We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most convenient hotel for Heathrow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most convenient hotel for Heathrow”
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Brand new hotel connected to wonderful Terminal 5. Quiet rooms, friendly service, ultra modern design. Will definitely come back. The rooms lighting is not at all difficult to operate, as some have mentioned in the reviews.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,235
    2,841
    657
    222
    136
See reviews for
1,751
4,609
1,333
2,680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed one night before ctaching an early flight from T5. Hotel is a shortish walk from the T5 and it is very clearly signposted.
As soon as you walk into hotel itself you can feel you walked into 5* hotel. It is very clean, big, very well upkept.
Check in formalities were quick but finding our room was a bit of a mission as there is a maze of corridors and block leading one to another. When checking in we were advised that there is a wedding going on and if the noise is bothersome to give them a ring.
We were assigned room right at the end with internal garden view which was nice.
Room itself was up to 5* standard. Everything you could need was there. Iron, mini bar, tea kettle with good choice of hot drinks, vanity set... As in all Sofitel hotels bed was absolutely amazing and provides the best night sleep ever. Bathroom was well equipped and very clean.
Did not have breakfast as were leaving early in the morning and room service brakfast was around £30 per person.
Chek-out nice and easy and within 3 minutes we were leaving Sofitel well rested and relaxed for our flight.
If you need to stay at LHR, Sofitel at T5 is a great hotel worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

My hiband and I need a hotel between flights and chose this one for it's location. It was really quiet, elegant and the rooms are sumptuous, even the twin one we booked. We also enjoyed a lovely peaceful dinner in the Bistro with excelent wine and food. The terminal is easily accessed by way of free shuttele train, just watch the signs after arriving at Terminal 5 for the long hallway to the hotel. In the morning we received a wakeup call from an actual person and where on our way. No breakfast, but we had plenty of time before the flight after check in. The one negative I would mention was the charge for internet which seems to be the way still in Europe. We expect free wireless here in the states and they just don't do that over the pond, except in some lobby's.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

The Sofitel is the official hotel of the newly built Terminal 5 at Heathrow. The hotel feels and looks brand new - it is pretty and clean, with nicely appointed rooms and nice modern amenities. However, if you're tired from traveling or in poor physical shape or health (and we're neither), I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Like many on here, we were stopping over on our way back from continental Europe. We had two large bags and two large backpacks apiece, which wouldn't be a problem normally but made travel here fairly difficult. Since "fixed" taxi rates between terminals are 18 pounds per ride, we chose to travel here via Heathrow Express. We came in through Terminal 2 and had to walk about 500 meters (and navigate several of those infernal security "bars" in front of escalators that are ubiquitous in the U.K.) just to get to the train platform. We then waited for about 10 minutes to get the right train (the HX serves Terminals 4 and 5 separately) and found that on the other side (Terminal 5), several escalators and another 300 meter walk awaited us just to get to the hotel. We're in good shape, but it was a long way just to get to the hotel. The hotel stay was quite nice once we got there, but we both agreed that we were not looking forward to the schlep back to Terminal 1 the next morning.

So, a recommended hotel, but know what you're getting into before you book!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Since we were arriving at Heathrow Terminal 5 on our way from Paris to the English countryside, we stayed one night at this hotel. I'd read it was a quiet hotel despite being right next door to the airport. It's so very convenient (just steps away from the "Arrivals" area of Terminal 5). The rooms were clean, exceptionally quiet, and quite luxurious. Access to the train and coach lines are right at hand as well, so we easily hopped on public transportation to take us to Bath the morning after we'd arrived in London. We'd stay at this hotel again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platzyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our previous stay in London was at a premium location for a premium price and the place still turned out to be a dump. This time when we found we would have a layover in London, we decided to try something different. As airline staff, we get great discounts at Accor hotels if availability is good and we book enough in advance. We heard about this brand new Sofitel at Heathrow's new Terminal 5 and have always had superb experiences at Sofitels. We got a great rate for our one night layover before a cruise from Harwich port the next day. The 45 minute tube ride to the city center was not terribly convenient but the hotel more than made up for it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful during check-in, concierge and dining. The room was plush as we expect from Sofitel. The bed was soft and fluffy, yet supportive, a welcome respite for our jet-lagged bodies. Every detail was covered in the room from the large flat screen tv, luxurious bathroom, wifi, built-in AV jacks in the wall for easy picture or video viewing to the north-american style plug in the wall for easy camera recharging for Yanks. We sampled the moderately priced restaurant which offered a 2 for 1 deal if you eat dinner before 1900. It was excellent.

The only thing about the hotel that slightly ruffled my feathers was their check-in policy. As many travellers arriving from North America, we arrived in the morning. They had plenty of rooms available but would only check us in early if we were willing to pay almost another night. We opted to store our stuff in a friend's room who got there the night before and check in later. When you are tired from traveling all night, this doesn't come across as very nice.

Overall, we would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend the hotel highly if you don't mind staying in the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rksindleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We got a great rate on the hotel's site for 90 pounds and stayed over night on our way back to the states. The hotel is literally right outside terminal 5 and was easy to find. The rooms are new and have many conveniences and the bathroom rivaled luxury hotels. Didn't get a chance to check out the spa but the prices were good. There is an M&S right outside for cheap quick dinner. Will stay again on a layover. We paid the same rate for 7 hours in the Yotel. Will definitely pick the Sofitel every time from now on.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdjhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing