We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Great stay and location”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay here. I am early outbound and late return day flight from T5 so this location made perfect sense. The rooms are great and totally peaceful. I ate in the hotel restaurant one night, and it was fine, but the second night I ate in one of the restaurants in the landside departure hall. It's only a 5 minute walk and a bit cheaper.

The drinks here are amazingly expensive. Just bear that in mind.

But for convenience and service, this place is perfect.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sofitel London Heathrow.

I am pleased to read that you have returned to our hotel for a second stay and that you have left happy with our service, location and accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,134
    2,814
    647
    217
    136
See reviews for
1,706
4,548
1,321
2,664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We usually pick a cheaper hotel for an overnight airport stay but decided to splurge before a long flight. Sadly the champagne bar wasn't open on the w/e nor the nicer restaurant. However, the other bar was quiet and the food in Vivre was reasonable. Service was excellent everywhere we went. Tried out the hydro spa on a day use basis which was just what we needed to fully relax. It's small but we had it to ourselves. The breakfast buffet, which was in the room rate we'd chosen was fabulous. The bed was difficult to leave the next morning it was so comfy. Overall a great stay, just wish the prices were a little lower so we could stay more often!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LilacLady08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am so sorry that the Champagne bar and La Belle Epoque was not open while you were staying with us. They really are wonderful establishments and encourage you to view the opening times on our website prior to your next stay they are well worth the try.

The reason you found it so difficult to leave your bed is because it is the wonderful “MyBed” that the Sofitel brand has implemented into all our hotels.

I wanted to draw your attention to the many offers and reductions on our website that prove very popular, especially when reserved in advance. This might enable you to stay with us more often and the opportunity for us to invite you back very soon!

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent location for overnight stays at Heathrow since connected directly to Terminal 5. All dining options and a great bar made the overnight stay relaxing.

Make sure to allow some extra time if departing from other than Termainal 5, the train only runs about every 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Charlie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased that you found so much to like here including the location and dining options.

At the hotel we are very proud of our wonderful selection of bars and restaurants and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy them.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is conveniently attached to Terminal 5 at Heathrow Airport in London. You can load your baggage on to a cart in the terminal and roll it right up to the hotel reception desk. After a long day of travel we chose it for an overnight stay while waiting for a morning flight to Houston. It is a short walk to free transportation to the other Heathrow terminals. The beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and efficient and the included breakfast was superior. Although there were some slightly cheaper alternatives we were pleased that our decision to spend a few dollars extra was more than justified.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review.

Indeed our location is quite an asset for us, guests are able to walk via a covered walkway from the hotel directly to Terminal 5.

Our aim is to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations and I am pleased to hear that we have achieved our goal.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stay before you fly and it makes for a relaxing a great start to a holiday. Lovely rooms, well appointed and a good restaurant and pleasant bar. Yes it is costly but the convenience and the quality mean that it is not really overpriced. We keep coming back so we must think it is good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you “keep coming back” to our hotel. We work really hard to ensure that our standards never drop and that we offer a comfortable and peaceful stopover for those of our guests travelling and only staying for a short period so I am really pleased to see that you feel we have achieved this.

Always remember to have a look at our many offers and reductions on our website that prove very popular, especially when reserved in advance.

We look forward to inviting you back to the hotel on your next stay.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Although a wheelchair user, I don't need an accessible room, merely enough room to manoeuvre around the bedroom and bathroom. I pointed this out to the check in staff, but we were given an 'accessible' room nevertheless. This would have been fine, but the access was terrible, worst than a standard room; no separate, walk in shower, but a shower over the bath with no shower curtain; a tiny gap around the bed, awful. When I asked for a change of room, the member of staff dealing with me was dismissive and bored, although they did change the room with little hassle, but they patently were uninterested as was the member of staff who checked me out. I won't bother staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ripples1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We always want to offer all our guests a warm, personalised and informative service from our reception staff and indeed throughout the hotel. So I was disappointed to hear that you did not experience this during your stay with us.

Please can you contact our Front of Office Manager (Mark Van Schalkwijk) directly on H6214FO-sofitel.com enabling us to get more details from you so that we could investigate this thoroughly.

It is of outmost importance that our reception staff always listen to the guests and ensure that what we provide is actually what the guest has asked for and taking particular care as they are always the first and last impression that any guest receives of our hotel.

I am happy that you did receive a change of room however apologise that you didn’t feel that this was handled correctly by our staff, I just hope that you will return so that we can restore your faith in the hotel.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We used this hotel before flying off to stay at the Witt Istanbul Suites in, you guessed it...Istanbul.

I was working in London anyway and my wife was flying down from Glasgow. This gave me a chance to check in and have a look around before I went off to terminal 5 to meet her.

It is conveniently attached to T5 by a walkway but it is a bit of a trek to reception. Hotel is very modern and 'fresh'. Reception staff are polite and efficient.

Good communal areas with a deli type coffee shop, champagne bar, two restaurants and a cocktail bar. They also have spa facilities and convention facilities. The hotel is well spatially zoned.

The room was very well appointed and standard size for London. Free wifi, all mod cons, great bathroom. I stayed in a normal Classic room but they offer suites up to three bedrooms in size. I didn't upgrade to 'Club' so did not use their business lounge.

Others have complained it is expensive...be aware that taxis charge a minimum of £10 one way to take you a hotel which might be a mile away...remember to add that onto your hotel price and Sofitel then starts costing around the same. Having stayed in other hotels in the area from budget level (Holiday Inn Express, Park) up to medium level (Radisson, Hyatt et al) then you are paying a mid price range for this hotel.

The lounge bar was staffed by very friendly staff and served excellent cocktails.

I would certainly use it again if flying out of Terminal 5 Heathrow..it is much better than the vast majority of Heathrow hotels with the added bonus of not having to travel to and from a hotel.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josefk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good opportunity to experience all areas of the hotel.

At the Sofitel London Heathrow we always try and exceed our guest’s expectations and I hope that on your next visit we succeed in doing just that again.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.2 mi away
YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing