We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to have gone”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Borgo Ristorante - CLOSED

Al Borgo Ristorante
Price range: $18 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family-run Al Borgo offers casual fine dining, specialising in northern Italian cuisine. The ambience is warm, intimate and unpretentious and all guests are welcomed with genuine Italian hospitality. While buying only the finest quality of ingredients, including meat and fresh fish, our Chefs make all desserts, bread and pasta in-house on a daily basis. As one of only three Italian restaurants in the London Borough of Richmond, we are incredibly proud to be listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide UK & Ireland 2015. Enjoy "al fresco" dining on our pretty patio during the summer months!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Glad to have gone”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Often walked past and not been in. It is never exceptionally busy however that is quite refreshing. The food is very fresh and not overwhelming portion size. A great, authentic Italian and nice staff. Cliental tends to be 35+ in age. Not cheap, but not too pricey - they do a good set menu Mon - thurs for those watching the pennies more. I went with my father but look forward to going again with my husband.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cam0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    21
    6
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not sure I would suggest you borgo”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Although the food here is Ok,the general feel is a bit like a an off-season tourist venue going through the motions.

There are better places nearby.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PominSydney_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We ate here for my husband's birthday and had a delightful experience. The food and service were exceptional and the owners made my husband's birthday special with their friendly service and attention. Couldn't fault the food - I had the scallop starter and sea bass main course - both were tasty and light and the house wines were very good too. We will be back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guildfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
“Stylish Italian - Best in Teddington”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I lived in Teddington for the past five years, but only recently discovered Al Borgo. It's down the side street, so not obvious, but well worth finding. I've eaten there twice in the last few months - most recently last night. It was a Monday, and very quiet. In fact, having arrivrd quite late, 8:16, we were the last diners to leave.

The service was attentive, but still very relaxed, I think that the owners of the restaurant. We started with a Carpaccio beef on rocket and a mozzarella & tomato. Classically simple dishes, executed with flare – like using warmed cherry tomatoes, which made a difference. Ingredients were clearly well sourced, as they were flavourful.

Main courses of ravioli – we both chose the same – Were excellent, and a strawberry & pistachio tiramisu took me back to my childhood as it really tasted of strawberries.

With a little wine & water the bill came to about £30 each. Very reasonable indeed for the quality of food and surroundings - making Al Borgo our favourite restaurant in Teddington by quite a long way.




    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Expert-Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Empty restaurant, I wonder why!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I recently went to lunch on a Saturday at Al Borgo. It was my first time.. My friend who lives in Teddington had read great revues about Al Borgo and mentioned, after viewing Al Borgo's website, that they had a set menu.

We arrived at the restaurant at 1pm on saturday and were quite surprised to find the restaurant empty..we were in two minds whether to go in..esp. after we'd walked past a lot restaurants in Broad Street that were full! Surprise surprise.. the set menu wasn't available on a Saturdays (this needs to be stipulated on their website)..

During the 2 hours we were in the restaurant, we were their only customers. Our meal came to just under £85. I am sure if Al Borgo extended the set menu to Saturdays this restaurant would be full, like all the other restaurants in Teddington.

The food was average, but pricey.. service was excellent, but then again, we were the only two people in the entire restaurant during lunch time. Would I go back.. not really! this restaurant is nothing to shout about!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bunial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Borgo Ristorante also viewed

Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing