We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Convenience Enough for a Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury and Convenience Enough for a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our previous stay in London was at a premium location for a premium price and the place still turned out to be a dump. This time when we found we would have a layover in London, we decided to try something different. As airline staff, we get great discounts at Accor hotels if availability is good and we book enough in advance. We heard about this brand new Sofitel at Heathrow's new Terminal 5 and have always had superb experiences at Sofitels. We got a great rate for our one night layover before a cruise from Harwich port the next day. The 45 minute tube ride to the city center was not terribly convenient but the hotel more than made up for it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful during check-in, concierge and dining. The room was plush as we expect from Sofitel. The bed was soft and fluffy, yet supportive, a welcome respite for our jet-lagged bodies. Every detail was covered in the room from the large flat screen tv, luxurious bathroom, wifi, built-in AV jacks in the wall for easy picture or video viewing to the north-american style plug in the wall for easy camera recharging for Yanks. We sampled the moderately priced restaurant which offered a 2 for 1 deal if you eat dinner before 1900. It was excellent.

The only thing about the hotel that slightly ruffled my feathers was their check-in policy. As many travellers arriving from North America, we arrived in the morning. They had plenty of rooms available but would only check us in early if we were willing to pay almost another night. We opted to store our stuff in a friend's room who got there the night before and check in later. When you are tired from traveling all night, this doesn't come across as very nice.

Overall, we would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend the hotel highly if you don't mind staying in the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rksindleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,995
    2,770
    630
    214
    131
See reviews for
1,656
4,461
1,303
2,627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We got a great rate on the hotel's site for 90 pounds and stayed over night on our way back to the states. The hotel is literally right outside terminal 5 and was easy to find. The rooms are new and have many conveniences and the bathroom rivaled luxury hotels. Didn't get a chance to check out the spa but the prices were good. There is an M&S right outside for cheap quick dinner. Will stay again on a layover. We paid the same rate for 7 hours in the Yotel. Will definitely pick the Sofitel every time from now on.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdjhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Pro: The room and bathroom are nicely appointed. Convenient for T5.
Con: Unless you pay very high rates for the best rooms in the hotel, all other rooms are inward facing within the hotel building which majority of us would be in. It feels very enclosed and lacking of natural sunlight.
It is a very familiar hotel with the same brand of shampoo & shower gel Gilchrist & Somes and same number of towels (2 big towels, only 1 hand towel & 1 very small basin top towel for double/king room) as you would expect if you were to stay at Arora International Heathrow and Arora Manchester. Same owner with his business partners spread across the group. I would expect a 5 star luxury hotel comes with more pampering towels and nice amenity.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We booked this hotel because of an early morning flight from Terminal 5. Stayed in a twin room which had very comfortable beds and you couldn't hear any noise from the aircraft. We can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there - a bit too pricey for us, but went into T5 the night before and got food from M&S and the next day had time to get breakfast from Wetherspoons. (Air side)
On the downside; I think it a bit much to be expected to pay £10 to watch a film on TV!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
116 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The location at Terminal 5 was excellent for an overnight before an early flight, and the room was comfy. But we had trouble sleeping because of the Muzak that could be heard from the common areas. They must do something about this. If it weren't for this problem, I would recommend this hotel.
We did not use the computers in the lobby, the spa, or the restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I stayed at this Sofitel for one night in a room with queen bed and a view of nothing but a fence and roundabout (as opposed to the rooms with views of the hotel's "zen garden").

The room was spotlessly clean and had absolutely no noise from airplanes; bathroom was large (with bath and separate shower) and well-lit. The towels were surprisingly thin and small, and the bed/pillows were far less comfortable than I expected from a new hotel and definitely not on par with other Sofitels I've stayed at -- but judging this hotel against other airport hotels I've been stuck at on layovers, this was still probably one of the best.

Heathrow is too far outside central London for this hotel to be a good choice for people visiting for sightseeing, and the hotel's a bit of a soulless place to spend more than one night. But for a convenient airport hotel for an overnight layover, it fits the bill. I thought the room's price was very reasonable given the hotel's extremely convenient location and newness as compared to the other hotels nearby (#108 inclusive of taxes); they do charge #10 per every hour you need to stay before the 14:00 check-in/after the 12:00 check-out which can add up quickly.

For people not familiar with Heathrow, it should be noted that you can easily reach the hotel for free via the Heathrow Express from the other terminals of the airport, so it's convenient not just for people arriving/leaving from T5. T5 has a well stocked Marks & Spencer opposite the hotel's airport entrance if you want something other than the hotel's food. T5 also has a Costa for a morning coffee as well as a limited number of other places to grab a bite without needing to go through airport security. There's also a small Boots on the departures level before security if you need any toiletries that the hotel does not have.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scy2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed in this hotel before an early flight out of LHR. Everything about this Sofitel was top shelf. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist. Rooms excellent and large. We ate at the French Brasserie which could not be faulted.
For a slightly higher price than other LHR hotels, I would recommend this to all and will return if the need arises.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawksMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.2 mi away
YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing