We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely theatre venue”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Mary Wallace Theatre
Ranked #17 of 25 things to do in Twickenham
Attraction details
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely theatre venue”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I am very loathed to write anything about this fantastic theatre as this is a real hidden secret, if it became more popular I am sure I would find it difficult to get tickets. None the less you have to admire all the hard work done but staff, supporters and volunteers. A great venue that puts on very enjoyable and professional productions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small atmospheric theatre”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I've been coming to the Mary Wallace for a number of years. Throughout the year there is a wide variety of plays ranging from the light to one or two serious plays. I would describe the quality of the acting as semi-professional - I have the impression that many professionals are involved in the company.

Every year they put on an outside production of a Shakespeare play in the attractive grounds of nearby York House. An event not to be missed.

The theatre is also home to a children's theatre group.

The theatre is located near the River Thames and has a nice view of the boat yards and interesting houses on Eel Pie Island - home to artists and other creative people.

Within five minutes walk there is also a number of interesting pubs including the Barmy Arms and the Swan. In Church Street there are other pubs and some very nice restaurants.

Parking is relatively alright and Twickenham has a good bus service. The station is about ten minutes walk. The R68 and 33 bus routes take you to Richmond where you can pick up the train and tube networks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Odtaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This amateur theatre surpasses West End productions”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

As a theatre lover in SW London, I have been a member for a few years (despite living several miles away) and try not to miss any of their productions. I have only praise for this gem of a theatre: small, intimate, great choice of works offered, wonderful actors (often better than professionals!), beautiful productions, cosy bar with a friendly atmosphere, and often they have tickets available at short notice. I would not have missed their recent take on 'The importance of being Ernest' for the world ! West End theatres little missed, I'm afraid....
* Visitors to London: you will not be disappointed ! *

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited the theatre to see a RSS play for which we had won tickets .Decided to take our daughter aged 12 as she declared she found Shakespeare confusing ! Well what a joy the play was... By the end I had tears in my eye and so did she, so obviously the plot and meaning came through clearly !
Great theatre and welcoming atmosphere, definitely recommend a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This little theatre is a treasure! It has its own cosy and friendly atmosphere made by amateur actors and staff who are passionate about Shakespeare and of course other playwrights, about producing and acting and so they give us superb performances, moving, exciting, funny...
Their productions are alway a joy. The Summer outdoor performances in some romantic spot in Twickenham are for many one of the highlights of Summer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Verena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mary Wallace Theatre also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to The Mary Wallace Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing