We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better at weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could be better at weekends”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Due to the convenience of being so close to Terminal 5 where we had an early morning flight we decided to splash out & stay here.

Good points: 5 minutes covered walkway to terminal, underground plentiful car parking, nice spacious rooms with separate bath & shower, one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in, friendly staff, generous with champagne when having an afternoon tea!

Bad points:
Room very hot even with air conditioning on full blast for 5+ hours, atrium room view which some people may find claustrophobic. Also, considering we paid £211 for a park & fly package we would have expected more than just 1 bar & restaurant open! All bar/ restaurants here have very limited opening hours at weekends. I have stayed at many 5 star (as well as Sofitel) establishments over the years & have never seen so many areas closed! We were really looking forward to starting our honeymoon off at the champagne bar & la Belle Epoque restaurant & were annoyed we could only eat at Vivre which had only a limited choice of food. At no point during the booking or check in process were we made aware of this.
The worst aspect was having 2 power cuts in the room rendering our lighting to be non existent. We did manage to get access to the room next door to have a shower quickly before flying but the wiring definitely needs looking at

All in all a good hotel which, with a few tweaks could become a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am please to read that you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of our wonderful beds!

Our staff are trained to go the extra mile and I am happy to hear that they pleased you with their helpfulness.

I am disappointed to hear that we didn’t offer as good a start to your honeymoon as you had anticipated and I apologise for this.

I have investigated the power cut and we had no reports of any major power cuts in the hotel in April however the way in which the hotel is configured two rooms share the same power supply. Therefore if the room next to yours for example plugs in the incorrect adapter and cuts the system that would explain your short lack of lighting. I am happy to understand that you were given access to another room to get ready for your flight but apologise for this inconvenience.

Can I suggest that before your next visit you review our website www.sofitel.com where all opening times for our restaurants and bars are listed. I am just sorry that you were unable to enjoy the wonderful treat that our Perrier-Jouet provides and hope you will return to enjoy the pleasure.

We hope to invite you back to Sofitel London Heathrow soon.

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,995
    2,770
    630
    214
    131
See reviews for
1,656
4,461
1,303
2,627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed just for half day on my way back from Brazil.They asked for my credit card although i had already paid in a travelers office inside the airport.The result is that when i returned home i found out that there were 500 euros missing from the card !!!!!Unacceptable for this hotel,be very carefull with the cards,i will never stay there again not for an hour !!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 306dimitris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am hugely disappointed in reading your review and understanding that there seems to have been a mystery transaction put through on your credit card. We take this very seriously and would welcome the opportunity to investigate further.

We are unable to do this without more information so I would kindly ask you to contact Mark Van Schalkwijk (Front of House Manager) on
H6214-FO@Sofitel.com and he will ensure that all avenues are investigated into whether the money was removed by us and why.

I do hope that you will contact Mark at your earliest convenience and that we can restore your faith in the hotel.

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel after a day at a convention he was attending. We hadn't planned to stay but we decided to treat ourselves. What a wonderful stay. The room was amazing. We dined in the Vivre restaurant - the food was heavenly, the service amazing. Having only been married 7 months it was like our honeymoon all over again. Would definatley stay again and would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel.

What a wonderful review to read. It is great to hear that our hard work is been recognised and enjoyed by our guests.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it felt like a honeymoon all over again.

We hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps for your 1st anniversary?

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A must stay if you have a early morning flight from T5. The rooms are very quiet, even so close to the terminal. The bars and restaurants are fine and well attended. The fitness room and pool areas are clean and adequate. Much better than travelling out to the other airport hotels. The extra cost involved would be better spent at. This location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased that you found so much to like here including the location, fitness room and pool.

Please be aware if you review our website we do offer really good advance purchase special offers therefore allowing you to enjoy our wonderful hotel on the best possible deal.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my Husband due to an early flight next morning.
After flying in from Edinburgh, the hotel was easy to find and a short walk under cover from the terminal.
Upon check in, we found the reception staff quite abrupt and uninterested. We were given vague directions to our room and were left to fend for ourselves!
The room itself was ok, not nearly worth the ridiculous prices they charge. I understand you are paying for convenience and location but it really was nothing special.
Having checked our luggage straight though, we had limited toiletries due to the restrictions and had decided as this was such a high end hotel they would have nice products....how wrong! Poor quality shampoo with no separate conditioner which left my hair feeling unclean. Not what you want before an 11 hour flight.
The other big problem was the hair dryer. Left my hair full of static. Think they might have an issue with the electrics.
Check out was quick and efficient but really wished the receptionist hadn't asked where we were going on holiday as she was very uninterested and clearly only asking out of politeness/company policy.
All in all the convenience has won me over and will probably stay here again although I will not be so unprepared.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Sofitel London Heathrow.

We always try to ensure all our guests get the best treatment and always walk away feeling rested and looked after, therefore I am very disappointed to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

Please be assured that we never rely on the fact of our location alone and the convenience it provides our guests but still want to strive to be a 5 star hotel with excellent service and for our guests to feel leaving looked after and rested.

I am sorry that the welcome and departure service you received from our reception staff was not up to standard and this is unacceptable and I will follow up with the front office manager to ensure some corrective training is undertaken with the whole team to re-iterate the importance of first impressions and delivering proactive hospitality on arrival and departure.

The products we supply in all our rooms are from The White Company London and they are of a very high quality, a separate conditioner should have been left in your room and I am sorry that didn’t happen on this occasion.

I am pleased to read that you are planning to stay with us again and we will endeavor to restore your faith in our hotel on your next stay.

Please feel free to contact us on H6214AM@sofitel.com so that we can prepare in advance to ensure all your expectations are met.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Clean, comfortable and welcoming. reception staff really seemed to care, and were friendly, giving name for contact if needed anything. Ideal for early start the next day in terminal 5, not the cheapest option but definately the best one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the staff friendly and approachable.

I wanted to draw your attention to the various offers and advance purchase rates on our website that prove very popular, especially when reserved in advance.

We look forward to welcoming back to Sofitel London Heathrow very soon.

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Airport hotels can be hit or miss - and with guests being very transient, staff can often appear disinterested and off. But not here.
I had a very early flight out of T5, so stayed here overnight before leaving. The hotel is very easy to find from the London Underground station at T5, linked directly to the terminal by a covered walkway.
From the moment you enter the lobby, staff are attentive, without being overly fussy, and the check in process was seamless, fast and done with a bit of banter and genuine interest in where I was going.
The room was luxurious and perfectly equipped, with a queen size bed guaranteed to provide a good night's sleep before flying.
I didn't eat in the restaurant, but the bar service was friendly and efficient, althogh prices were a bit on the high side.
But if you are flying from T5 and you want an alternative to airport parking...then try to stay here before you go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sofitel London Heathrow.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our rooms, staff and direct access to Terminal 5. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback.

The good night’s rest you described is, I believe because of the Sofitel MyBed which has been introduced to all Sofitel hotels worldwide. It is indeed a fantastic sleep experience.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.


Anna Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.2 mi away
YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing