We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great room, shame about the bacon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Middle England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great room, shame about the bacon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here one Saturday - not a match day, I have to stress, when attending a birthday party in Richmond.

As we checked in, the concierge took our luggage, and that was the last we saw of it until we got to our room. My extra towels had been delivered, as had my foam pillow! Reception very friendly and helpful.

Bed was comfy, bathroom was spotless. The whole area was a bit souless, with very few pictures. View was double aspect though, of the surrounding area.

Seating in the living room area wasn't very comfortable, and the table would have been very small for eating a meal at. Desk area lacking in plug sockets, especially for hair drying. And trying to see what I looked like in the full length mirror was a joke - it's on the back of the wardrobe door - which is tucked into an alcove - so you can only see about half yourself.

Having no mini-bar, we ordered 2 G&Ts from room service, and these took over half an hour to arrive. We couldn't eat in the lounge bar due to an event, so had to eat in the sports bar. This place is cold and echo-y, having a mezzanine floor. We were sat at a low table on sofas - these are too far apart to have a conversation, and not good for eating at. Also very busy. Food was OK, though could have done with being warmer - and what is with serving food on planks of wood? Please, give me a plate, preferably that's been warmed through.

We used the Virgin Active spa - which is next door - no direct access from the hotel, which is a shame given that it meant I had to walk back in through reception with wet hair after my swim. No issues with the opening hours, these are quite clearly displayed on the website.

Bar was packing up when we got back from the party, so we took our drinks back to our room and tried to watch telly. This kept timing out for some reason, so we gave up.

My biggest disappointment was breakfast. I look forward to what I call Mariott bacon - american style dry cured, crispy smoked streaky - and what I got was limp back and fatty. The omelette station was a display of bowls - with some cheese, chopped ham etc and no chef - nor any instructions on how to get one made. Bread was stale, pastries were solid. Most of the food under the warmers wasn't very warm either.

I'd stay here again if I was in the area, and I guess it might be convenient if you want somewhere at the end of the line for London. I can't imagine how busy it might be on match day though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    262
    91
    29
    19
See reviews for
164
197
23
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from watching England play Scotland at twickenham, and having stayed at the marriot for 2 nights could not really fault the attention to detail all the staff had. A smiling face and a good morning from all at every turn made you feel most welcome. The rooms were big,spacious and clean, breakfast was plentiful with a good selection, and as the price for breakfast was included we felt it was worth it. Had we had to pay separately for it, being priced at £17.95 we would not of taken it, and this is where I have to agree with the last reviewer it was a little luke warm for some ingredients and for that reason only my review is not a full 5 stars for everyhing. That aside a great place to take in the atmosphere of a big rugby game.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwh30960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel more than 10 times last year, I can honestly say the standard of food was terrible, particularly breakfast. Most of the time the food was cold. I complained almost every time I stayed there, but nothing was done about it. If you stay at this hotel, eat out! The staff are really friendly and the rooms are quite comfortable, but the food really lets this place down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Superb hotel in a great setting. Excellent, professional staff. Wonderful room, overlooking the pitch. Spacious, well-stocked hotel bar. Spotlessly clean throughout. Easy stroll in to the Town centre. Marriott at its best.

Room Tip: The 'pitch view' suites are excellent......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Twickenham Marriott as we were using Marriott points and it seemed to be not too far from the main London attractions as we had Oyster cards and used public transit while we were there. However it usually took us up to an hour to get from the hotel to wherever we were going in London itself which is something to keep in mind if you are not just staying there for the rugby. As with any Marriott I've stayed in the hotel itself was good quality- comfortable beds, good service and delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianGirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just after Christmas and it turned out to be a real pleasure. Room was spacious, clean and modern with a nice bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpfull and it had various nice and comfortable seating areas . The hotel does not feel claustaphobic . There is also an excellent gym next door which is free for hotel guests. We often travel to London and don't mind staying in the suburbs. The train connection to central London is fast and there are excellent shopping areas nearby such as Richmond and Kingston. I would defibately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissyLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was recently at the Heiniken Cup game Harlequins V Connacht and stayed in this hotel for the weekend with my wife. I found the rooms very well appointed and the price was competitive. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good with a wide range to choose from, but at £14 each if booked the night before and £17 on the day is pricey. The price of drinks at the bar are also a tad on the pricey side. I did not get to avail of the leisure facilities but I understand they are excellent. I was most impressed when my wife left her iphone charger in the room, and I rang the hotel asking if they found it could they forward it on. I am glad to say I have recieved it by mail.The hotel is close to transport amenities, although if you get a black taxi from the airport (Heathrow) it will cost approx £35, the return journey by local taxi was £18. Overall very good and highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Twickenham
Travelodge Twickenham
#4 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
1.8 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#3 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Twickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Property: London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Address: 198 Whitton Road, Twickenham TW2 7BA, England (Formerly Twickenham Marriott Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Twickenham 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Marriott and Cheap Tickets so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Twickenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing