We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food around”

Ivory Tusk Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Shepperton
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian food around”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A warm welcome awaits from the polite and friendly staff. Best to book as it does get busy. The food is amazing. None of that red food dye chicken that you get at most 'curry houses, just pure spices. A bit more expensive but well worth the extra. I don't hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iatethere2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing food & service within a contempory setting”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Went there for a meal with friends. The service was very good. The manager Musa was extremely helpfull & courteous.

Even though the restaurant was busy he took time out to check we were ok and have a chat. His recommendations were spot on.

The food arrived on time was fresh and presented well.

The place was full of regulars which is always a good sign.

I look forward to going there soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0marsiddiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not that I have been to every part of India to taste all the food but being an Indian and having eaten Indian food all my life I like to think I have upper hand on reviewing Indian food in a area like Shepperton where the majority of the population is native. I have to start this review by saying this because it has had so many good reviews.

The long and short of it is that the food is like any other Indian restaurant that you find, bar the glossy front they called service.

My experience was for a take away but a collection only take away. They wont even deliver mile down the road. Anyway the food was as ordered no mistakes, nothing less nothing more. No poppadoms, salad or minor accompliments.

Getting on to the taste, it was mediocre, not bad i.e. just edible. I have tasted the same food in probably in other 90% of the so called Indian restaurants.

Portions were small. I.e one main dish like Chicken Jalfrezi was three/four tablespoon full.

Will I visit again ? nope !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Keoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
2 reviews
“indian food at its best”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

if its good food and service you like look no furtfer than the ivory tusk in shepperton .within 10 minutrs of arriving the restaurant was full up a testament as tt how good thr food / service is although not cheap worth every penny we will return in the not to distant future

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericofstaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a must eat at Indian, great staff, good selection of dishes, in a great location on the high street

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivory Tusk Restaurant also viewed

 
Sunbury, Greater London
 
Shepperton, Surrey
Shepperton, Surrey
 

Been to Ivory Tusk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing