We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing this time”

Imperial China Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 70 Restaurants in Teddington
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Usually very reliable and consistently good food and service but on our last visit we were quite disappointed with the poor service.
Admittedly it was a Saturday evening and the Army/Navy match had recently finished at Twickenham but that was predictable and should not have led to an hour's wait between courses!
The food was great when it did come but the meal was just too dragged out without any feedback on timings.
We complained to the manager and did not pay service charge. He explained that they had a high number of take-away orders which caused the problems.
Maybe they ned to question what business they are really in?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antipodesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    15
    7
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Chinese restaurant is a real find. The food is excellent and very good value - the portions are generous, the prices reasonable and the menu is extensive, including regular favourites as well as more interesting dishes. The decor is also very nice with lacquer panels all round the room which were apparently imported specially from China.

As others have commented, they do a fantastic dim sum menu at the weekend which is very popular and the restaurant is always packed with Chinese families, which is, in my view, in itself an excellent endorsement of the quality of the food.

We use this restaurant regularly both to eat in and to order takeaways, which they will deliver and are always as good as the food served in the restaurant. Yes it does get very busy and sometimes you do have to wait for a table, even when you have booked, but in my view it is worth the slight inconvenience for what is top quality Chinese food.

My only word of warning if you do book on a busy day (or for a large group), is to check that they are not planning to put you in the back room! It is dark (no windows) and in the summer, uncomfortably hot. Added to which you feel very cut off from the main restaurant, which can mean you get forgotten about when it comes to service.

Other than that, a really excellent Chinese, easily the match of anything you would find in central London and very good value. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum outside of London”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family come to this restaurant a lot for dim sum.

My family is Chinese, and we have been to several dim sum restaurants, both local and further afield, but we always come to the Imperial China when my parents are over from Hong Kong.

The food is well cooked, the staff are friendly and it is very well priced, especially compared to Chinatown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“above average dim sum. definitely worth visiting if you live in sw london.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon. The place was rammed. We had a reservation but weren't seated for a further 20 mins. It's very popular on Sundays, especially from 12pm-3pm, and this was expected. They were very understaffed, given the amount of people they had in the place, and it took a long time for us to be attended, to order, and for requests to be carried out.
They have a simple and quick ordering system, where you choose items and quantities off a dim sum list, and can order any extras from the main menu. The dim sum was all fresh and for the most part very tasty, although the list was somewhat limited. Also, a member of our group was vegetarian; she found her options to be very limited, and her food wasn't that great.
all in all though, we went at the peak time on the busiest day, so the service was as expected. the food was good, and value for money. I would recommend going, just perhaps on a different day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharmVara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal tonight, The staff are so friendly and very attentive.

Would 100% come back again very soon :-)
Thank you guys for such wonderful service

X

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial China Restaurant also viewed

Hampton, Greater London
 
Hampton, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 

Been to Imperial China Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing