We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wont be returning”

The Tide End Cottage Pub
Ranked #22 of 70 Restaurants in Teddington
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wont be returning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

recently moved to the area and looking for a new local pub we visited the tide end today. Staff couldn't have been less interested or engaged. No genuine warmth or interest.... wasn't busy at all so would have expected more. Had some basic food and while it wasn't bad - it was nothing special...but the way it was served...asking for sauces to go with the food was akin to asking for the elgin marbles....as if i dared to be so rude! and two of us sharing food also had to share one knife and fork and one napkin....really poor and wont be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    44
    15
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good value special food deals in the week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

There are some very good special food deals during the week here which represent excellent value. The food itself was average. The pub itself has a real charm and is has a very traditional English Inn feel about it. The staff were very welcoming.There is a small ouside patio at the rear of the pub. The Tied End Cottage is only one minute from the River Thames and the bridge over the river. Nice view from here of the weir. Parking can be a problem here so it may be best to park in Ham (free Parking) and walk on the paved path accros the green land and the bridge to get here. it will take about 5 minutes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandAnneReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value for money for a pub next to Thames river

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Szerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice pub, friendly and a lovely menu, the food was very good, and had good beer and wine.

Worth a visit at any time

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very long wait for food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Visited this pub restaurant on way to teddington studio's a short distance away and will not be returning.

To be fair the food was very good but the organisation and service leaves a lot to be desired..

When I went to the bar to order food I was warned there was a 45 minute wait for food so I was prepared to wait but in the end I had to go and check they actually had the order in the kitchen.

Several tables that were vacant when we arrived were receiving meals before us but not necessarily all the food they had ordered, a single table would receive some of their meals then have to wait a very long time, and after other tables served, before receiving any more.

One table next to our were complaining they had been there for two hours and had only received starters !

When we finally did get our food it was excellent. It's just a shame we had to bolt it down as we had to leave to get to the studio.

The other annoyance was that they said they didn't serve hot drinks on a Sunday as they were too busy, yet some tables were having hit drinks seved to the table.

A return visit is unlikely.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tide End Cottage Pub also viewed

Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
 

Been to The Tide End Cottage Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing