We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, poor service and severe safety issue”

The School of Spice
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dusty, cutlery dirty, stray hairs located on table cloth, poppadoms stale. Coke was flat and tasted as if it came out of a soda stream that needed cleaning. Slow service, and forgetful waiters. To top it off, I was sat next to a plug socket that was hanging out of the wall with loose open wires which is outrageous. Food was not good enough for cost.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ladybirdno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've visited the School of Spice regularly over the last few years and have never had a bad meal or cause to fault the service. If you're after an ultra modern type setting this isn't the place for you, but it does has a warm friendly feel to it for couples, groups or families (I've visited in each of these scenarios). I've always found the staff really friendly ready to chat and exchange a bit of banter or not as you desire. Couldn't recommend it any more highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoolofspice S, Manager at The School of Spice, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for the lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us! I have shared your warm comments with the entire team, who are very happy to hear your warm comments.

We hope to welcome you back to The School Of Spice in the near future!

Kind regards,
Kamrul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely meal with family at The School of Spice. The food was lovely especially the marinated chicken. The samosas were beautifully fresh as were all of our meals. It is very good value & will definitely be using again when visiting our family.

Thank GillyJWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoolofspice S, Manager at The School of Spice, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for the lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us! I have shared your warm comments with the entire team, who are very happy to hear your warm comments.

We hope to welcome you back to The School Of Spice in the near future!

Kind regards,
Kamrul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Needs a makeover, disgusting toilets and no soap. The building could be lovely, but it is tired, horrible old carpet and not very clean. Service dreadful, surly actually. The food surprisingly enough was nice. We love a good curry however where I eat it and how it is served is just as important. Would not go back but would consider a take away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annabelle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Love coming here normally go once a month with a work colleague food always nice but the service is out standing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hotelmanager1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoolofspice S, Manager at The School of Spice, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for the lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us! I have shared your warm comments with the entire team, who are very happy to hear your warm comments.

We hope to welcome you back to The School Of Spice in the near future!

Kind regards,
Kamrul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The School of Spice also viewed

 
Sunbury, Greater London
 
Shepperton, Surrey
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to The School of Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing