We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the Roar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beyond the Roar”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I first booked at the Sofitel Terminal 5 hoping to catch a quick nap and shower after a night flight from Chicago and prior to an appointment in The City. With the thick draperies and soundproof glass, I found it easy to shut out the din of Heathrow's late morning bustle.

I awoke and jumped on the Heathrow Express into Paddington. The entire trip "door-to-door" took about 25 minutes.

With the price about 100 quid less than staying at a comparable "down town" hotel, I began booking at the Sofitel with regularity, and began to experiment with her services. The Health Club is spacious and fully equipped. Breakfast offers a complete spread of Continental and English stand-bys. Room service is prompt with food served steaming hot. I've never gone wrong with the house Shiraz, and as silly as it may sound, my favorite entre are the fish and chips with mushy peas! Their proper restaurant is amazing -- I've had game on every occasion and loved it. And the Tea room is a wonderful place to meet.

The rooms are large by even US standards handsomely appointed in wood and textures. And the shower rages steaming hot water!

Unless you have a dinner or a pub that requires you to be in London-proper into the late evening, stay at Sofitel Heathrow 5!

Room Tip: Junior suite is a worthwhile upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,134
    2,814
    647
    217
    136
See reviews for
1,706
4,548
1,321
2,664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have never transferred at Heathrow's Terminal 5, usually preferring other European hubs for various reasons. But I decided to give BA and Heathrow a chance.

While the flight experience was fine, the lack of good judgment by Sofitel check-in employees may have cost me an hour of sleep for my daytime booking (I had 10 hours between flights). My travel agency had booked a luxury room, of which the hotel seemingly only has a few. When I arrived at check-in, I was told that no rooms were available but it should not take too long. I was escorted to a lounge and enjoyed a coffee. After about an hour, I went back and another check-in clerk repeated his colleague's earlier assurance. But I did not want to go to the lounge again and instead sat at a chair right at check-in. The good thing about this is that this drew the attention of other staff--including a lady at the check-in desk who came over and asked if she could assist me. I told her about the situation and she said she would look into it. Two minutes later she presented a solution: Since there are not too many luxury rooms at the hotel, none had freed up. But if I wanted to downgrade to a superior room, I could have a room right away. She said that the superior room price would also save me GBP 49. Of course, I accepted her offer, got checked-in, and went to bed quickly. A superior room is all you need for a daytime stay, since your main focus is on sleeping. And the room was fine.

Kudos to the judgment and common sense approach of the check-in lady whose name I did not note, unfortunately. But there is a training need for the other two check-in staff that made me wait for my room just because my travel agency had booked me in a room category that the hotel has few rooms of. As a result, I cannot justify a rating better than 3.

PS: The hotel is indeed difficult to find, as noted by others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I am only sorry that such a positive experience was marred by the delay in check-in.

You are correct and we should have been able to get you access to a room earlier or indeed offer you the choice. This has been highlighted to the team and I do hope we can avoid a reoccurrence.

I do hope this does not deter you from using the hotel and ask that on the occasion that you next book that you inform me directly at Vincent.Madden@sofitel.com and I will look after your details personally.


Thank you again and in the meantime I wish you very pleasant travels.

Warm regards

Vincent Madden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Airport hotels are by their very nature characterless places. The Sofitel Heathrow seems to recognize this and does what it can to make an overnight en-route to somewhere else as pleasant as possible. Rooms are large , clean and comfortable. Public areas stylish and relaxing. Front desk as efficient as can be expected in such a transient environment. The best place to stay ( if you have to ) at LHR.

Pros : Large, comfortable rooms. Good showers. Everything spotlessly clean. Easy walk from Terminal 5 arrivals. Close to Paddington Express connector to Central London or T's 1,2,3 and 4.
Downstairs bar well lit and a comfortable place to relax after a long day. Staff efficient.

Cons : Bedrooms look onto each other across lightwells . As a result they don't have much natural daylight. Brasserie restaurant ( there is a better, more upmarket French one ) is lacklustre. I ordered comfort food - steak and chips. Had to send the chips back three times they were so greasy.Sofitel could and should do better.

As good a place as you'll find to stay at Heathrow. The location right next to Terminal 5 is exceptional. $280 a night. Breakfast not included . Pricing not out of line with other, less accesible. Heathrow hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

just spent 3 days on a conference at the sofitel. The room was very clean and confortable. the restaurants were good and the staff well trained and polite.
i could not remember we were at the airport, absolute no noise.
sleeping quality was very good.
one improvement area - internet connection.....very slow.....

Room Tip: in there are any other events - ask for a room closer to the stairs on a lower floor, so you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPatriciaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Close to T5 which is convenient when departing early. Access via covered walkway. Check in was smooth and quick. Rooms comfortable and sound proofed. Belle Époque was good, if pricey, but worth it. Impressed given it's an airport hotel and would consider staying again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetePHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was flying from Terminal 5 to New York with my girlfriend so decided to stay here the night before our flight. Really enjoyed my stay here. I know it's an airport hotel but kind of wished I could have had another night here. Really comfortable. Spotlessly clean. A short walk to Terminal 5. The room was great. Lots of room. Nice bar. We ate in one of the restaurants and the food was great. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay anywhere else now if at Heathrow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leachy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.2 mi away
YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing