We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best airport hotel "ever"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is the best airport hotel "ever"”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Lovely hotel, lovely rooms, just wished we had not been so jet lagged to enjoy the experience better. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dusty1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,233
    2,841
    657
    222
    136
See reviews for
1,751
4,608
1,333
2,679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had an early flight out of Heathrow, and this gorgeous hotel couldn't be more convenient. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NastiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Okay flying in from Phoenix take a little out of you. Get out of your British Air flight, clear customs and go up to level 5. You will find peace and quiet in one of the worlds busiest airports. I checked in about 3:00 PM. Did not want to turn in, learned that after several trips over to Europe. Took a extra stroll around termial 5 to get the blood moving again. Got prepare for the next day of travel, the hotel staff will hold your bags for a couple of days if you are staying at the first and last of you trip here. This saves a few pounds, not having to store your bags or carry them with you. Then back to have dinner at the hotel, very good but really high priced. Just remember you are still in a airport things are higher period. The room itself is great the BEST beds I have ever crashed on. A/C be sure you leave you room key in the slot otherwise A/C shuts off. TV has numerous features very High Tech Room but with NO free internet. Bathroom and Room in general are very moderm nicce touch. Handy refrigerator in the room, ice bucket, and good selection of tea. The ice machine is hard to fine they have it in the main hall on the odd floors I think memory maybe off. The are very small and match hotel decor way to well. Afternoon tea at the hotel is over priced and service was really slow. But the scones, tea, and sandwiches were above average. Again very pricey but I remind you again this is at the airport. You are paying not to pull and tug your bags into shuttle buses, taxis and trains. Weigh you cost complains overall you many fine as I did it is worth the extra pounds. I hope this helps someone. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to all unless you are watching your pounds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamilton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburb
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

And the beds...!!! Holy Cow. I have not slept in a more comfortable bed in my life!
I just wanted to commend the staff at the Sofitel Heathrow. They were so very helpful, patient and direct with us. If not for them, our stay would have been really boring! The room was modern, clean, safe and the food at Viva(?) Viver(?) was outstanding! We had been in downtown London looking for a really good/traditional Indian fare...the chef at the Sofitel privided us with that. Yummo!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Coming home from a transatlantic cruise on the QM2, we pulled our bags into the lobby and were immediately assisted by the bellman. The check in staff were quiet and accomodating, and one of the staff escorted us to our room and told us about the amenities, then the bellman came separately with our luggage. A little twist on the traditional. Our room, a Junior suite was very modern with wooden and leather furnishings with a square up to the minute look. A small seating area with couch hid the sofabed below. The bathroom was large with marble throughout, and a large soak tub with TV built into the shower.

With the Junior Suite we had access to the Club on the first floor, which was ready with computer and printer access, snacks and drinks throughout the day. Lovely. Directly connected wtih Terminal 5, there are easy transfers to the other terminals on the train, or for 20 pounds, you can grab a car to take you directly (which is what we did with lots of luggage).

The public rooms on the main floor were divine, and the interiors lush. However, the site the hotel is built has a building site next door, and most rooms have views of the interior building. Strange but functional. Check out was a breeze, and we thought that for a similar cost as the Hilton, we got a full day of relaxation and rest (did I mention that we checked in at 10am and there was no fuss or extra costs - lovely)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

a decent airport hotel, with two major negatives: 1) small and dark bathroom (we stayed in a suite); 2) air conditioning not efficient

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRESItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,061 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here recently due to an early flight out of Terminal 5 and having to fly down from manchester the night before. Ideally placed to take the stress out of your travel. Arrive and go through Arrivals lounge and with good signposting and access walkway you are almost straight from your plane and into the reception of the hotel. Like other reviewers I found the room numbering confusing with wing number followed by floor number followed by room number. Not that it can't be easily worked out but you just wonder who and why came up with the system. Like other reviewers we got a room upgrade which is always welcome. Next morning we were booked out within minutes and back in Terminal 5 within a few more minutes.
My only gripe was that we ate in the Vivre restaurant in the evening and on observing their methods everyone was told a table would be available in 30 minutes and to have a drink in the bar first. This happended all evening although there were always tables available. Clearly a ploy to get you in the bar. We didn't mind really and the bar is well furnished and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. Food in the Vivre was only average but we weren't expecting haute cuisine.
Would definately use again and would recommend anyone in transit through Terminal 5.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing