We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous, cheap and cheerful Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sopa

Sopa
Ranked #73 of 205 Restaurants in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, cheap and cheerful Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

When you have been to this small, family run Thai cafe you feel like you have discovered a secret and are in with the crowd 'in the know'! It is fairly basic decor inside but the authentic Thai food is wonderful and really well priced. The portions are fairly small but we found that to be a bonus as we could order a few dishes to try and share. The BYO policy is a big bonus and we paid a £2 corkage charge. The staff are really friendly and the service is good. We will definitely be returning to this place, if we can get in! Do book ahead as it's popular.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better options available..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

A few people had recommended this place to us but we can't see what the fuss was all about. The food is very average and the portion sizes are really rather small. The quality of the food is ok but nothing special. The service is pretty average too. The restaurant is BYO but the food still works out as expensive and offers poor value for money.
There are much better Thai options nearby which offer much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMF73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A really nice restaurant with great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

As a local I have been using this restaurant ever since it opened and have found it to be superb.
Sopa, the owner, is a fabulous cook and a really nice lady. However, she only cooks on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, so that's when I prefer to go. I feel the food on other days is not quite so good, but very acceptable. It's always busy with a great atmosphere and booking is recommended. Service is good and friendly too. Sopa's food is sublime with fabulous flavours and we always have a great evening. No booze licence so it's a BYO job, but that helps keep the costs down. If I had to make one negative comment, it would be that the portion size is modest. One of the best restaurants in Twickenham - not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hellraiser45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We've just been introduced to Sopa-Thai and thoroughly agree that it is a gem. Very reasonably priced, excellent food and friendly service. Will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely place and bring your own!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Love this place! Lovely food, excellent service, and bring your own! Been here a number of times and I have never been disappointed. Always very busy, even in the week. Best Thai in Twickenham

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Londontraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sopa also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to Sopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing