We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
manchester, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Hi,
We've stayed at the Park hotel in Teddington on quite a few occasions and it's a great location given the close proximity to the train station and SW London generally. However on this visit, having spent the Sunday evening out in Richmond with friends, we discovered that as the main bar was shut they are unable (unwilling) to provide any after hours drinks for residents. Bear in mind this was 10.40pm on a Sunday night, we weren't looking to stay up all night and our request was denied with a flat 'no, the tills have been shut, sorry'. It all seemed a bit odd as the night porter was about to go on duty so you'd think he'd be able to do it. We then decided we would tell them about our disappointment the next morning on checkout when we were asked the usual 'how was your stay' and received a less than enthusiastic response. So when we said that we'd stay in future at the Popes Grotto Hotel in Twickenham, we were actually ignored. Ah and there was me thinking hoteliers were struggling. My mistake! So just bear that in mind when you chose the Park, the lodge is comfortable but service is not very good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    143
    128
    72
    43
See reviews for
103
158
30
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

I work regularly at Teddington Studios and stay in this hotel. The rooms in the modern annexe are better than the main Victorian building and also quieter. The hotel has a good reputation in the area and the restaurant/bar is busy at weekends.

Breakfast is excellent with waitress service to your table in the lovely dining room. Evening meals very good and delivered to room if required.

The desk staff and all staff are very friendly and helpful and did not hesitate when I asked for a late check out and refused any suggestion of paying extra.

The only bad experience I ever had was when I stayed during a big rugby weekend. It got quite noisy with celebrating Welshmen.
Good car park for those driving.

  • Liked — Modern hotel with friendly staff and old fashioned charm and service
  • Disliked — A room in the main building was a bit noisy during a sat night stay
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgefamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

Showing signs of needing a makeover! The bedroom was fairly neutral but reasonably well equipped (even though you needed to have a neck like an Owl to watch the TV) The bathroom again was quite nicely put together but hideously cold! No central heating, no double glazing and only an inadequate heated towel rail. The tiled floor was like ice! Well i suppose it was cheaper than heading to one of those Ice Hotels! but only just- at £148 for a double, one night B&B! We thought it over priced.
The carpet throughout was very worn and neglected. Some corridors smelt horribly of smoke where "staff" rooms are.
The saving grace was a really good Breakfast, cooked to order and far nicer than the typical "hotplate" approach. We were dissappointed by the service/ response when we mentioned the Cold room on checkout. We were not perhaps expecting a discount but something more structured than a slovenly "Ughh, sorry" and thats it. Over all , i would not rush back unless its hot and you fancy chilling in the bathroom.

  • Liked — Breafast
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 43DIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Teddington hotels

Colchester, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

We liked the live jazz at lunchtime on Sunday, but found the service a little erratic, and were not pleased to be charged an extra £2 for sufficient bread to go with the pate starter. The lamb was of poor quality and we had to send it back to be cooked more thoroughly. The beef lacked gravy, which again we had to ask for. Our previous experiences at the Park were all good, but with prices at West End levels and a wide choice of rival venues in Teddington, I suspect we will not be returning there any time soon.

  • Liked — Diabled access was user friendly
  • Disliked — See restaurant review
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanghayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

I went to university locally and took my hubby back there to meet mates and go to a birthday party. A few of my mates had jobs at this hotel and so it was one I knew of. We booked online and paid £75 for the room with breakfast.

Check in was swift. The room was lovely: clean, large and quiet. Beds were really comfy and we could've stayed in there all day if we'd not had places to go and things to see :)

Can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — The large and spacious bedroom and lovely bar attached to the hotel.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VibsHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

we needed somewhere to stay as we were going to see the Bon Jovi concert at Twickenham .
Someone I know had recommened this hotel to me .
We booked direct with the hotel and paid 90 pounds per room with breakfast included .
the reception area is in a funny place and i feel more needs to be make it a outstanding reception area .
The staff were fine and polite but not overbearing
Our room was more than adequate for a nights stay .
It was clean , and airy , we were on the ground floor in the annexe .
breakfast was ok ish in a lovely resturant .
the only time i would come back here is if we booked another concert and would use again because of the location .
All in all , a comfortable crash pad

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — reception area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbys
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel before back in Dec 07 and we were more than happy with our stay this time. The hotel is really nicely decorated and the staff are friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant for Easter Sunday lunch and the food was beautifully presented and very tasty. It is excellent value for money and the rooms are both modern and very clean. We would definately recommend this hotel as an alternative to staying in central London as the train station is a two minute walk away and trains travel directly into London.

  • Liked — the decor of the hotel / the food/ the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teddington
0.7 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
2.1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 19 Park Road, Teddington TW11 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Teddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Teddington, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing