We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The hotel is clean, well appointed and very quiet. I was travelling alone with my young son and the staff were extremely helpful. Everyone I dealt with was cheerful and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,468 - 11,474 of 12,047 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2009

This hotel is located in/immediately beside terminal 5 at Heathrow. It is easily accessed from terminals 1-2-3 for free by the Heathrow Express train. The room we had was very well appointed, the king bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. Our room looked out onto the lobby (inside). Some of the rooms (looking in the direction away from the terminal) which looked outside would look at a dirt lot adjacent to the hotel. We got a great deal through hotels.com (89 pounds) but this hotel is usually quite expensive. The spa/pool/wet areas sounded great but it was closed when we were there - why would a hotel that caters to clients on layover at all hours who just want to relax and sleep have a spa that closes in the early evening? There is also a significant cost per person to just use the steam room/sauna (25 pounds), had it been open. There is wifi but it is also quite expensive - why do they do this when it is a cheap and increasingly standard perc to offer guests who are (usually) paying a premium rate?
If you are looking to simply rest in a very comfortable, quiet, elegant and convenient place - this is the right place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

If you are looking for a hotel convenient to Heathrow, Terminal 5, look no further - book the Sofitel Heathrow immediately!!!!........The hotel is brand new and showcases beautiful architecture and design, along with superb comfort and customer service. The beds are very welcoming to the weary traveller!! We booked two connecting rooms for our family of four. The online reservation did not make the price real clear, so I emailed the hotel directly and was able to get in on a great "family deal" - first room (queen) at 102 GBP and the second with 2 twins at 51GBP. Front desk staff printed my boarding passes for me, (I forwarded them my email), with a smile. We had dinner at the Vivre Restaurant which offers an open kitchen to view, and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. Can't say enough about this hotel - enjoyed it throughly! Great value - super luxury at a great price!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbielosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I recently stayed at the Sofitel at Terminal 5 for an overnight when needing to be at airport for a very early departure.

Arriving off a flight into Terminal 5, the Sofitel was relatively easy to find. As you exit the arrivals “shute” walk straight ahead ‘til you reach M&S Simply Food on your right. Turn to your left and you should see Giraffe juice bar just past the Transport for London kiosks area. An elevator marked with the Sofitel is just behind Giraffe.

Take this lift up to the floor marked Sofitel (this lift also gives access to the parking garage btw). Turn right out of the lift and walk along the covered walkway. Another elevator will take you to the Sofitel’s reception level. The walk should take you all of about five minutes.

On arrival, reception was prompt and efficient and check in was trouble free. The reception area also includes bars, restaurants, loos, an internet terminals area, a few shops and lots and lots of wasted space, it has to be said. On first notice, the Sofitel does not offer a warm and inviting layout for hanging out but if you are only there for a night or two, the reception area ambience will hardly matter.

The layout of the guest rooms, or at least they way they have chosen to number the rooms, is slightly odd and could have been made more user friendly. All I can say is pay careful attention to what you are told at reception and you’ll find the way to the room with little trouble.

We had standard (classic, I think they name it) twin room. Not a lot of extra space but the beds were comfy. There’s a built-in desk for work space, and decent sized mini-bar fridge for storing cold drinks, plus plasma TV. The bathroom is well appointed, with TV speaker ! as added extra. View was of the car park, road behind giant hedge, and of the occasional plane taking off. Extra glazing on the window means you only get the rumble from the biggest jets, otherwise it’s a very peaceful environment. Others have remarked on the difficulty of following the lighting and aircon switch system but we had no problem with this… again though, the design could have been simplified.

Can’t give you a run down on the facilities apart from internet access – paid wireless in room, paid broadband at desks off reception with printing facilities (Note: business centre services not open at weekends). We didn’t use the hotel’s restaurants or bars...no need when Terminal 5 is so close at hand to pay the higher cost of food and beverage at an airport hotel. Take the five minutes to “commute” to the terminal and grab something flavoursome and considerably cheaper at M&S Simply Food or other outlets as we did.

I’d stay here again as it offers good value - at least on Fridays through Sunday nights when the rates at all airport hotels drop considerably from their midweek rates - comfy rooms, and its proximity to Terminal 5 can’t be bettered, especially for those coming in late or departing early. We paid 99 pounds a night for our room directly from the Sofitel website.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubyBaby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed for a day and the hotel delivered everything we could have hoped for and it just kept on getting better and better. We had previously stayed with Hilton for our annual holiday to the states. Having said that you would know that it is a long trip, but what the hotel had accomplished to do was the fact that it felt more like I had already begun my holiday. Because of the remarkable service I have decided that the Sofitel is way ahead of what we had previously used for our transit flights.
Don’t get me wrong when I compliment the service more than the modern design and the practicality of the hotel building itself. Mentioning the overall design one thing that I think would have made the hotel function better would a few extra elevators; it took us a while before our family could get a chance to get in the elevator but at no point did I mind waiting as one of the concierges who was helping us with our bags was charming enough to keep my wife`s and kids attention diverted and why wouldn’t he was from the great state of sunshine Florida (usf).
Come to think of it I did observe that the hotel is quite multi cultured as there are people from all over the world working for Sofitel. The whole experience has definitely made me consider Sofitel to be one of the best airport hotels in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric00687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Yes, the location couldn't be better for a layover at Heathrow, and the rooms meet Sofitel's usual high standards. But our family of four was still disappointed:

First, the website advertised that available amenities included a sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi. However, the website does not state that there is an extra charge for guests to use these amenities! We were quite surprised when told that each member of our family would have to pay 25 GBP to use these facilities. Needless to say, we chose not to pay such an exhorbitant fee, especially when we had been led to believe said amenities were included in the already-high room rate.

Second, a wedding party was taking place the night we stayed, and loud music could be heard (and felt) throughout the hotel for much of the night. The front desk should have given us rooms further away from the noise rather than just one floor above.

Third, we were given only two bath towels in each of our rooms, with no hand towels and no washcloths. We had to use the floor mat as a hand towel.

Fourth, eating breakfast in the Vivre Restaurant was like eating in a high school cafeteria. The space is horrendously noisy and utilitarian. I literally had to argue with the maitre d' to seat us in a quieter corner (I am deaf in one ear and am extremely sensitive to noise in the other.) When he finally acquiesced, the maitre d' actually tried to hide my husband and me behind a column so that other guests would not see us!

As for the food, after paying 22 GBP for each of our four family members, we found the food to be cold, poorly cooked, and of a very limited selection. We had to get up and go in search of wait staff to order coffee and tea. All in all, the breakfast experience was incredibly under par and disappointing.

Because of this negative experience, we will be extremely hesitant to stay at Heathrow Sofitel in the future, despite its great location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laughingarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I guess the title says everything,
My husband and I decided to stay here as we had an early flight out of Heathrow the following day. We really didn’t expect such a beautiful hotel: modern, full of architectural details, comfortable, sparkling clean and with very pleasant people working at the registration desk.
The restaurant was very good too, and the menu had a large variety of international dishes!
It’s just a 7 minute walk from Terminal 5, and one can take the airport cart all the way into the hotel lobby, which is very convenient.
If anyone needs a hotel near the London Airport, I wouldn’t blink an eye to recommend the Sofitel Heathrow – Terminal 5.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range: $174 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing