We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very comfortable and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just after Christmas and it turned out to be a real pleasure. Room was spacious, clean and modern with a nice bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpfull and it had various nice and comfortable seating areas . The hotel does not feel claustaphobic . There is also an excellent gym next door which is free for hotel guests. We often travel to London and don't mind staying in the suburbs. The train connection to central London is fast and there are excellent shopping areas nearby such as Richmond and Kingston. I would defibately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissyLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    278
    100
    32
    24
See reviews for
174
213
25
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was recently at the Heiniken Cup game Harlequins V Connacht and stayed in this hotel for the weekend with my wife. I found the rooms very well appointed and the price was competitive. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good with a wide range to choose from, but at £14 each if booked the night before and £17 on the day is pricey. The price of drinks at the bar are also a tad on the pricey side. I did not get to avail of the leisure facilities but I understand they are excellent. I was most impressed when my wife left her iphone charger in the room, and I rang the hotel asking if they found it could they forward it on. I am glad to say I have recieved it by mail.The hotel is close to transport amenities, although if you get a black taxi from the airport (Heathrow) it will cost approx £35, the return journey by local taxi was £18. Overall very good and highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in the Twickenham Marriott for two nights over New Year's Eve 2012 with my girlfriend.
When staying in London, we usually stay in a Marriott more centrally located. However, it being New Year's Eve, central London prices were exorbitant so we plumped for a stay here as the price was considerably cheaper. I'm also a rugby fan so was keen for the opportunity to visit Twickenham Stadium during our stay.
Twickenham is well connected to central London by train (trains go every 10mins or so, fast trains to London Waterloo go every 15/20mins and take around 25mins) so transport isn't really a problem. However, it is a leisurely 10min walk from Twickenham train station to the hotel.
The hotel itself was excellent. The staff were extremely courteous and the room was the usual high standard that we have come to expect from Marriott.
On the first night we stayed in a room facing outwards from the stadium so had a nice view overlooking part of south London. On the second night, I happened to mention to the receptionist in the morning that I was a rugby fan and had heard that the hotel had some rooms with views of the pitch. The receptionist amazingly then proceeded to ask me if I would like a complimentary upgrade to a room with a pitch view for our second night as the hotel was fairly quiet. Obviously I snapped her up on her offer and was delighted with a room which overlooked the Twickenham pitch!
Whilst the hotel doesn't have its own gym, hotel guests have free access to the Virgin Active gym located next door. The gym is massive and has a huge range of equipment so is definitely a big plus if you like working out.
Although in truth I will probably stay in a more centrally located hotel next time I come to London, I wouldn't hesitate to come back to the Twickenham Marriott if price/availability dictated so, and for anyone attending a game at either Twickenham Stadium or the Twickenham Stoop, this is an ideal hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a pleasure - out of the rugby into a wonderful room and such a comfortable bed!
Cannot comment on the hotel as we only used the room. We did have room service - typical high London prices, but good quality food.
Not a hotel I would come to normally but certainly after being with 82,000 people at Twickenham, it was a great escape within five minutes.....

Room Tip: Booked a twin room - large and excellent beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholap19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with friends as we were spending news years in London. The room itself was of good standard and the beds were very comfortable. The downside was that the hotel is attached to the rugby stadium which meant our windows looked out onto a wall making it feel very dark and claustrophobic. You also can't open the windows.

Wi-Fi is not included with your stay and you have to pay GBP6.00 for one hour and car parking is GBP34.00 for 24hours. For a Marriott hotel it would have been nice if you had something included in the price that you pay.

The plus side of staying in this hotel is the use of gym and pool which were fantastic.

The staff upon check in were polite and helpful.

If you’re looking for central London this is not that close but takes 20mins on the train if you’re happy to travel in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katkin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed at many other Marriotts where the leisure facilities are far better geared to a family so if that is importatnt, use another hotel. Here, there are just 2 one-hour slots per day when children under 16 can use the pool, one had already finished for the day when we checked in at 4pm so we couldn't go straight into the pool as planned and the other was next morning 11-12 when check-out is 12 pm so was rushed and not everyone was able to make it.

We booked 2 rooms and they were very clean and comfortable, the beds and pillows were especially good. It would be nice to be able to park nearer the hotel entrance but you cannot blame Marriot for the design of the otherwise impressive Twickenham stadium. Concierge Helen was kind enough to show us the 6th flor suites with a pitch view.

Room Tip: If you want to take your kids to the pool, stay in nearby Heathrow at the Marriott, Novotel or Crown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. I would say it is only an average hotel, especially for the price you are paying. Admittedly it would be very handy for the rugby stadium.
The service was not great. Poor English at reception, surly bar staff ithe upstairs bar and it took 30 minutes to get a cup of tea!
The room was clean, large and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom shower good and plenty of toiletteries.
However, there was a function on in the stadium and it was very noisy in my room until late. Unfortunately they were full, so I had to pit up with it, although they did deliver me 1/2 bottle of wine as an apologise, which was a nice gesture
Breakfast was above average buffet
This hotel was ok but I am sure there are friendlier hotels in the area with a lower price tag

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Twickenham
Travelodge Twickenham
#4 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#3 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Twickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Property: London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Address: 198 Whitton Road, Twickenham TW2 7BA, England (Formerly Twickenham Marriott Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Twickenham 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience at the London Marriott Hotel Twickenham. Located inside the world-famous Twickenham Stadium, we offer an unparalleled location to the home of England Rugby. Our hotel features spacious rooms and an array of amenities to make your visit to England comfortable and effortless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Twickenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing