We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, shame about the carpet”
Review of The Alexander Pope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Alexander Pope
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice room, shame about the carpet”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Pleasant hotel/pub, lovely location. Nice glass conservatory for breakfast. Room very large, let down by rather grubby carpet and a bit of a lumpy bed. Breakfast pleasant but lacking in vegetarian options, surprising in a hotel so close to the capital. The staff were friendly. On the downside, one of our wake-up calls was missed. Under-hotel parking was useful and they allowed us to leave our car there all day after we had checked out.
We did mention the negatives and our email address was taken, and we were given the impression that the manager would contact us. Unfortunately this hasnt happened.
Overally though, a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT-witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us following your stay recently and I'd like to say how sorry we are that you did not receive your wake up call on the second morning of your stay. I really do hope that this did not cause you too much inconvenience and that you were able to enjoy your day nontheless.
Our breakfast menu features a wide range of hot and cold options and we shall certainly review the vegetarian offering in light of your comments. Whereas our bedrooms are inspected daily and undergo a planned maintenance programme, we shall also be looking at the specific issues you identified in your room. Notwithstanding the points you have raised, I do hope that your stay with us was enjoyable and that the friendliness of the staff helped to contribute to your overall experience. Once again thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again when you next have a need to stay in the area.

With kind regards,

Richard Cross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    144
    46
    30
    15
See reviews for
51
145
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights very good accommodation and breakfast was great,the staff were pleasent and very helpful.We stayed in room 304 big with twin beds and a fantastic view of the river Thames,would stay again good value and an ideal position 10 min walk to Twickenham train station or 6.00 pound by taxi also bus stop outside.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel have river views 3rd floor recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the hotel soon .

With kind regards,

Richard Cross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Popes with my wife. Having met in St.Mary's 20 years ago we were very much looking forward to our 2 night stay. We were not disappointed. Prices of beer in and around Twickenham and Richmond is a bit of a shock to the system having come from the valleys!!! Hotel was excellent. Room could have done with a more detailed clean. Restaurant and staff were superb. Kirsty on check-in very friendly and dealt with my e-mail request within 5minutes of me sending it. Breakfast was superb as was restaurant food. What summed up dedication of staff was seeing the manager outside on morning of our departure with sweeping broom in hand! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We travelled down to Twickenham from Derbyshire with two 84 year old ladies. The check-in was quick and the room price was £135; the same as we had previously paid at the group's Windmill on the Common at Clapham.

We were expecting a decent breakfast but this was the most disappointing aspect, considering the fairly high room rate. We were met by a polite waiter who invited us to sit either in the conservatory or further inside out of the sun. I was surprised to are that 4 of the 6 cups on our table were either severely chipped or dirty. The juice glasses were no better.

onto the breakfast; Nobody likes a full English more than me but I just could not stomach what was served up in the metal bins. Watery scrambled egg, runny beans and mushrooms with cheap fatty sausage and bacon. I stuck to cereal and fruit juice.

Should be using quality crockery, heat lamps and quality ingredients at this price or, better still, breakfast served at the table.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich,Bolton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me an my husband and a couple of friends have just spent 2 nights at the hotel,we had a great time the Hotel is located in a great place about 500 yards from the main town centre and about a 10 minute walk from the Stoop Rugby League ground which is why we were in London to watch the WiganWarriors play London Broncos.The rooms very clean, the staff very helpful nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was very nice a good choice.We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warriorjan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
663 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Still on the expensive side for what it offers. Room was a little dated and the bathroom tiles badly stained. It is a convenient location for what I required but I wouldn't use it regularly but shop around instead.
Breakfast was fine, scrambled egg and smoked salmon but it is very much, other than the main breakfast course, help yourself.
Check out extremely slow. Staff overall friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times and I suppose we would not keep on coming back if was no good. The welcome at Reception is good, and there is a manager with a good sense of humour. He is also hands-on - we caught him sweeping the front patio one morning. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We had a family dinner for six one evening, and all the food was nicely presented and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
1.0 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
1.1 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Twickenham
Travelodge Twickenham
#5 of 6 in Twickenham
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
1.7 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander Pope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander Pope

Property: The Alexander Pope
Address: Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander Pope 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Twickenham High Street,The Alexander Pope is a modern,fully air-conditioned hotel with a traditional pub,overlooking the River Thames. The Hotel is close to Kingston,Wimbledon,Richmond and is only a short walk from Twickenham Rugby Stadium and river Thames cruises. Strawberry Hill Station, with trains to London Waterloo every 20 minutes, is just a 5-minute walk. The Alexander Pope is a good base for visiting the sights of central London in addition to the more local and historical Strawberry Hill House,Hampton Court Palace,and the leafy Richmond Park. The hotel has 32 beautifully refurbished boutique bedrooms,some with sofa beds to accommodate families and many rooms have a balcony overlooking the river Thames A wide selection of traditional and modern dishes, including seasonal specials are available in the traditional pub which also serves Young's award winning ales, craft beers and lagers and a great choice of wine. The hotel also offers a private room with outside terrace for small meetings and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Alexander Pope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Pope Hotel Twickenham
The Alexander Pope Twickenham, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing