We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with friends as we were spending news years in London. The room itself was of good standard and the beds were very comfortable. The downside was that the hotel is attached to the rugby stadium which meant our windows looked out onto a wall making it feel very dark and claustrophobic. You also can't open the windows.

Wi-Fi is not included with your stay and you have to pay GBP6.00 for one hour and car parking is GBP34.00 for 24hours. For a Marriott hotel it would have been nice if you had something included in the price that you pay.

The plus side of staying in this hotel is the use of gym and pool which were fantastic.

The staff upon check in were polite and helpful.

If you’re looking for central London this is not that close but takes 20mins on the train if you’re happy to travel in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katkin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    278
    100
    32
    24
See reviews for
174
213
25
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed at many other Marriotts where the leisure facilities are far better geared to a family so if that is importatnt, use another hotel. Here, there are just 2 one-hour slots per day when children under 16 can use the pool, one had already finished for the day when we checked in at 4pm so we couldn't go straight into the pool as planned and the other was next morning 11-12 when check-out is 12 pm so was rushed and not everyone was able to make it.

We booked 2 rooms and they were very clean and comfortable, the beds and pillows were especially good. It would be nice to be able to park nearer the hotel entrance but you cannot blame Marriot for the design of the otherwise impressive Twickenham stadium. Concierge Helen was kind enough to show us the 6th flor suites with a pitch view.

Room Tip: If you want to take your kids to the pool, stay in nearby Heathrow at the Marriott, Novotel or Crown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. I would say it is only an average hotel, especially for the price you are paying. Admittedly it would be very handy for the rugby stadium.
The service was not great. Poor English at reception, surly bar staff ithe upstairs bar and it took 30 minutes to get a cup of tea!
The room was clean, large and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom shower good and plenty of toiletteries.
However, there was a function on in the stadium and it was very noisy in my room until late. Unfortunately they were full, so I had to pit up with it, although they did deliver me 1/2 bottle of wine as an apologise, which was a nice gesture
Breakfast was above average buffet
This hotel was ok but I am sure there are friendlier hotels in the area with a lower price tag

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very similar to GuyJersey's experience. This is the fourth year we have stayed at the Marriott for the Harlequins big game over Christmas and the experience has varied. The rooms are clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable but they let themselves down big in the restaurant. As there was a rugby match on, we were restricted to a buffet in the evening and the choice was terrible - fatty chicken and stringy beef casserole amongst other unappetising treats. They didn't replenish the cold meats until you asked them too and when they did it took them about ten minutes and the meat was tasteless. It was if someone had just nipped down to the local convenience store and picked up a packet of 'value' salami. The restaurant wasn't busy (now I know why) but the staff ignored us and didn't take our drinks order or clear away our dishes and were focussed on setting up for breakfast so we had the constant clink of coffee cups and cutlery being placed on tables. When a trolley was wheeled through the middle of the restaurant which made enough noise to wake the dead, I finally complained (and I am not one to complain). Took a while for the duty manager to appear but when she did, she listened to our complaints and apologised. To be fair, I don't think it was the staff's fault, I just don't think they had been trained properly. At breakfast the next day, the restaurant was packed but I could have been staying in a different hotel! The breakfast buffet was superb with everything perfectly cooked and it was arguably one of the best breakfast's I've had in a hotel. The staff were very attentive - what a difference 12 hours makes and, no doubt, a polite complaint. I know it's difficult to cater on a match day but they've done it better in previous years. We'll stay here again next year but will eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin210667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We ate in the restaurant the night before an international rugby match. We didn’t stay at the hotel. This review is about the restaurant.

THE GOOD
Great location in Twickenham Stadium.

THE BAD
There were only 3 tables occupied so they weren’t exactly busy. But the service was really painfully slow and the staff were unfriendly to the point of rudeness. The standard of English was very poor and we had difficulty making ourselves understood. The choice on the menu was very limited and not very impressive. The portions were small and the food was lacklustre and nothing at all special.

THE UGLY
Starters were around £10 and main courses over £20-30. It was very overpriced for what it was. At least 30-50% more than I would normally expect to pay for that standard of food.

THE VERDICT
Service slow and surly, food unimpressive and overpriced. We wouldn’t eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frivvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Let me start by saying the staff is top notch! Numerous staff members went out of their way to help us make the best of our stay. Giving personal recommendations for good eats, shopping, and good conversation. The rooms are clean and highly modern, which made me feel like a jet-setter! The morning breakfast buffet had a traditional English breakfast, which the eggs & sausage were divine! The buffet had everything from oatmeal with all the fixings to thickly sliced bacon and creamy scrambled eggs. There is a bus stop right out front the hotel, which we caught every morning to take us to the train station and then on to the subway. This hotel was about 15-20 mins. away from some great sights in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stroller_Snob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed there with my son for the England v South Africa game. Location is of course perfect for matches or concerts at Twickenham, as it's generally a nightmare getting away from matches with long queues at the station and 80,000 odd people all looking to get home. I thought the hotel managed the balance between residents and supporters coming into the bar to drink and meet up well and the residents only areas were good. Starting with the good points, the room (a standard double/ twin) was modern and spacious enough and the bathroom pretty good. The bed however was one of the best I've slept in anywhere. Really, really good quality linen, under mattress, quality pillows and a decent size. Excellent.

Now for the not so great points; they charge for Internet which is unacceptable in my view in such a hotel £240 for the night exclusive of breakfast. No mini bar - there was a fridge but it wasn't stocked. On match days they restrict the bar /room service menu but then hike up all the prices!! We had room service for lunch (quick response time) . Asked at reception at 2pm on way out for plates etc to be cleared, 4 hours later on our return they were still there. No turn down service so the teas and coffee we had in our room at lunch time were not replenished in the evening. Food (room service and the first floor bar) was ok, nothing exceptional and a fairly basic offering. If weather dry, you're probably better off walking into Twickenham (10 - 15 minutes) to a restaurant.

There's a decent fitness centre next door with a pool which I understand is free for guests.

It was surprisingly unrefined around the edges but the room and location probably made up for that if you are simply there for a match or concert and I would stay there again but with expectations adjusted.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in the 40's (ie 240) can be quite a corridor hike from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Twickenham
Travelodge Twickenham
#4 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#3 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Twickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Property: London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Address: 198 Whitton Road, Twickenham TW2 7BA, England (Formerly Twickenham Marriott Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Twickenham 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience at the London Marriott Hotel Twickenham. Located inside the world-famous Twickenham Stadium, we offer an unparalleled location to the home of England Rugby. Our hotel features spacious rooms and an array of amenities to make your visit to England comfortable and effortless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Twickenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing