We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for food and accommodation”
Review of The Alexander Pope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Alexander Pope
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel on a visit to Strawberry Hill house in Twickenham. Lunch was a birthday celebration. The food was excellent as was the service. We shared this lunch with 7 friends all of whom commented on the quality of the meal. My husband and I stayed overnight so that we could explore the area. Our room was spacious and clean and the location is perfect for catching the tube into London city. We also dined in that evening using the bar menu and were delighted with the variety and the presentation of our light meals. Wine selection was limited but of a good standard. Breakfast in the morning was individually prepared and cooked for each person which was appreciated. Will recommend this hotel in my online magazine My-Creative Diva for fellow artists who are travelling to London.

Room Tip: Request a quiet one on off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay . I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on some future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 421 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Second review and standard of hotel and rooms much the same but the food and drink seems to have become very expensive and the quality has not risen accordingly
One good point on the hotel Wi Fi is free

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

I appreciate the time you have taken to let us have your comments following your recent stay and I'm pleased that overall you had an enjoyable time . We do try to keep our prices reasonable and we have many dishes on the menu that represent great value. On your next visit please allow me to point out our "specials" that change frequently and are especially good value. I'm glad you enjoyed the free Wi Fi, it's a benefit that I think many of our guests enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had two nights here and only used the restaurant for breakfast as we had other plans. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was to a good standard. The breakfast ran out of things too early on, it was the middle of the serving time and it is poor planning to run out at that point. The setting for the restaurant was very pleasant though. The receptionist was very helpful, particularly in organizing an early taxi for us.
Overall it was a good experience

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhabidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will be looking into the breakfast situation as you are indeed correct that we should not be running out of any items on the breakfast table in mid service.Thanks again for letting me know and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Left waiting in the bar for drinks. Food took ages to arrive and when it did it was overcooked. Overpriced. Visited again today as it was near the river and drinks we ordered were out of stock. Despite lovely settings this place needs to improve its customer service drastically.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, General Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent visits to the hotel. I am so sorry that you were disappointed in the food and that some drinks were unavailable. We do our utmost to ensure our guests are satisfied and are really dismayed when we fail in that endeavour. I would very much like to look further into the issues you encountered and perhaps you might like to contact me with the specifics of your visit so that I may establish the cause and of course prevent any recurrence.
Once again thank you for letting us have your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First saw this hotel (Pope's Grotto) about 16 years ago travelling to Twickenham to watch England play rugby. We had booked into a hotel in Richmond. From then on, every time we went to London we tried to stay but it was always fully booked.
This year, we decided to go and visit the RHS Hampton Court Palace Flower Show. Itried again to make a booking and was surprised that we got a double disabled friendly room.
We arrived at the hotel early, we booked in and waited in the bar for just over half an hour for our room to be ready.
It was worth the wait. The room, food and staff were a delight. We stayed for two nights what it costs for one night in a Richmond hotel; this was better. Much better value and a much better stay.
We will be back!

Room Tip: As we stayed in a disabled room, we go where they are! This was nice though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is kind of you to let us have your feedback.... please come back but you don't have to wait another 16 years !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed 3 days in Alexander Pope last Dec fall. This was 3.5 km walking distance to my UK office.
The room has a balcony overlooking the river. Under warmer weather, I would have enjoyed sitting at the balcony slipping my afternoon coffee. But the time was almost closed to a winter season. Though t is not closed to any shopping malls, one would love to walk in the park which is just across the road and river. Stayed there and enjoyed the quiet moments during the evening time. Breakfast not so interesting as variety is quite limited. Had a dinner at the in house dinning hall- not so interesting

Room Tip: Always good to have a room with aview which is facing the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyHoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a over night stay at the Alexander Pope, the Hotel was very clean & comfortable, staff welcomed us as you would expect, when we got to our room we where very much impressed by its size and then to make it even better we found we had a large balcony area out he front over looking the park opposite and the river Thames, with the sun bating down on us we sat at the large table / four chairs and took in the view.
Later in the evening we ate in the pub /restaurant attached to the hotel a good selection of food and drink at a reasonable price.
will use this hotel again good location for Hampton court palace and sites in this part of London

Room Tip: The room we had was the only one with the large balcony from what we could see of the others some h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpd3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope that you enjoyed all the many attractions that are so close to the hotel. Do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Twickenham
Travelodge Twickenham
#5 of 6 in Twickenham
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,602 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham East Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander Pope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander Pope

Address: Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range: $106 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander Pope 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Twickenham High Street,The Alexander Pope is a modern,fully air-conditioned hotel with a traditional pub,overlooking the River Thames. The Hotel is close to Kingston,Wimbledon,Richmond and is only a short walk from Twickenham Rugby Stadium and river Thames cruises. Strawberry Hill Station, with trains to London Waterloo every 20 minutes, is just a 5-minute walk. The Alexander Pope is a good base for visiting the sights of central London in addition to the more local and historical Strawberry Hill House,Hampton Court Palace,and the leafy Richmond Park. The hotel has 32 beautifully refurbished boutique bedrooms,some with sofa beds to accommodate families and many rooms have a balcony overlooking the river Thames A wide selection of traditional and modern dishes, including seasonal specials are available in the traditional pub which also serves Young's award winning ales, craft beers and lagers and a great choice of wine. The hotel also offers a private room with outside terrace for small meetings and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alexander Pope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Pope Hotel Twickenham
The Alexander Pope Twickenham, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing