We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not really IN the terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Don't be fooled like I was. The Yotel is NOT located inside Terminal 4! You have to exit through immigrations and hunt hard to find it tucked away in an odd location outside the arrivals baggage claim area. It took me over an hour to get there from Terminal 3 and track it down (no one in airport knew where it was and it's not listed on and of terminal 4's maps or information boards). After finally finding it, I had to take a train back to Terminal 1 after my stay because the Yotel is located outside the inter-terminal bus transfer service. The cabin was nice, it was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. But I lost half the sleep time I was counting on (and paid for) just getting there, trying to find it, and then making sure I had time to get back to my terminal and go through security and immigrations once again. And then to top it off, the fire alarm warning system at the hotel malfunctioned and it went off every 20 minutes. Not the rest I had imagined between two 12-hour fights! Maybe if they get their bugs worked out AND I was flying in and out of Terminal 4, I may give it another shot. Otherwise, I'll just go get a day room at the airport Novotel as I have in the past.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Yakatack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2008

What a concept! The Yotel at London Heathrow offers a cozy getaway while in transit. We booked the Yotel for our 8 hour layover between a trans-atlantic flight arriving in the morning and an evening flight into Egypt. Online booking was straightforward and the videos of the rooms were accurate.

Checkin was quite easy. Simply bring your confirmation number from your online receipt and type it into the check-in area. Your key is ejected, and you are taken to your room, through long and narrow hallways.

The standard cabin was not as claustrophobic as I feared. There was nice lighting, either bright light or soothing purple light. The bedding was soft and even the single bed had two pillows and a down comforter. The only major issue with layout was the bathroom - the wall was glass, and there was no door. When two people were sharing the room, there was absolutely no privacy for any of the 5 senses. The rainwater shower, on the other hand, was terrific with tons of water pressure and hot water. The soap provided was yummy. There was no bath mat provided, a small problem given the shower shared space with the toilet and sink. However, 2 big bath towels were provided.

The entertainment system was great. There were many television channels, pay movies, free music including some great Arabic chill-out music. However, the remote control was difficult to use and it was hard to find volume control. Also, the internet was difficult to use with the remote control provided. Beware the tv alarm though - it did not work for us - luckily we had another alarm set.

For sleeping, the only issue was that any noise in the other cabins could be clearly heard, especially from the hallways. Other guests need to be more considerate in this environment. Granted, we were trying to sleep during the day.

If you are doing a transit, please note that the hotel is in the Arrivals lounge, not in the Transit lounge of Terminal 4. So if you are coming in, you will have to pass through Immigration. It took 2 hours to get through transit security at Heathrow before we found out that we were supposed to exit the transit area. Leave time also after checking out of the Yotel, as you have to pass through security again to check in for your flight. When booking your room, you may want to take note of these times so that you don't book more time in the Yotel than you will use.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ShannonSomervilleMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

stayed there for an early morning flight. the customer service was very helpful and the guy even took my bag to the room and connected me to the internet straight away to make sure it works. although the cabin is pretty small, the "cocoon" bed space is big and very comfy. The shower was also great and a big plus was a HUGE towel, the biggest towel I have ever seen in my life. after my flight was canceled, I came back and stayed there again for 8 hours. and again it was all good.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SayIt5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

I used yotel as i was en route from Boston to Hong Kong and had a 12 hour layover during the day at Heathrow. I figured i could have a sleep and watch some TV before wandering over to terminal 1 for my hk flight and thats exactly what i did.
I checked in at 8.00am into a standard cabin as i was on my own - (their website claims that you could sleep 2 people in a standard - i really think that 1 is the max - it really is tiny) and immediately curled up in the very comfy bed - i did notice some distant terminal noise and you could here people moving around outside your cabin so the sound proofing is not good - i took ear plugs - put these in and fell fast asleep for a few hours.
After waking i called the galley (the TV room service ordering system wasn't working yet) and had them deliver a bacon sandwich which was fresh and nice. Then spent the remaining few hours watching TV - i too noticed that there wasn't was many channels working as the website claimed, plus the wake up call via the TV was also not working - hopefully these things will all change as the yotel becomes more established.
The shower was fantastic - really lovely when you're already jet lagged and getting ready for a 12 hour flight.
I found my little cabin - very comfy and not at all claustrophobic - i'd stay there again - it made my layover very relaxing - much better than hanging out in the BA lounge all day.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank puppyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

I had an early meeting to attend at Heathrow and thought staying at Yotel would save a painful drive, as well as giving me a couple of extra hours of valuable sleep.

I booked a standard cabin for 16 hours at a cost of £55 on Yotel's website. Check in using the automated machine was quick and easy. When I walked down the corridor and saw into the cabins, I thought "oh my god!" and wondered how I would survive in such a small space. They really are tiny, with around 70cm between the bed and the glass partition to the 'bathroom' (shower, small sink and toilet). However, the cabins were functional with comfortable beds, a decent shower and adequate space for one person. After a while, I actually found the cabin to be quite cosy!

There were a few negatives points, however, that I think were a little disappointing considering that Yotel has only been open one month. Firstly, in my first cabin, the pull-out desk wouldn't stay upright, so I was moved. In the second cabin, the desk worked, but the TV didn't. In the third, the TV worked, but the desk didn't, and at this stage, I didn't want to pester the staff to be moved again. Also, the advertised wifi didn't work at all, and there were far fewer TV channels than listed on the website.

I did sleep well though, with a very comfortable bed and no disturbances or noise during the night. The shower was also good, although it might be cramped for some. I was going to sample some of the food they offer (from their 'Galley'), but I gave this a miss in the end, since it would have been difficult to eat a meal from a sloping table!

Yotel is definitely a good solution for those who have a few hours to kill at the airport and need to have a rest. I'd stay there again, since the cost is very competitive. However, I do hope that the minor issues will be addressed to ensure that the cabins are fully functional for all guests.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Just stayed at the Heathrow branch of the yotel - the staff are totally awesome! They along with the futuristic rooms make this place a must for anyone needing to stay at what has to be one of the busiest airports (people everywhere). The hotel is positioned as a cocoon inside the airport - that’s why I picked to stay there, knowing i only had to wake up have a shower (and what a shower it is) and get the lift upstairs to departures - convenience or what! Oh did i tell you it cost me £55 pounds to stay there - bargain considering my round the world trip is going to be a long one. I hope all the hotels or the like i end up staying at have bed as snug as the ones at yotel

Stayed: December 2007
15  Thank roundtheworldticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: O premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LGCGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiorgos_Peroutseas, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hounslow hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport

Address: Landside Terminal Four Arrivals Mezzanine | London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#5 Business Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range: $105 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTELAIR London Heathrow is inside Terminal 4 (landside), located moments away from arrivals, departures, Heathrow Express and underground stations. There are two types of cabins - standard (large single) and premium (double) - both equipped with en-suite bathrooms, free WiFi and a flat screen TV (free-view channels). Also free hot beverages available at Mission Control. Services available include 24-hour food and drink delivered to your cabin in 15 minutes. The best thing - you can book just a few hours or overnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel London Heathrow Airport Hotel Hounslow
Yotel London Heathrow Airport Hounslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing