We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building”
Review of The Lensbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lensbury
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great building”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Lensbury looks so grand on the exterior, so it's a little disappointing when you enter the main reception which is tiny and packed if there's more than a few people. However, the staff are friendly and welcoming.

Room was a nice double and kids room was next door, but their room was a little on the small side. Shower not adjustable which for a 6 feet plus is not ideal.

Breakfast was buffet style, but excellent quality. In fact, it was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in a long time - plenty of selection, good quality produce and piping hot. The dining area is pleasant, and looks out onto the Thames and gardens.

The hotel is well located for nearby Teddington, but would be too far to walk with luggage, so taxi or driving is recommended. There's ample free parking space at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamrt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your stay with us in November. We are delighted to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and the breakfast one of the best you've experienced. We are fortunate in our location too, on the banks of the river Thames with pleasant grounds and gardens next to Teddington Lock. It is an ideal base for visiting Hampton Court, Richmond and Kingston, with a tow path along the river bank for a pleasant walk. The bedrooms at The Lensbury have all been refurbished fairly recently so they are all clean and comfortable with fresh decor. Some are a little on the small side compared with other hotels, but perfectly adequate for a pleasant stay.

You may be interested to learn that we will be undergoing a refurbishment of our ground floor reception, bar and loung areas in the New Year and so the small reception area you refer to will be completely transformed.
Thank you again for passing on your feedback, it is important for us and helps us to improve. Please come back and stay at The Lensbury again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    177
    86
    26
    14
See reviews for
86
132
15
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you are staying at the Lensbury please check you are in the Main Hotel and not the Mews main Hotel excellent great restaurant and bars. The Mews are ok modern flatpack 'motelish looking but nothing like the main building situated 100yds away and don't look the part

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 246Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. We are sorry to hear you were a little disappointed with your accommodation in the Mews. This area is due for refurbishment very soon and I am sure if you come back and visit us again next year, you will appreciate the difference. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night as we were attending a family celebration nearby. Our accommodation was in the Mews as there were no rooms available in the main hotel. On arrival we were checked in at the reception by a nice young lady but unfortunately we were unable to understand her very well, however we made our way out to the Mews building and found our room on the top floor, on opening the door we were so disappointed as the room looked tired and drab. There were staines on the carpet and also some on one of the bed throws. The furniture was very dated and cheap looking and bathroom very small with hardly any room to put ones toiletries.

On the plus side there were tea & coffee making facilities and the twin beds were wide ones but the pillows were hard slabs of something very uncomfortable and worst of all mine smelled sweaty which was unpleasant.
If I had been staying any longer than one night I would have complained and asked to be moved as for a few pounds short of £200 a room we expected much better. We have stayed in better rooms in the former Eastern Block hotels, in fact we may as well have stayed at the nearby Travel Lodge for far less money and I am sure the rooms would have been no worse.

In the main hotel building there were photos of sporting personalities who had stayed there including various Wimbledon Champions, one thing I am sure of is that they would not have been given the room that we were allocated. It may be that the rooms in the main building are more up to date so I cannot comment on them.

I like to give credit where due and we found the staff to be very pleasant & helpful even though some were difficult to understand.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 636 in the Mews Drab, dated, stained carpets and tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your accommodation in the Mews. Many of our guests do actually prefer to stay in these rooms as they are quieter than the main building and offer direct access to our leisure facilities, along with complimentary self-service laundry facilities and a separate lounge area.

At The Lensbury we pride ourselves on a five year rolling refurbishment programme and invest a vast amount of money into the 171 rooms that we have. By the end of April all of our rooms, including the Mews, will have been refurbished within the last three years.

I hope that you will return to experience the extensive refurbishments in the near future.

All of our housekeeping items should be of a high standard, and we would encourage any guests to call the 24 hour reception for a replacement of any items that do not meet this standard.

All feedback is valuable and helps us improve our offering to our guests, so thank you for taking the time to submit your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I enjoyed Lensbury and will be back. Unfortunately my visit took me away from the club and so I had time to see what was available but not a lot of time to enjoy the facilities, other than 2 visits to the pool and sauna. Pool and sauna was very good but felt the changing rooms could do with an update. My room was clean and functional, rather than hotel glamour. It suited me fine, a notorious light sleeper I slept well there, bed and linen was good. I appreciated the tea/coffee/hot chocolate facilities. Loved the idea of the cooling fan and iron and ironing board, but room had bathrobe to use and spare towels in wardrobe. Bathroom was a nice size and perfectly adequate. I was totally happy with that. My room overlooked the terrace roof and air con units but despite sleeping with window open a little, I had no problem with noise, occasionally I heard an aeroplane. Beyond the roof the trees, grounds and river were visible. Buffet breakfast was excellent and in my 5 night stay got served very promptly with tea every day. It was nice to be able to buy a sandwich or a meal throughout the day but the Lensbury could benefit from a better selection of main meals other than things like pizzas. I like the idea of the the salad counter. Eating is informal, which I liked. Prices however, were good. The bar is not very bar like with its TV screens showing sports, more sports and social club rather than a bar in a normal sense. I had no problems with it but I can see others perhaps would. The grounds are level and along the river, with nice walks. Also wonderfully accessible was the a Thames tow path, great for walking running and photography. I had meetings in London itself on a couple of days. The shuttle worked well but also the station and the high street was just a 10 to 15 minute walk. Trains were very frequent. Overall, despite it feeling more a sports club than a hotel, I was more than happy.

Room Tip: Maybe upgrade to room with air conditioning in summer months but I was happy with my second floor, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about The Lensbury following your recent stay. Although you did not have a lot of time here, it is nice to hear you enjoyed use of the pool and sauna and that your room was comfortable and quiet allowing you a good night’s sleep. We are very fortunate in our location here at The Lensbury with direct access to the river Thames from our gardens. It makes for a pleasant, leisure break with tow path walks to Kingston and Richmond, close proximity to Hampton Court and Kew Gardens. Our bar and Terrace Conservatory restaurant are very popular with our members and guests alike offering an informal and relaxed environment to enjoy our selection of reasonably priced drinks and meals.

We do hope you will be back to visit us again soon and thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Let us be clear - this is a private member’s sports club and conference centre with rooms - it is not a hotel with associated guest facilities in the accepted sense. Without doubt, the `Thameside’ location is perfect; the grounds are stunning; the facade imposing and the facilities described by the smart and effective PR do look impressive.

Now to reality. I booked (via Bxxxxxx.com) a hugely discounted double room for a weekend break advertised as the last one available. It was not and the in-house discounted price would have been cheaper! The room was small, the double bed was tiny (4’?) and hard as nails (thin contract mattress?) and although generally well equipped with tea/coffee facilities, iron & board and fan - the storage space for 2 was inadequate. A desk type structure intruded into the room; there was not enough drawer space and a just adequate wardrobe. The TV is small but does pull out a little from the fitted recess so can be seen from the desk - but do not expect to read text. The shower room is adequate in scope, albeit small, but is poorly ventilated by an inadequate ceiling fan. Consequently, the small bedroom turns into a sauna fairly quickly because the tiny room was unbearably hot. Opening the curtains gave a view of the ground floor roof and air con plant; opening the window gave an additional sensory experience of said plant! Only one bath sheet was supplied and when we asked for another - it was duly provided; unfortunately, the previous night’s towels were not replaced so the net effect was the same. The shower was cleaned and bed made up but the used plastic bottles were left in situ and un-touched. Banging doors, paper-thin walls and ‘some rowdy rugby types’ coupled with some of the above did not make for a restful night’s sleep. Imagine either University/College campus rooms or modern military block accommodation and that is the standard double in the ‘Clubhouse Wing’.

Because this is a club, it is full of members and family, those locals who pay a day rate fee, and ‘other types’ who find the bar attractive in the evening. The whole ambience reflects this: there were many children and adults in various sports attire throughout the day giving a busy impression to the place; moreover, the bar has all the feel of a downtown sports bar: large TVs showing football with lots of locals and members consuming huge amounts of alcohol and bar food. The bar was very busy - consequently service was slow and inattentive. I ordered a half - got a pint after the floor manager prodded the staff to serve me. Anoraks, shell suits, rugby tops and ‘Essex dress’ pervaded. There is a small siting area set off the bar en route the ‘restaurant’ but it is not adequate - it is more of a transit lobby. There is nowhere for the ‘hotel guest’ to take time out. As for the restaurant, the buffet breakfast is very good and whilst there is an attempt to provide different eating areas in one location - the food is the same. It is standard café restaurant fare that is well-cooked and reasonable value.

The sports facilities and other outdoors amenities (play park etc.) looked good although the 25 m pool (housed in separate building) was restricted both by session and lane by member’s activities. Think of a dated public swimming pool & changing facilities used by the local school.

On the upside, reception was more than helpful and accommodating - but English as a second language for some staff on the desk and throughout the hotel is clearly a problem. That is probably why they looked so miserable!

This place is what it is and if you know what you are getting and you expect a Corporate Conference package, a private party in imposing surroundings or just a David Lloyd type gym experience with the kids who will love the facilities and café bar food then I am sure you will not be disappointed. Just do not think it is a luxury hotel on the banks of the Thames aimed solely at ensuring ‘hotel’ guests’ satisfaction.

I was greatly disappointed both in my expectations and the standards; I will go elsewhere as I am a regular visitor to the area. If I wanted this type experience I would have gone to the Kingston Travel Lodge and booked a day at the David Lloyd gym up the road.

I had flown in from the Middle East for a special family gathering but was told that the ‘restaurant’ did not book tables as the ‘members’ had decided that was not what they wanted. It is clear where this establishment focuses its guest emphasis.

Room Tip: Book elswhere if it's a hotel you're after
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100DAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and would like the opportunity to respond to some of the issues you raise. We will therefore pass this review to our Hotel General Manager who will reply to you separately. It would be helpful to know which room you stayed in - can you please advise?

Many thanks for taking the trouble to give us your feedback, it is always appreciated and helps us to better our service and offering to our guests.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel so that we could travel to near by Twickenham for the Rugby. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and we have made a promise to ourselves to return in the summer months so that we can appreciate the grounds even more.
The room we had was fine perfectly clean and a very good shower. I think we may ask for a different room next time as there was a slight hum from the AC/Vents from the buildings below our window to be fair it really wasn't a huge issue but did spoil what would have been a fantastic outlook from the window so for that reason a different position in the building would be nice even if it means paying a little more to upgrade
We found the Bar area a little cold and thought it would have been more comfortable warmer for the time of year. The restaurant was a better temperature and we found the food OK not fine dining by any means more like good pub grub but fresh hot and reasonably priced.
Breakfast is buffet style as are a lot of places which was fine. We found that the service from the staff on the Sunday was much better than the Saturday morning, my husband had to go in hunt of his coffee that didn't get brought to us on the first request but that may have just been the luck of the draw there certainly seemed more staff on duty on the Sunday.
A slight side note that we felt that as a courtesy the hotel could have mentioned before we left that the Railway Station was closed due to engineering works. We walked to the Station from the Hotel and then had to bus to Clapham Junction. We accept this is beyond the hotels control but we feel as strangers to the area advise from the hotel would have been nice as to what happens when the stations shut. We were fortunate that another passenger explained when we got to the station what was happening with a replacement bus service.
But really liked the hotel it has a very nice comfortable friendly feeling. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank april2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and found your room to be comfortable and the location good for your requrements.

We are sorry to hear that your breakfast experience on Saturday was a little less than perfect with the staff somewhat slow to help - we will make sure we address this with some training. I also apologise that we were unable to advise about your train cancellation. This should be something our reception team are aware of and can pass on to our guests. We aim to improve this in future.

I do hope you come back to stay at The Lensbury next year; You would be most welcome and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
223 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It's been a year since we were last here and it is always nice to come back. For the first time we had two rooms, instead of one big one. The rooms are not the most spacious, but adequately kitted out. The new shower in the bathroom was much appreciated. Breakfast buffet was in a different area of the club, nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. I am glad to hear that we have improved since your last visit and that you appreciated the new shower in the bathroom particularly. Some of our rooms are a little smaller than you will find in many of the large international chain hotels, but we believe the rooms at The Lensbury are clean, comfortable and well appointed for a relaxing stay. We have changed things a little with our breakfast service too, which you noticed and I am glad to see, enjoyed.

We do hope you will be back to visit us again before too long.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teddington
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.9 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
2.1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#2 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensbury

Property: The Lensbury
Address: Broom Road, Teddington TW11 9NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Teddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lensbury 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lensbury is a 4 star hotel and conference centre located on the banks of the River Thames at Teddington in South West London. Conveniently close to major attractions such as Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Rugby Stadium, The Lensbury offers a good standard of accommodation, extensive leisure facilities and quality dining. The Lensbury is just 20 minutes by train from central London and 25 minutes by car from London Heathrow Airport and close to links for the M3 and M4 motorways.The property has its own car parking for 200 cars, complimentary WiFi throughout and 25 acres of grounds and gardens for you to enjoy.It truely is London's hidden gem on the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Lensbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lensbury Hotel Teddington
The Lensbury Teddington, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing