We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb start to any trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Superb start to any trip”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

This is my second visit here and it went equally well. This time I arrived by road on a Park & Fly type deal which, in itself was excellent. The hotel is very easy to find from Junction 14 of the M25 motorway.

The point I want to make this time is the comfort and quietness of the room - in particular the bed. Noise insulation room-to-room and room to corridor is exceptional and probably the best I have ever experienced. The bed also is top quality leading to the best night of sleep in a hotel for a long time. I am a light sleeper when travelling and I slept like a baby here !

Service at Brasserie Roux much improved since my last visit which, in fairness was just after they opened. Outstanding food (as you would expect) and never cheap - but also not an outrageous price. A good tip would be to make your reservation here early - it is very popular and does get very busy

I only have one very minor observation, the room had a good HD flat screen TV but still a disappointing range of international channels for a major airport hotel - this could and should improve.

I really could not fault this place and I wish I could physically uplift it and put it at some of the destinations I visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tromsopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,233
    2,841
    657
    222
    136
See reviews for
1,751
4,608
1,333
2,679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I'm a seasoned traveller and booked a room in the Sofitel at Heathrow Terminal Five. I wanted to stay for one night and clicked on 'check in' 6th January, 'check out' 7th January. These two dates appeared on my printed-out form, but on arrival at the hotel the receptionist told me I'd only booked a couple of hours in the room! They refused to accept the silliness of this, despite my confirmation which had different dates for check-in and check-out, and insisted that I pay an extra £100 to stay overnight. This I did, because this was the weekend that snow made a right mess of transport in the UK and I didn't fancy staying overnight in the terminal. Since then I've tried and failed to persuade their 'customer services' to refund the extra cash. I'm really disappointed because it's a nice hotel, but I won't be staying there again! Be careful not to let them scam you in the same way...

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank PhineasFogg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,663 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,234 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I've been here 4 times now and each time, I've really looked forward to staying here.

The hotel is extremely convenient for Terminal 5, just a short walk in a covered walkway, which is ideal. Inside it is very modern, light and airy. The staff are extremely helpful and are conveniently located throughout the hotel, always checking that you are OK.

The spa and gym are a nice touch and worth using if you have the time

The rooms are very modern, spacious and luxurious. The beds are very comfortable and large. And there are some nice touches throughout the rooms, robes and slippers (although I didn't receive these on a previous stay), TV and radio in the bathroom, large shower, with two types of shower head etc.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in heathrow for the evening.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We have stayed here several times. Our first experience over a year ago was not good in terms of service. However we stayed again in August 09 and December 09 and the service was much improved. It is very stylish hotel, the rooms are beautiful - amazingly comfortable enormous beds, huge TV, lovely bathroom (ours had a TV in front of the bath, though note due to it being high on the wall you couldn't see all that well from the bath!) with separate shower, kettle (but no biccies!), comfy chair and magazines, ..... the works. As i'm an A-club member and repeat visitor, a lovely fruit plate and welcome note from the manager was in our room on arrival which was rather nice. 3 min walk to terminal 5. We are getting so fond of this place I think i'll book early flights on purpose from now on so I can justify staying here!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

I've stayed a few times now. The hotel is certainly convenient. However i just stayed with my wife and 2 young kids - pulled up in the car outside and then struggled in with the luggage, car seats, strollers, kids etc.etc.. all while the conceirge just stood and watched! I was amazed. To make matters worse, the front desk lady was clearly hassled and not even polite. At 160gbp a night, you'd expect better.

However. the rooms are nice, and the room service while expensive is also good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

I just wanted to agree with the majority of comments here.
Nice modern hotel.
5 minutes walk from terminal 5.
Very good overall.
I stayed twice.
On my second visit I booked through the BA site and got a great rate.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed here for a night on the 'Haute Cuisine' package before an early flight. The hotel is beautiful, with on-the-ball staff and stylish, comortable rooms. We were somewhat less impressed by the haute cuisine element. The gastronomic gift consisted of two trios of Christmassy chocolates; we found the restaurant 'Vivre' to offer pleasant food, but to be very noisy and more like an upscale cafe than the luxury restaurant we had imagined.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillipDrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing