We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality French food at a reasonable price.”

La Cloche at The Lion
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Teddington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Post code is TW11 9DN
1 review
“Good quality French food at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have been here on several occasions now after moving locally and consider it one of our favourite restaurants. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrCooge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    53
    20
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The fixed price lunch menu is incredibly good value, at less than £10 for three courses. Obviously the choice that can be offered at this price is limited to a few more basic dishes - but my carrot & coriander soup, minced beef patty with fried egg and chips, and rhubarb crumble were all quite acceptable. The bread was also above average. Service was a little slow, and the place is so deceptively large that we felt a bit lost in the large dining area, even though there were several other tables occupied. Not really much like eating lunch in a small Parisian cafe, and would only rank as average overall were it not for the price. Parking a nightmare, but easily reached by public transport, so why drink and drive?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A Teddington nous sommes en France”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You rarely find a "French" restaurant in England that actually makes you feel you are in France: La Cloche, or The Lion as it was when it was just a pub, is that rarity. All the dishes on the menu have French names (though with English translations), the wine is French (hurrah!) the delicious bread on your table, sliced the French way, is constantly replenished, the food is delicious, and many of the serving staff, including le patron, are French. And where else can you have 3 lovely courses for around £12 (other than in France)?
Yes, you've guessed: we loved it, and plan to be back there next time we are in the area. Perhaps we can make it to one of their cinema evenings, or music nights, or quiz nights. This place has so much going for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The house wine is very nice, and there is a good atmosphere. I had the steak for my main meal and it was very very good, the cheese dessert was also very tasty. Would definitely recommend! We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sulli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fixed Price Menu Great Value”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a fixed price menu in the evening at 12.95 for two courses. Superb pate and a cheese tarlet for starters. The mains were extremely good too. This pub ihas a great atmosphere and you feel very at ease. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotlander62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cloche at The Lion also viewed

Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to La Cloche at The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing