We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local”
Review of Diners Delight

Diners Delight
Ranked #12 of 71 Restaurants in Teddington
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an independent cafe/restaurant, operating in Teddington since 1991, one of the oldest establishment in the town.WE are famous for our all day English Breakfast, mezzes, grills, salads, omelettes, special ciabattas, wraps,paninis, home made dishes,some Turkish speciality dishes and lot more...We have probably one of the largest breakfast menu available for miles as one of my customer told me`I had never seen such a breakfast menu in my whole life!!` there is lots of vegetarian options tooo...We use FREE RANGE EGG, stock our local butcher A.G Miller`s handmade Cumberland sausages too..We also use Fair Trade luxury ITALIAN AROMA COFFEE Beans which our customers do love:) We are licensed, so in a hot day you can have your lunch with ice cold beer or wine too!it`s a family run business and we love our local, our customers...The best part of our work is to see our guest leaving the shop HAPPY and coming back::)SInce 2009, we also launched an evening restaurant MEZZE REAL CHARCOAL GRILL at the same address,WEDNESDAY to SATURDAY evenings from 5pm.We have a very good selection of hot and cold mezzes, delicious , tender kebabs, sea food, vegetarian speciality dishes, salads and serve our home made flat breads and complementary BALLOON Bread.Kids are very welcome and there is a kids menu too...There is a take away option or delivery in Teddington as well.We also have a BELLY DANCE performance first Wednesday of each month and we cater for parties or you can have birthday parties or Christmas parties at our premises.Little bit of a trivia:)Scenes from the first episode of Simon Peggs cult-hit comedy series Spaced were filmed in the cafe – where Tim and Marsha’s friendship blossoms and they decide to rent a flat together.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely local”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We live about a 10 min walk from diners delight and have come here for breakfasts lunches and dinners over the last 6 years. The hospitality is faultless. You're greeted like a long lost friend and that extend to when you see the owners outside of the diner. Service is prompt and in 6 years an order has never been wrong. The Turkish food in the evenings is also beautiful and the belly dancer that they have occasionally is a fun but of entertainment. If you're a fan of spaced, this is where Tim and Daisy met.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RussandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FILARS, Owner at Diners Delight, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your great comments;:)) Its always lovely to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    24
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Turkish food with great Turkish hospitality!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We usually go to Diners Delight for breakfast or dinner. The menemem (scrambled eggs) are very authentic and filling. The service is wonderful and the staff are full of smiles and so friendly. We will give it a try in the evening sometime.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMillerChicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FILARS, Owner at Diners Delight, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
thank you very much for your lovely comments::))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Consistently 'DELICIOUS' authentic Turkish”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Lovely,cosy,modest and nice atmosphere ! l go there with my kids and friends.Never disappointent!
I was there last wednesday with friends and had a fantastic night. One of our friend came from Canada, Baloon bread and garlic butter was a big suprise for her. we had a big sellection of starters followed by juicy,juicy,juicy tender kebaps (porsions are huge ) and Yummy yummy Baklava couldn't share it!! After all they served us freshly home made lemonete and watermelon juice!! Canadian friend totaly amazed great service and great VALUE
Don't need to go anywhere, personally advise to everyone who is looking for a fantastic food !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FILARS, Owner at Diners Delight, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments:))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consistently below average. Poor vfm, dry overcooked meat - AVOID!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Have been to this restaurant a few times over the past year - and have held off writing a review in the hope things would improve. However the experience has been consistently mediocre / poor.

The starters are miserly in size and relatively bland - hummus very poor quality (and not reallyTurkish), the aubergine not very inspiring. The only good thing is the fresh baked bread though on both occasions it came quite badly burnt in places.

Now whilst I can excuse poor starters - there is absolutely no excuse for serving overcooked - dry and tough kebabs. The chicken pieces as dry as (well best not to go there), and the lamb which should be tender and juicy again hard, dry and chewy / uninspiring.

Can't even give them the benefit of the doubt since both times the places was empty (no more than one other table).

The atmosphere is totally lacking and the place is freezing in winter / spring.

I would personally avoid this place and go to Cappadocia in Kingston any day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WJOSHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such lovely staff ”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Great food great staff great welcoming great service quick service outside seating,the staff even charged my phone for me as I had no battery prices are very reasonable defiantly come back again ohh and there home made lemonade amazing

Helpful?
1 Thank Gema91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FILARS, Owner at Diners Delight, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
thank you very much::) you are very welcome any time for your charger::)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diners Delight also viewed

Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
 
Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
 

Been to Diners Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing