We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bottega

La Bottega
Ranked #29 of 70 Restaurants in Teddington
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Twickenham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent little Cafe”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A friend that I hadn't seen for ages recommended that we met in this little cafe. It is wonderful, small, but the staff make you feel really welcome and the home made cakes are superb. We didn't stay for lunch but I could see some of the food being delivered and it looked and smelt tremendous.
I will be going back and trying the lunch menu and the coffee is to die for!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and his sister discovered this cafe by chance and we have been back several times since. We are particuaulry excited about the quality of the food and that for £5.50 you can have a very well made, strong coffee, freshly prepared sandwich with a wide choice of contents and a generous portion of homemade cake, again with a wide selection. If you wish to take it away it is £4.50.
There is not a large amount of space in this cafe and to make the most of it some seating is communal although not so much that you are on top of your fellow diners.
Despite being always busy I have not encountered and rushed atmosphere in there but rather a calm bustling. It is best not to go if you are short of time but ready to have a relaxed lunch. The wait is not unnecessarily long but if you want fast food, this is not the place for you. It is more the cafe to go to with the newspaper of to relax and chat over your food, enjoying the fresh flavours presented to you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love my lovely La Bottega”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

once you get to know them they are just lovely. They dont have to be perfect - their imperfectness makes them appealing. A nice change to the standard food chain ! One thing is always good and that is the cake and the coffee!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smurf4t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
318 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Deal of the town, 5 quid for full lunch with pudding!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Charmingly compact, owners kind and obliging. Had full sandwich on absolutely some of the best bread in UK...drink, and pudding. Five pounds. Egad. Sandwich was delicious too!
Akin to having lunch at a friends.
Pret....if this went viral...?
Remember...very small sit down space. Leave buggy outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie_Oakshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service and price!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

La Bottega has only been here a couple of years but it seems like forever! It has become a home from home for many Teddington Locals including myself. It's often bustling and full to to the brim with regulars who appreciate good coffee and are working their way through the selection of amazing home-cooked cakes and treats (Roberto is a cake genius!). It's no wonder it gets so busy - the cake and coffee prices are amongst the lowest in Teddington yet the quality is amongst the highest. The lunch deal is also extremely competitive at £4.50 for any sandwich from their menu, tea/coffee and cake.

Add to that friendly service, a deli counter with decent cheese and cooked and uncooked meats, and shelves packed with Italian goods to make that perfect pasta and you're on to a winner here. It's a good sign that so many Italians who live in the area visit here regularly - to eat in and also to pick up quality Italian food and ingredients that aren't that easy to find all in one place nearby.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatWaldopepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega also viewed

Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 

Been to La Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing