's contemporary fixtures and fittings with traditional undertones. On the walls you will find genuine memorabilia from Twickenham film studios and rugby stadium. Our beautiful garden is somewhat of a selling point, especially in the warmer months. We have a heated and covered decking area, suitable for private parties of up to 100 guests. This can come with your own outdoor bar, full hog roast and BBQ! We have further seating for 150 people and a fantastic kids play area nestled in the back of the property, the safest place for them to be! Our menus changes from lunch to dinner, offering specials that are in keeping with the seasons, whilst listening to requests from customers too! We offer brunch on the weekends, a fresh salad and sandwich offer at lunchtimes to supplement our mains, and a full and hearty Sunday roast each week until 8pm. Drinks range from fantastic Fullers ales, both familiar and new seasonal varieties to craft beers from around the globe. We have Twickenham's largest gin range! 22 To be exact. Also a wine list that offers a decent spectrum to either quench your thirst or compliment a variety of meals. So, that's us!!! Come in and meet our friendly bunch, tell us your story and we will share ours!
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

4 of us went to this place for a Sunday lunch. We had previous booked a table on the patio as it was a really sunny hot day. The patio has a roof covering and is a no smoking area which we found ideal. Service was fine and Staff very pleasant. The roasts were really plentiful and tasted really great. There was plenty of space other than the patio both inside and out + a children's play area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidays4us_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear "Holidays4us_73"
Thanks for the great comments on our traditional Sunday roasts. Im glad you mentioned our no-smoking terrace. Not everyone knows about that and i think it appeals to all diners. See you all in agaon soon. Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Broad Appeal in Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I took Sunday lunch at The Prince Blucher with family and was impressed with the overall experience. There was a good choice of seating options - including outside in the garden - with shade from the sun if required. We opted to sit near the door on to the garden and enjoyed our roast beef and fish selections, washed down with a bottle of wine. Service was polite and very attentive. The restaurant was clean and very well presented.
We thoroughly enjoyed our family get-together and would certainly make a return visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear "Steve B"
Thanks for the kind comments. All round pleasant comments on service and environment, these will be fed back to the hard working staff. See you in again soon. Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Fab Sunday Roast for very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I have recently moved to the area and had invited his mother and her partner over for Sunday Lunch. We had drinks a couple of nights before in the pub and liked the selection of drinks and the atmosphere so decided to try out the food. We were not disappointed. We elected to sit in the large pub garden as the weather was glorious. I am often reluctant to eat in pub gardens because of insects and what not but we weren't bothered at all. We all had the roast beef with extra large Yorkshire, roasties and seasonal veg which came pink but the chef kindly cooked a little more for our more traditional lunch guests. Everything about it was just perfect. Portion size was excellent, meat high quality and cooked to perfection, the best roast potatoes I have eaten outside of my mum and my grans and fresh veg to boot. Accompanied by a tasty glass of Malbec and followed up by the best stick toffee pudding I have ever eaten I could not believe that this all came in at less than £30pp! The staff in the pub are lovely too, they clearly know their regulars well and we hope to become part of the regular crew in the future. Definitely recommend the Sunday lunch if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonKate_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear "LondonKate_10"
Thank you for the lovely yet honest review. We know the weather helps on sunny weekends however I will take your positive comments about the food and pass it on to our chef and bar teams. Sundays are typically the hardest day to "get right", so it means a lot when expectations are passed and people leave happy. See you again! Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great summer evening pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I live in another part of Twickenham and don't very often go to the Green area, but one evening a friend and I took a walk and stumbled upon The Prince Blucher. I can't believe it's taken me this long to find this place! It was a perfect spot for a Sunday evening pint. Their range of ales was very impressive and we had a couple of beers in their huge outdoor seating area (you don't realise quite how big the beer garden is from the road).

The staff (there were a lot!) were very friendly and accommodating and I could have spent ages looking at the decor, including many articles from nearby Twickenham Film Studios and period photos.

Can't wait to go back and try the food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear "RobMorts"
It's great to have a nice review on how spacious the pub and garden are and what a nice time it seem's customers are having here in the summer months. You are right, it is deceiving from the road, we can fit almost 300 people in the garden alone. Do come back and sample the food and our happy staff will be here to help. See you again. Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Never been before - but will go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited the pub as part of a wedding party and were really impressed with the decor and layout. We had sharing platters (as the wedding meal was later in the day) which were great but we also sneaked some bar snacks - the sausage roll and breakfast scotch egg were to die for and a reason to return in themselves!! There was a good selection of beers and other drinks and the gardens looked very welcoming and great for a summer's evening. I cannot comment on the gents' facilities but the ladies' were clean and big enough to hold a dance - such a change to poky, dingy facilities you find in many pubs. We know this is a recent refurb and newly opened but we are sure they will be very successful.

Helpful?
Thank condenastbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear "condenastbabe"
It was a pleasure to have you and your friends with us earlier this week for the wedding party. Everyone was a pleasure to be around and we are all glad you enjoyed the food. Your'e correct, we are newly refurbished (opened in Feb14) however we all do work to keep it looking fresh and new after everyone has left at the end of the day. Thank you for the nice comments, and i look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince Blucher also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to The Prince Blucher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing