We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very comfortable and beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with modern, spacious rooms. The room was quiet and very comfortable.

The hotel is adjacent to Terminal 5, but required a relatively long walk and train ride to get to the other Heathrow terminals. Make sure you give yourself lots of time to get to the terminals.

The room rate for the luxury and location was very high, however. I was asked if I wanted the room rate charged as US dollars, which at the time I thought was nice. However, I was not told that there was a substantial service charge tacked onto my bill for this convenience, and I was shocked when I reviewed the bill later.

Room Tip: Review your bill carefully prior to checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,183
    2,493
    576
    191
    116
See reviews for
1,452
3,966
1,172
2,357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This quiet, beautifully zen-like hotel is truly a calm oasis for weary travellers. Accessed directly from the arrivals level Terminal 5 by foot (exit right, after passing through customs.... down to the end exit opposite Marks & Spencer's), to the dedicated lift one floor up, then it's less than a five minute covered walk and you can take your luggage trolley.
A bang on trend minimalistic hotel, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean in every area. Staff (many/most of whom seemed to be French) were extremely proactive - offering immediately to take people's luggage and were really friendly and welcoming.
You will struggle to hear any aircraft noise; it is incredibly quiet. There are discreet water dispensers in the corridors.
My room, although not massively large, was more than adequate in size and again, very well furnished in solid, minimalist style with high quality furnishings. The bathroom had a walk in shower and a bath with separate shower head. A very comfortable recliner seat with footstool was also provided in the bedroom. A cooler type refrigerator was also provided with complimentary sparkling and still water. Lights are on dimmer switches. The bed was firm but comfortable. The standard of cleaning is exceptional not just in the rooms, but the hotel looked immaculate throughout. For wifi, there are several options; there is a free connection available (iBahn) but it is very slow. TV mounted on the wall in exactly the right place for viewing either in bed or on your relaxer chair!
Lively "sports" bar downstairs, with atmosphere (but not rowdy - it's not that sort of hotel!).
For anyone seeking a "classy" high end hotel, I think you will not be disappointed with the Sofitel.

Room Tip: Be aware that, as far as I can see when I've stayed here, room windows do not open. Internal roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed the night before our flight to America the service is second to none we parked in the car park below the hotel for 8 days then get the lift to check in you are greeted by staff to assist you with luggage and show you to a check in desk it's a spectacular hotel 5* luxury the rooms are modern and spacious lovely comfortable bed and no plane noise which is a bonus
Small fridge in the room with complimentary water we ate in the restaurant which was lovely and service and politeness of staff very noticeable there is an open kitchen with very friendly staff at breakfast which was plentiful and a great selection although a bit expensive ( you get what you ave paid for ) its worth every penny for a treat the walk to terminal 5 wasnt too ar and the hotel get you a trolley so no carrying bags

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
231 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here again after meetings in London ended too late to fly home. It really is one of the most comfortable places I have ever stayed in and I would always stay here in preference to any of the other Heathrow hotels, because it links directly to Terminal 5 and you can walk for five minutes to check in, rather than wait for a shuttle bus from any of the outfield hotels.
The bed was really comfortable, there was loads of space for my suitcase, a lovely big bathroom and plenty of tea bags. The air conditioning works well and high speed wifi is free, a big plus these days.
The other marvellous thing about it is that - being right at the airport - it is genuinely a 24 hour hotel, so the chances are, if you arrive a bit early, there will be a room waiting for you as housekeeping seems to work all hours of the day and night. Soundproofing is also fantastic, so you won't be disturbed by other people arriving or leaving at strange times of the day or night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Anticipating snow when I had a long haul flight the next day, I booked the Sofitel at Heathrow T 5 at the last minute through Late Rooms. When I arrived I was upgraded to a superior room complete with waterfall shower and tv in the bathroom! The room was huge and spotlessly clean The bed was very comfy and I think the duvet was feather or down so it was really warm. The room came with the usual assortment of teas and coffees, bathroom accessories and robes/slippers. At £120 a night an absolute bargain! There isn't much in T5 as far as eating goes...only realistically Carluccio's and a pub so eating in the hotel is a viable option for a hot meal but, as you would expect, it is pretty pricy. I got free wifi for my iPad and it was also free to print my boarding pass at the computer in Reception. The staff were, without exception, extremely helpful and courteous.
The walk to the terminal takes about 5 minutes so it's very easy. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB-Moseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here several times now and taken advantage of the parking deals. This trip we arrived late morning with spa treatments pre booked followed by a light lunch in the tea bar. Carluccios also a good option in terminal 5 itself. Most convenient and hassle free way to leave a car at Heathrow we've found, though not of course the cheapest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

For a luxury hotel we did not have bathrobes or slippers. Complimentary tea bags were not replaced after 1 day use. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast average, terrible coffee. Good food and great value for money @ Marks & Spencer Terminal 5.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank codrin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing