We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”

Ivory Tusk Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shepperton
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The last review dated 11th November by Dawn was completely false!! I was at the restaurant and had a fantastic meal as per usual!!
Obviously, her and her family haven't been out to a quality restaurant. How can a chicken tikka masala be spicy, they are renowned in the whole area as having one of the best masalas.
The guys are always friendly!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drivewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced rubbish!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

It was empty when we arrived, but service was still slow. Starter eventually arrived, which was okay. Main courses took ages, and the Chicken Tikka Masala was so sweet my son couldn't eat it - even the replacement was filled with sugar and inedible!! My husband had to hunt the lamb in his curry it was cut up so small. The bill was horrendous!! £12 on 6 small glasses of coke!! £100 for a curry for 4 people - I think not!! Won't be going there again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivorytusk, Manager at Ivory Tusk Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Madam,
First of all, your comments about the chicken tikka massalla, well it is the most popular dish at the restaurant, in fact the nations no1 dish! It is meant to be slightly sweet and mild, and this is clearly stated on the menu! We changed the dish for you, adding no sugar, as you had wished for, but obviously your interpretion of the dish equals spicy!! Perhaps, a Chicken Jalfreezi, would have been more appropriate!!
The drinks price was clearly marked on the drinks menu, so u had a choice!!
The staff were all very professional and attentive to your needs, but were not given the same respect back, and were mistreated!!
We apologise for your disappointment, but feel everything was done to keep you happy, but this fell on deaf ears!!

Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely food, staff not overly attentive and can be a bit slow. Cosy restaurant, lovely and local for us!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pohkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've eaten in most of the restaurants in Shepperton, some I'm not too keen on but this Indian Restaurant is a little gem of a place. Superb good backed up with genuine service will always make me go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manvsfood1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Typical, Indian with nothing that would make me go back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

At first glance the menu looks different. However the food is quite bland. The hot dishes could easily be the mild ones. Some of the waiters are quite condescending, possibly because I am Asian. But they were the same to my English wife.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGPK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivory Tusk Restaurant also viewed

 
Shepperton, Surrey
 

Been to Ivory Tusk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing