We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent extreme comfort and convenience but pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent extreme comfort and convenience but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the night before a 10 hour+ flight to the US West Coast. Exteremely professional check in, wonderful (free upgrade) room and excellent bathroom and so quiet that you would not believe that you were in the middle of one of the worlds busiest airports! However you pay for the five stars and the convenience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Father Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our professional check and room. It was good that we were able to offer you an upgrade which I am glad you enjoyed.

I would like to take this opportunity to point you in the direction of our website where you will find many special offers especially if booked in advance.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel London Heathrow again very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,851
    2,359
    539
    182
    111
See reviews for
1,373
3,752
1,114
2,226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel could be anywhere, and really only survives because it is right next door (you just cross a walkway)to departures at terminal 5. It is otherwise and ordinary and soul-less place. We were assured that we had been given an upgrade, but to what? There was nothing special about the room.

You have to put your room key (credit card style) into a slot to turn the lights on, and no one reminded us of this. It had been a while since i had stayed in a room like this and we hadn't been told at check in how to do it. Annoying.

Nice bed with good pillows, but cheap and thin towels. That stale and chemical smell in the hallways. I was especially irritated that getting on the Internet was so expensive. In this day and age that's absurd (it's free in terminal 5!) Staff was cheerful and friendly.

We came here from terminal 3 and it cost a fortune to come by cab. (Yes, there is bus service, but we were exhausted.) So the convenience of walking into terminal 5 the next morning may have been irrelevant. I'm sure there are nicer and more personal places not far away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninip262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you found our location convenient and our staff cheerful and friendly.

I apologise that the fragrance we release into the halls of the hotel and covered walkway from the Terminal reminds you of a chemical smell, we normally get only very positive reviews on the fragrance in this area. I will discuss this with Head of Housekeeping and check that we have not changed the scent used in this area.

There are a number of options in reaching the hotel from Terminal 3, taxi or bus as you mentioned or the complementary service from Heathrow Express and travel time should be under 25 minutes to our hotel.

We do offer a complimentary internet however it is designed for emails and light browsing, if you require to download a large file or document we do recommend purchasing the High-Speed option. We have recently conducted a review of our internet services and increased the bandwidth on the complementary service.

The room key (which is in a credit card style) does allow you to access the lights in the room which should have been explained to you on check-in. I apologise that this was not done in your case.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Sofitel London Heathrow again very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Sofitel was extremely convenient as we were catching an early morning flight to Paris at Terminal 5 and unlike other airport hotels we stayed in, was very comfortable with spacious, clean, well-maintained rooms, comfortable bed, and helpful and pleasant desk service staff. We had an excellent meal at La Belle Epoque.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pol892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms and that the reception staff were pleasant. It is always our aim to offer all our guests a warm, personalised and informative service from our reception staff and to always remain consistent with the Sofitel brand standards with particular focus on first impressions of the hotel and I was happy that you received a pleasant service from our front desk.

The comfortable bed you described in your review is called “MyBed” and has been implemented in all Sofitel hotels worldwide. You can find more information on our website.

I will ensure that the La Belle Epoque restaurant manager receives a copy of your review and I was happy to see you enjoyed your meal.

We look forward to welcoming you to Sofitel London Heathrow again very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

By far, still the best hotel I have stayed at.

The room is big and the bathroom is amazing! You do not only have TV in the bedroom, there's another flat screen TV by the bathtub!

Breakfast spread and quality were very good, with excellent service.

The only downside is the price. Compared to the nearby airport hotel, this is almost double the price. But doubly nice and comfortable as well. You get your money's worth in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GIAJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, found our bathroom to be amazing and breakfast satisfying!

I would like to take this opportunity to point you in the direction of our website where you will find many special offers especially if you book in advance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Heathrow again very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel several times when we have early morning flights to catch. The hotel is modern, very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are uniformly excellent. Like all 5 star hotels in and around London the rooms are eye-wateringly expensive, but the benefit for us, of being able to walk from the hotel straight into Heathrow, makes the price worthwhile.

This year we booked in on Tuesday 30th April when we were flying out early the next morning to Boston for a short break. We chose the hotel’s “Park, stay and fly “package (8 days parking) staying in a Classic room (no breakfast) at a rate of £309. The underground parking beneath the hotel feels very secure and the entrance and exit arrangements are very straightforward.

Minor quibbles: - there were no “bathroom amenities” – cotton wool and the like in our room and more importantly no bathrobes. When we mentioned this whilst checking out, the response was “But you were only staying in a Classic Room and bathrobes aren’t included in that package”. To which my response was – “But this is a 5 star hotel and I would have expected bathrobes to be provided as a matter of course”. The lady on the checkout desk undertook to add that request to our profile for future visits, but I thought this to be a rather strange omission – saving on costs perhaps but hardly 5 star.

But these are minor omissions – we will continue using the Heathrow Sofitel in future as it offers a civilised – albeit expensive – way to start a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and will be returning to stay with us in the future.

The products we supply in all our bathrooms are from The White Company London and they are of a very high quality, our housekeeping staff are normally leave a more then adequate supply in each room for our guests so I am disappointed to read that this did not happen on this occasion and I apologise.

Please do not hesitate to call down to reception or our Guest Relations desk and request a bathrobe if this has not been provided in your room and I am pleased to read that this has been noted on your guest profile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Heathrow again very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The most important consideration for us was the location - walking distance from the departure gates of Terminal 5 at Heathrow. We were pleasantly surprised to find other benefits:
- The hotel was well-signposted and easy to find from the motorway
- Parking was plentiful, spacious and well-signposted
- Staff were kind and helpful at check-in
- Rooms were spacious, immaculate and comfortable
- Restaurant - the more casual one - had interesting food, well cooked and with efficient staff.
All in all, not cheap, but worth the money, and I have already re-booked!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGenealogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for booking to stay with us again in the near future.

I was pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and providing you with a better service and product then you anticipated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sofitel London Heathrow soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel is nice, but way overpriced. It is the ny hotel whithin walking distance of T5, so I guess they can charge whatever they'd like and people like me will pay for the convenience.
Service was pleasant and room service was extremely fast but again overpriced.
Would recommend it only based on convenience. If you are traveling out of or in from a different terminal, the Hilton may be a better option.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, the service our staff offered and our room service.

In relation to the distance from Terminal 5 it is a seven-minute walk from the arrivals level with trolleys available to ease the journey, we are accessed by a dedicated lift close to Marks & Spencer's. If you are travelling from Terminal 1-3 you can travel on the free Heathrow Express to Terminal 5 in under 25 minutes. Travel from and to Terminal 4 is via a direct service on the Hotel Hoppa Bus which is a cost of £4 one way and takes under 10 minutes. I do hope this information is useful and also highlights that our hotel is not only convenient for travellers using Terminal 5 but for all the Terminals at Heathrow International.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel London Heathrow again very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel
1.2 mi away
Heathrow Hotel Bath Road
Heathrow Hotel Bath Road
#2 of 12 in West Drayton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing