We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the really good genuine Nepalese restaurants in the area”
Review of Gurkha's Inn

Gurkha's Inn
Ranked #33 of 207 Restaurants in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the really good genuine Nepalese restaurants in the area”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I wrote a review back in October about this excellent Nepalese restaurant but it wasn't published for some reason, so here it is again after a more recent visit.

This restaurant offers really excellent Nepalese food only matched by the other genuine Nepalese restaurant in the area, the Annapurna in Whitton. If you like hot spicy food as I do, you will love this place, especially the Gurkha's revenge mail course. It will blow your socks off.
The staff are very attentive and go the extra mile to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. The range of min courses on offer is extensive and different, which I like and will keep me coming back here. The prices are very reasonable and is even better when the 30% discount offer comes back again.
As mentioned by another reviewer, I like the fact that you can order your dishes to suit your palate with as much or a little spice as you can stand.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadKevLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Possibly the best curry in Twickenham”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Gurkha's Inn is genuine Nepalese rather than Indian/Bangladeshi owned, so the curries are a bit different. My girlfriend loves curry, and this has become her favourite for them, either eat in or take away. I say possibly the best curry locally because Amin's used to be the best, but I understand their original chef is now working at the Regal Haandi on Twickenham Green. Another really good place but further away is the Lahore Karai in Hounslow and Feltham.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank DancesWithPussycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Curry house in Twickenham”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great food, great price and some different curry dishes from Nepal
These guys know how to cook and make you come back for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Without doubt the best Indian style food in the area despite some tough competition”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been twice now and on both occasions the food was excellent, the service welcoming and efficient and atmosphere very comfortable and relaxing. We had a bunch if children of all ages with us and the staff made them feel equally welcome and helped them choose suitable dishes and suitable quantities as well !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarmorHugel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“THE BEST for miles around”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is 100% head and shoulders above the rest. Great food, with a clean and fabulously flavoured style. These people are the KINGS of curry in Twickenham, with a gorgeous restaurant, reliable takeaway service and good waiting staff. If you've not been yet - why not?!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha's Inn also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to Gurkha's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing