We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE FROM SAM THE STAFF MEMBER !!!!!”
Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLENT SERVICE FROM SAM THE STAFF MEMBER !!!!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a beautiful place to have something to eat , and as being a pub landlord myself I am hard to please. The food was excellent and the prices very reasonable and the service from sam was second to none.I was watching from the table she does the work of two people and shame my staff are not the same.Its a thumbs up from me Overall a very good place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    86
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
81
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this quaint hotel, for a family party. The rooms were a little tierd but very clean.The service was exceptional, nothing seemed to be too much for the manager. Bundles of atmosphere and quality hospitality. We will be going back, seems the manager has plans for a refurb! This is one to try if in the area! :-))

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pachapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Attended a private function here recently. Staff very obliging, function area very comfortable and finger buffet very good and plentiful. Parking can sometimes be difficult but we had no problem on this occasion. Not sure what costs were but would recommend it as a venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013 for one night only. It was booked in advance by a member of our family and we were told the hotel with breakfast was about £55.

On arrival we were positively surprised as the hotel is nicely kept in its old style. The rooms are ok but nothing more than really average and some facilities require some attention.

The service we received was very good and so was the breakfast with a very good choice of hot and cold options. Full english breakfast was very good.

The disappointment was the final check out when we were charged £71 for one night in a small room. It was not worth this money, plus we were informed that it would be less. After checking with the person who pre-booked the room for us we went back to reception querying this and we were given back the difference between the price of booking and the price we paid.

Overall the hotel is good for a short stay but only if you pay something between £50-60. For more money I would expect more - like cleaned windows for example...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the anchor august 31/1 (party of four )


We stayed here for 2 nights as it was very convenient for sanddown race course (15mins by car)

Nice location in a small square 1 min walk to the thames , the hotel it self is a bit tired and need some tlc that said the staff were very welcoming and attentive I would suggest asking for a room on the back as it can get a bit noisy on the square . the rooms were a bit dated but very clean ,all in all it was a very pleasant stay and will use again next year .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minijet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at the Anchor in June 2012, the hotel/pub was fine and relatively easy to find. Our room was very clean but a bit on the small side but as it was only a base it was perfectly fine. Our room was on the front of the hotel and there was noise from the pub across the road, it didn't affect us but others may prefer a room at the back of the hotel.
didnt eat breakfast therefore unable to comment but the breakfast room was nicely presented and all the staff were very friendly.
Parking could be an issue if there is a function taking place but there is a pay and display car park literally 2 minutes up the road, very handy.
The village of Shepperton is lovely and not far from this hotel you can dine al fresco at the Thames Court Bar restaurant facing the Thames and watching the boats go by, its a beautiful location and I will more than happy to return to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: request a room at the back of the hotel it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonstoptraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin C, Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your honest review and kind comments. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Anchor again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were married in The Anchor Hotel just a week ago and I was so pleased that we chose this venue. Although we weren't in the hotel for very long (our reception was held in the Warren Lodge across the road) everything ran very smoothly. The room we booked for the ceremony was small and intimate, which is exactly what we wanted. Perfect.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin C, Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your Wedding at the Anchor. I am delighted everything went smoothly and would like to congratulate you both again and wish you a long and happy future together. Perhaps we may see you back in the future for an anniversary or two?

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing