We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Old stomping Grounds”
Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visit to Old stomping Grounds”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was looking for a hotel local to some friends/business during a brief visit and found the hotel on booking.com.
I was only staying for two nights and was on a self imposed budget so booked a single room which for it's size was clean, functional and comfortable. feather duvet and pillows with immaculately presented cotton covers.
The bar and restaurant area were charmin, friendly staff, and a hearty breakfast to set you up for the days travails.

All in all a good stay and at a very reasonable price considering the area and high level of demand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75ADH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    89
    41
    21
    16
See reviews for
58
85
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Anchor Hotel, a 400 year old building in Olde Shepperton. This hotel oozes charisma of days gone by. If it's fresh and modern you want then this place is not for you.
So what do you get if you stay at the Anchor?
Well she's an old ship with modest rooms, but she has a solid committed crew that work hard and make this place a delight to stay.
Captain Garrett and First Mate Emma are very welcoming hosts who endeavour to make your stay most pleasant. Holding the bar/restaurant are deckhands Eileen, Samantha and Remi all very helpful and eager to provide great customer service. Even the night staff of Michal, Filip and Leigh are top blokes. The staff in the kitchen do a great job preparing some good homemade food. All in all I have very much enjoyed my stay here and would like to thank all the staff because they have made my stay most enjoyable. Thank You All.
So why not drop anchor for the night and give The Anchor a stay over.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Went with the family for a quick Friday dinner. Waited a long time for food, with no explanation or apology. Not good. Trying one of the huge chips, I found myself wondering if the inside of my sofa would taste any better once it had been sliced and fried. Burgers were tough, liver and bacon thin and chewy. Service was erratic. One member of staff asked to borrow another's order-pad, and as she passed it over the 2nd waitress commented bitterly "Next time get your own". Not great for the customer to witness. I have heard the breakfasts are good, but can't say either way. Not going back to eat there

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wormhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Nice location out of town, great sleep and good food.

The burgers on Thursday are excellent and the breakfast is one of the best I have eaten.

Very cheap for couples, a bit more expensive for a single room but still good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnIrelan-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

checking in was easy the member of staff seemed happy shame the first room i stayed in was not as nice.
The room was clean enough but what really buged me was the fact that the window was broken and no matter how hard i tried i just could not ge it to close.
i also found the room was freezing cold and i spent an hour fiddling with the radiator but still got no luck so i went to the bar and asked a member of staff if the heating was on to be told that it was not on because it was warm down in the bar and she said she would go and turn it on i waited all night to feel some heat but i never got any.
When i went to bed early hoping to get an early night i was kept awake by baning from the room upstairs and music being played.
After only about 4 hours of restless sleep i went down to reception and complained i was told i could swap rooms it took till at leest 5.30 in the afternoon for me to get another room (room 1 ) on the top floor ths room was huge but again it was very very cold and there was no heating on still but to make things worse a roof window had been left open in the bathroom it made it imposssible to make use of the wonderful large bath and even my 6 foot tall boyfriend could not close the window.
we thought we would make the most of the free breakfast before we headed home my boyfriend had a full engalish and i made do with a bowl of cornflakes as there was not much on offer for vegitarians and i allso noticed that half the things that were supposed to be on the side so you could help your self was not there at all.
Over all even though you get the free breakfst and free parking it just is not worth staying at not unless your a snowman or dont feel the cold.

Room Tip: ask for room 1,2 and 3 these are on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Took family guests for Sunday lunch today 4th May, nice setting, lovely table layout, but some of waiting staff need training in customer service and some of food disappointing, one member of party had the Cod and Chips, unable to eat most of fish as full off bones, when plates cleared, I mentioned this to waitress, her only comment, I would not know I do not eat fish very often, would have at least expected an apology and said would mention to chef. We ordered coffees and tea, when one of the coffees arrived more in saucer than cup, waitress even remarked she was not very good at carrying it, it was just plonked down, when we all thought it should have been taken away and a new one bought, as it was we had to put a paper napkin in saucer to stop it dripping on clothes, little things like that leave a lasting impression.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have now stayed in Shepperton 4 times over the last 2 years. Three times at this hotel and once at it's sister Hotel the Warren Lodge, Don't be put off by the cheap prices, this is really a great place to stay. The staff are very attentive and the food is superb. It is also ideally placed for trips because Thorpe Park is 5 minutes away, Chessington 30 mins and Lego Land approx 30 mins as well. Also it is a short train tide to Central London. The rooms are well furnished and the beds are comfy. Breakfast is made to order and allows you to order Kippers if you want. Worth a look if you are planning a long weekend,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
1.0 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
942 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing