We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny bedroom otherwise ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lensbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lensbury
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tiny bedroom otherwise ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Lensbury is a great looking building in nice grounds. The Restaurant, conference centre and pool are all good but the room I was allocated was tiny and spoilt the whole experience!

The room was very small, when you opened the wardrobe doors they were touching the bed. Large window looked out over a flat roof and A/C fans and directly opposite was another function room full of folk staring straight into the bedroom!

The TV was barely bigger than my laptop screen and the desk/table hardly big enough to put your laptop and other gear on! The bathroom was small with nowhere to even put down your toilet bag.

On the positive side the room was clean and the bed comfortable enough.

The food was good and restaurant staff friendly, breakfast was fine and all the staff were helpful. Conference rooms were good with nice rooms and decent facilities (and good fresh coffee on tap).

(I didn't see the other rooms, maybe I was just unlucky with room allocation so if you are going then I would suggest you ask for a large room!) Overall I would say that this is a good conference venue but don't bother if looking for a nice hotel break!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niseach16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    174
    85
    26
    14
See reviews for
83
131
14
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I'm small but the room I was in (not sure what) is miniscule. I had problem raising my arms to wash my hair without constantly getting elbows hitting the walls. There's barely space to open the wardrobe door. The conference facility was reasonable. Good lighting. Does the job but not fantastic. Not sure of the cost.

Room Tip: use just the conference facility?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 for 1 night with my partner as we were attending my work Christmas party in one of the function rooms.

The hotel from the outside looks beautiful and the grounds near the Thames are lovely.

The function itself was average and this is the 3rd year running we have heald it at The Lensbury Hotel. Unfortunately we wont be holding it there again. No reason other than that it has lost its appeal now. The food quality was average, drinks a little over priced but the staff are very friendly.

Our room was a little on the small side, but it was clean and had everything you needed.

We didnt try the breakfast or any of the facilities ie The Gym.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Superb location on Teddington Lock only 10 minute walk from Teddington town centre. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, in a leafy residential area, and has a decent gym and swimming pool which is free to residents. Rooms are average size (bathroom is small) and are fairly well equipped, clean and warm. Staff are very helpfull. The main problem is the very poor breakfast and the cost - there are other hotels in Kingston/Hampton Wick that are better value for money. In summary, this Hotel is like a better located De Vere Village Hotel but much more expensive!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
265 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I ended up in the hotel due to a last minute flight and that the other hotels were booked. What a great outcome. I have to check where in London the hotel is exactly since this was my first time in that area. The rooms are small, is true, but they have everything that you need. The service at the reception was incredible helpful and attentive, same applies for the other staff in the hotel. The food was very good and the desserts were awesome (and I am very selective, don't eat sweets unless it worth it!). Breakfast buffets has a good selection, typical British offerings and also continental ones. WiFi is available and with good reception through the whole hotel. Saw some pubs around, the hotel has a golf course, tennis fields are also around and apparently there is a shopping area not that far away. Since I've arrived late and stayed there only for one night I didn't have time to explore around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night only. Service absolutely first class from reception, room service and restaurants. Food excellent. Superb facilities and location, especially a walk along riverside to build up appetite for breakfast. Room on small side but exceptionally clean and ok for the night. Feel hotel staff really going extra mile to set exceptionally high standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed at The Lensbury for two nights last weekend whilst in London for the England Wales rugby match. The hotel is in a great location on the Thames with a nice walk along the river in both directions. The hotel has great facilities including a pool, gym, tennis and golf. The rooms are not big but are very well designed and extremely comfortable. The food here is good and the service is very good. There are a number of local pubs and restaurants to choose from in the locality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teddington
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
2.1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#2 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensbury

Property: The Lensbury
Address: Broom Road, Teddington TW11 9NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Teddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lensbury 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lensbury is a 4 star hotel and conference centre located on the banks of the River Thames at Teddington in South West London. Conveniently close to major attractions such as Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Rugby Stadium, The Lensbury offers a good standard of accommodation, extensive leisure facilities and quality dining. The Lensbury is just 20 minutes by train from central London and 25 minutes by car from London Heathrow Airport and close to links for the M3 and M4 motorways.The property has its own car parking for 200 cars, complimentary WiFi throughout and 25 acres of grounds and gardens for you to enjoy.It truely is London's hidden gem on the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lensbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lensbury Hotel Teddington
The Lensbury Teddington, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing